We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Thai food in York Region!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Thai

Orchid Thai
15474 Yonge St., Aurora, Ontario L4G 1P2, Canada
905-726-2988
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 123 restaurants in Aurora
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Thai food in York Region!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Always consistently great food. Servers are friendly and the chef is always willing to adjust the food according to your preference of spiciness! Thai food is so much "cleaner" and less greasy than regular Chinese food.
My husband and I recently transitioned to a vegan diet. Orchid Thai chef will adjust many options to be vegetarian or vegan.
Can't wait to return!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    6
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Never tried Thai but will again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Orchid Thai was walking distance from my hotel so I decided to give it a try. I was early for dinner and had the place to myself. The decorations were very interesting and unique to my experience. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I tried the shrimp and mushroom soup in a slightly spicy broth and then the ginger basil scallops. The entree came with a large bowl of rice and a separate platter of what I would call stir-fryed veggies and scallops. I assumed you started with some rice and veggies and kept going with small helpings until you were filled. I ate it all and enjoyed every bite. The menu had items that would have been more spicy and served with things like curry that would not suit my taste. Overall, it was a new dining experience and one that I would try again if I come across a Thai restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We have tried all of the Thai places around and Orchid Thai is still our favourite. Try the fresh spring roles!!!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Food, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

One of the best Thai restaurants in Aurora. Busy especially during lunch hours. I always order either the shrimp with cashew nuts or chicken with cashew. The lunch special comes with either spring rolls or hot and sour soup. The servers are very pleasant. Always a pleasure coming here.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“It can't get any better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012 via mobile

Not much more to say.great food, great people and great value. A touch of Thailand as you enter the restaurant. Enjoy!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orchid Thai also viewed

 

Been to Orchid Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.