We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb - a gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tranquility Base Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ancaster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tranquility Base Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Tranquility Base Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
110 Abbey Close, Ancaster, Hamilton, Ontario L9G 4K7, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Ancaster B&B and Inns
Bracebridge, Canada
1 review
“Superb - a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Only three minutes off Hwy 403 in a lovely neighborhood, we found overnight accommodation with all the amenities of a five star hotel. The room was comfortable and cozy with a pleasant all around atmosphere. A gourmet breakfast was served in the morning accompanied with very interesting conversation of travels abroad. In short, it was a very memorable experience thanks to the personalized touch of the owners, Shirley and Larry. We will definitely go back when in the vicinity, and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for the best value in service and hospitality.
Mary K.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
17
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Don't hesitate to go there! Shirley cooked us a wonderful breakfirst and Larry explained us everything that you should know about Ancaster and around. If ever we'll be around again we will, for sure, come back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Spent 5 nights here and enjoyed every one. Shirley provided a delicious range of breakfasts, each different every day and each tailored to our individual tastes. Larry gave us a great run-through of local attractions and history which definitely helped us plan out our agenda each day. Big plus was that they welcomed our pets. A really pleasant surprise was the selection of treats, toiletries and refreshments. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay in the Ancaster area if for nothing else than the conversation!. A great place, owners and food for a vacation stay and great location for business stay too. Thanks Shirley & Larry!

Room Tip: We arrived on a quite period which meant we got a large room with an ensuite. This was perfect for u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lgwoods6, Owner at Tranquility Base Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
Just a little note to say how much we appreciated your comments which we saw on Tripadvisor yesterday. We enjoyed your visit and hope you will find the opportunit to return again some day..
Shirley and Larry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

As a Ph.D. Candidate at McMaster University who is commuting from London Ontario to Hamilton four times/week, I found I needed a once/week respite from all of the incessant travel. Tranquility Base is aptly named. The home of the Woods family offers me tranquility away from travel ... and from the hustle and bustle of a busy university life. Drop by before dinner and ask Shirley for a signed business card and receive 10% discounts at some specific restaurants in beautiful downtown Ancaster. Or sometimes take catch as catch can and accept the invitation to dine with this charming couple. You will love the food (in six nights I have never had the same breakfast) and you will relish the company. Bring some stories or just listen in at a dinner repast and I am convinced that you will return to Tranquility Base the next time you are in the region.

The facilities glisten, the room is quiet (I know I study and prep classes there) and you have quick and easy access to nearby trails, the village of Ancaster or downtown Hamilton. I was a rookie B&Ber and Shirley and Larry have convinced me that should I have need of a stay-over in another locale that I will first look into B&Bs in the area.

Delightful.

Owen Thornton

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lgwoods6, Owner at Tranquility Base Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
We were delighted to see your comments on Trip Advisor. We enjoy your visits and hope we can live up to your high praise in the weeks to follow. Thanks Shirley and Larry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiarton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of spending some time at Tranquility Base BNB. It was a memorable experience. Shirley is an excellent cook and we thoroughly enjoyed the meals and the very interesting conversations.
We would highly recommend you put Tranquility Base on your "must stay list"

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisville Ont, canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

what an unbelievable pleasant experience. great food, great host and hostess.We enjoyed every minute of our time here. D&D, New Jersey USA

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tranquility39, Owner at Tranquility Base Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Thank you for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

We spend two nights at the Trnaquility Base Bed and Breakfast. The home was very clean and comfortable. Shirley is an amazing cook. Our breakfasts were tasty and the presentation was lovely. They gave us great tips on where to eat and places of interest. We would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast and will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tranquility Base Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Base Bed and Breakfast

Address: 110 Abbey Close, Ancaster, Hamilton, Ontario L9G 4K7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton > Ancaster
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Tranquility Base Bed And Breakfast Ancaster, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tranquility Base Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.