We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cavallo Nero

Cavallo Nero
370 Wilson Street East, Ancaster, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
9056488888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 54 Restaurants in Ancaster
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Stoney Creek, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The wine selecton was quite large, and the delicious food portions weren't oversized like they are in most places. The restaurant was clean, the service professional and friendly and the atmosphere was great! Not overpriced either... we would definitely go again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    16
    13
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ancaster, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Great Italian Eatery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Cavallo Nero is a superb Itilian Eatery. The food is very good as is the service and the price is reasonable. The have a room for groups of 12 or more.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, New Jersey
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“so so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Food is ok . Nothing out of this world . Locale is nice and clean . Service is good . But typical regular fare, nothing that special . It is average . Lunch menu has lots to choose from . If you are in Ancaster it is a convenient place to eat . Right on the main road in town with plenty of parking .

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canning, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Italian flavour with Canadian heritage and American Jazz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I visited for supper during the first week of June 2012. Everything was superb. I am vegetarian, so can be an awkward customer, but everything was just as I could have wished. It is obviously a very popular restaurant and I was lucky to get a seat. Be sure to reserve.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Just an honest delivery of great fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I may have seen some mixed reviews of this restaurant, so we approached cautiously. The menu was interesting and enthusiastic - and we were not disappointed. Pork medallions stuffed with pears and pecans, a veal piccata, great veggies, and the service was tops. We hope the economy improves so that these fine people can find relevant career paths - today's service industry is so fortunate.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cavallo Nero also viewed

 

Been to Cavallo Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavallo Nero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.