We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canned lobster” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Train Station Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Train Station Inn to your Saves list
Train Station Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   21 Station Road, Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia B0K 1V0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Tatamagouche B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dartmouth, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Canned lobster”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I can't begin to say how disappointed the 3 in my party were after having the lobster sandwiches recently. We travelled down last year from Dartmouth in the late summer and had such a delicious Lobster treat we could not wait to go back this year. Sadly we found that the lobster sandwiches we had been dreaming of for almost 9 months and had been willing to pay $60 in gas to get to, had been replaced by mushed and wet canned lobster meat. The strongest flavor in the sandwich was the lettuce. Very disappointed. Will stick to the McLobster in future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    34
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
33
69
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed in boxcar Jimmie for one night. The room had enough room for the two of us. It even had a small bed in a loft-like space. The boxcar was closest to the cafe's wifi spot, so we didn't have to sit outside at night to get a good connection. Didn't get a chance to have dinner there because we were full from the snacks and wine at Jost winery. The winery is a short drive from the inn, so definitely check it out!
It was great to hear a bit about the history of the place from Stationmaster James, and exploring the different rail cars. Fun and unique experience. Would definitely go back, and hopefully take some of our younger cousins too.
It was a tad odd when people came to the inn for lunch and dinner time and would peer in to the occupied rail cars. A couple of times we walked back in to our room to see a few people trying to check out our boxcar. They apologized saying they didn't realize it was a room with occupants. Maybe they could have clear signs on which are rooms where people are staying, and which are empty for visitors to explore?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Caboose and Boxcars are all well equipped with every comfort. They are air-conditioned and include private baths, sitting areas and bedrooms. There is a walking trail right behind, with a very short walk to some craft shops. There is a wonderful gift shop on site, as well as a cafe and a dining car. The stationmaster, Jimmie, does everything he can to ensure each of his guests are taken care of! His creative vision to salvage this station and these train cars is unbelievable. What he has done is truly unique, and staying here is one of the neatest hotel experiences of my travels! Try to meet him and ask him about the place...he is passionate about what he does, and you will enjoy his tales! One warning: mosquitoes! If you are outdoors at night, be sure to have repellent. I would love to go back and take my kids...they would love it!!

Room Tip: Each "room" is different...be sure to check specifics on their website to see what each o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a couple nights in one of the cabooses. You have the whole car so there is plenty of space, in our case that included a cupola, kitchenette/reading room, bath in addition to the bedroom. You stay here for the unique experience, not for 5 star hotel amenities but it had all we needed. The room was clean, the people were all very nice and it the memory will last far longer than of the garden variety B&B. My only ding is that the breakfast was pretty minimal (unless you pay extra) but the coffee is great.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Despite living within easy reach we had never stayed at this iconic, unique Inn, so we made reservations on the spur of the moment, and headed to catch a train. Unfortunately all the cabooses were booked, so we nestled into "Boxcar Jane", which was well appointed and comfortable, but is less "sexy" than one of the cabooses.

There are many reviews of the Inn, so I will be brief. The rooms are pricey, but understandably so given the historic and tricky nature of the room conversions. The facility is professionally run, and the staff are uniformly friendly and knowledgeable.

The Northumberland Shore is the least visually compelling of Nova Scotia's three coastlines (the others being the Bay of Fundy, and the Atlantic), yet there are many nearby attractions: the Tatamagouche Rail-Trail, Lismore Sheep farm, Sutherland Steam Mill, many trails and waterfalls in the Cobequid Hills, the Wallace Bay Wildlife Sanctuary, the Jost Winery, etc.

In other words, the area is worth a visit, and the Train Staion Inn is worth a stay. Recommended.

Room Tip: Cabooses have the nod over boxcars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Wow, greeted by the conductor and owner Jimmie, making us feel right at home. We stayed in Caboose 6, which was lovely, large and cosy all at the same time. We sat in the conductor seat which is in the middle of our caboose, felt just like kids again and by the way we are seniors Ha! We started our day down the road at the Creamery Farmers Market, full of interesting things, a museum, wonderful lunch, and lots to buy all local. Beautiful little town!
Took a drive to the beautiful beaches close by and also the Jost Winery.
Now back to the Train Station Inn to have a glass of Wine and excellent delicious dinner. It was very quiet at night to sleep, we loved it! Only thing we could have used was a room fan, air conditioning is only in our bedroom, but a fan would have been nice in the other side. We would go back in a heart beat. Tatamagouche is a very friendly, progressive, green, little town full of friendly folks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Looking for accomodation for the night upon entering Nova Scotia, were pleasantly surprised to find the Train Station Inn which has 7 railroad cabooses that are rented out. We ended up in unit 6, a modern 1970 steel caboose which had the original shower, toilet and sink. Well insulated and with double glazing, it was very comfortable without using the air conditioning or heating.
The complementary breakfast of one bun with cofffee was a bit skimpy, but the decor made up for that.

Room Tip: The newer steel cabooses are more authentic than an older wooden one where the added bathtub clearly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Train Station Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Train Station Inn

Address: 21 Station Road, Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia B0K 1V0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Tatamagouche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tatamagouche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Train Station Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time and experience Nova Scotia’s Railway heritage, brought to life in this award winning country inn. Accommodations are located in private railway cars which have been developed into deluxe suites with all the modern amenities from fireplaces, king beds and air conditioning. We also have rooms in the former Stationmaster's residence on the second floor of the Train Station. You can dine in our Railway Dining Car, enjoy your favourite drink in the observation lounge of the Vice Royal Railway Car "Alexandra" or relax in the railway museum café in the train station. Don't forget to explore our "funky" gift shop and take a stroll on the old rail bed now the Trans Canada Trail that follows along the Tatamagouche Bay passing the Creamery Square and Tatamagouche Grain Elevator Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Train Station Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Train Station Inn Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Train Station Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.