We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise! You don't know what to expect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chowder House Cafe

Chowder House Cafe
Highway 6, Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia B0K 1V0, Canada
(902) 657-2223
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Tatamagouche
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Surprise! You don't know what to expect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

As a group we collectively expected a "woody, pub atmosphere" and walked in thinking we were in a quaint diner. You are not. You are dining in an exceptionally clean and very well run seafood restaurant. With a completely bar list. You do not have a bar to sit at, so it throws off the initial thought. The seafood is cooked to perfection, the prices are reasonable and the service very good. Chowder House cafe is quaint and quiet. A real delight!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shediac
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stopped for a late lunch, looked at the menu, I asked the girl behind the counter if they had seafood casserole, she said yes, it's just called something else "seafood bake", so we thought, why not. We went and sat outside, she saw us go out with the menu, she didn't bother coming out, after 10 minutes or more my husband had to go get her, she was on the phone. We both ordered the seafood bake, she said it came with rice and described it as really good with lots of spices such, ya, right. What it was was there seafood chowder in a shallow dish with some cheese tossed on top and backed, it was watery, not creamy, and the rice was horrible, dry, and clumped, we pointed it out, all she said was sorry, and left. When I went in to pay the bill, she didn't ask if everything else was ok, didn't offer to take a small amount off the bill (my plate was still full of the rice and mushy veggies), she just said thanks, so I asked, did you mention the rice problem to the chef at least, she said, oh yes, they're going to change it, I have no idea what that means. I paid the bill, and tipped, and left, never going back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe, Canada
2 reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“They gave us good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

After the disappointing visit at Big Al's family restaurant came to this place. The atmosphere was nice. The food selection was plentiful and the waitresses were great. In fact even under staffed, the cook came out to help and chat with us. Very value for our money.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“A fine lunch stop in Tatamagouche”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We recently stayed at the Train Station Inn, but wished to vary our culinary experiences, so we opted for lunch at the Chowder House Cafe. The decor was ordinary, but the service was swift and friendly, and the unpretentious menu was varied, featuring local produce where and when available. Between us we had the daily soup, garden salad, cheeseburger and fries, and all were well prepared and flavourful. And we shared a carrot cake for dessert, a delicious choice. The prices were quite reasonable.

The cafe is obviously popular with locals and we, as visitors, recommend it as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Daily special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Salad, main course of a very good meat loaf with "Hawaiian" sauce, desert and coffee for about $16. Very good, and very good value. The service was also delightful, friendly and pleasant. Street parking is also easy, or there is more space behind the restaurant. Owner is a charming lady.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chowder House Cafe also viewed

 
Wallace, Nova Scotia
Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Chowder House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chowder House Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.