We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely country inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillcrest Hall Country Inn

Save Saved
You added Hillcrest Hall Country Inn to your Saves list
Hillcrest Hall Country Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillcrest Hall Country Inn
24 Main Street | P.O. Box 149, Port Hood, Nova Scotia B0E 2W0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Port Hood B&B and Inns
White Lake, Canada
1 review
“Lovely country inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Hillcrest Hall has all the charm of a 100 year old building complete with rustic furniture and a bit of creek in the stairs,blended with important modernizations (ie. the bathroom) The view over the Northumberland Strait is a nice touch (not all rooms). We found the staff to be very courteous and friendly. The dining room has nice ambiance while enjoying the more than adequate continental breakfast. We felt that the price was very reasonable. While our room was a queen, we did poke our heads into one of the suites which seemed very comfortable, with a large main room and a great view. If you like old style accommodations and don't mind walking a few stairs (our room was on the third (top) floor), I'm sure you'll fully enjoy this place.

Room Tip: Best to plan ahead so you get a room with a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Instead of coming off the Cabot Trail and heading to Baddeck my friend and I decided to continue down the scenic trail on to the part called Ceilidh Trail. A little less maintained...the views are still beautiful.

Port Hood - a small town, very small town. But it has some nice restaurants, a beautiful view. It is also a nice way to either start your trip on the Cabot Trail if you are going Clock Wise or End your trip if you are going Counter Clockwise.

The Inn - I found it easy to locate just off the highway. Situated on a small hill with a view of the water. Nothing to obstruct that view. There is a large verandah at the front and side of the Inn so you can sit outside and enjoy the view.

I was traveling with a friend and was looking for a room with two beds, or a king bed...but there was only a suite available with two beds. The person on the phone was kind enough to give us a deal on the suite.

When we arrived, Joanna was very friendly and helpful in her recommendations. We had been traveling for most of the day and we were quite tired. She offered us some tea or coffee. And

The Wifi is limited - and unless you are a Bell Aliant customer you won't have Cell Service. But that is pretty much true of the whole Cabot Trail journey. In the house, I had a hard time getting on line from my room...and even in the Dining area, but the hostess was kind enough to let me sit in the kitchen so I could check my emails. Having worked in an Inn I was surprised - there is so little privacy for a person who runs an Inn - to invite someone into her private space was more than generous.

The Room - was large and spacious. Beautiful Antique furniture, and a stunning view from the windows. It was clean. It had a small TV. It was a one bedroom suite with a queen bed in the bedroom and a H-A-B in the livingroom. It was on the third floor. The stairs up are a bit narrow, but we were still able to get our bags - and a cooler up no problem. As mentioned, Wifi in the room was difficult to get on to...but hey, I was on Vacation, not being able to check my email - oh well... :)

The Breakfast - This is a continental breakfast. Some scones, toast, muffins, Teas and Coffee, some cereal, yogurt, fruit juices and fresh fruit.

This is a beautiful historic home that has maintained its charm and warmth.

I would definitely recommend this place, and return next time I drive the trail.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here on our first trip to Cape Breton to meet family we had never met. They had already inquired about a room for us before we arrived. Their description of this inn was very interesting, It had been a sea captains house a long time ago. The rooms are huge with great views. The innkeepers were very nice and very helpful, with suggestions of where to go for dinner and what to go see,

A wonderful breakfast in the morning capped off a very nice stay. We will be back

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledyard, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

This is a great old historic building and has a lot of great history but is a little creepy at night. The sparse decor also makes it seem rather cold. Breakfast the next morning was great and the hostess was terse but attentive. The inn has a great view but there's not much to do in the local area. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Although this B&B is located within a reasonable distance of Cape Breton Nat'l Park and isn't far from some great places to listen to ceilidh music, it isn't a terribly well-maintained property. The bathroom was a little dingy, and bedroom area was decorated like your grandmother's guest room. The beds and pillows seemed old and lumpy, and didn't provide the best night's rest. The breakfast in the morning was perfunctory, but not nearly as good as in other B&Bs in Nova Scotia. With that said, it is located across from the water and the walk along the beach is lovely. Stay here for the location, not for the quality of the Inn itself.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed for a night with Lucy at this bed and breakfast and had an amazing experience. Lucy made us feel so at home and openly shared all that this great place had to offer - including the use of the laundry facilities. Our rooms were wonderfully clean and comfortable. We happened to arrive during Port Hood's Chestico Days celebrations so were able to enjoy those as well. I would highly recommend this as a stay if you are touring through the Maritimes and looking for a friendly face to meet you at the end of your day. Thanks Lucy for the great hospitality!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

Don't let the fact that the house could use a paint job fool you. It is lovely inside. There were 6 of us. We were given rooms 1,2 & 6. We were in town to see family from Port Hood and Judique. This had a great location, right across from the water. Beautiful sunset the first night we were there. Nice porch to sit on and enjoy the sunshine. Could use a few more chairs. There were only four. We were asked if we wanted breakfast at 8 or 9. We requested earlier, so we compromised on 7:30. We have 3 in our group that need coffee early, we just asked where the stuff was and we'd make our own, while waiting for breakfast. Breakfast was simple, but good. Included cereal, toast, fresh muffins & bisquits, yogurt and fruit. My mom said her bed (room 1) was one of the most comfortable beds she ever slept on. When we come back to Cape Breton, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hillcrest Hall Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Hall Country Inn

Address: 24 Main Street | P.O. Box 149, Port Hood, Nova Scotia B0E 2W0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Port Hood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Port Hood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hillcrest Hall Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Port Hood
Port Hood Country Inn
Hillcrest Hall Country Inn Port Hood, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillcrest Hall Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.