We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BlackRock Bistro

BlackRock Bistro
151 Main Street, Parrsboro, Nova Scotia B0M 1S0, Canada
+1 902-728-3006
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Parrsboro
Price range: $16 - $29
Cuisines: Organic, Seafood, Canadian, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: BlackRock Bistro offers casual dining experience featuring fresh local produce, seafood, meets and a fine selection of Nova Scotia wines and craft beers
Parrsboro, Canada
1 review
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

BlackRock Bistro is very modern, trendy restaurant, with great food and excellent service. We enjoyed our visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Owner at BlackRock Bistro, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Hello Mirka,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal experience at BlackRock Bistro. Thank you for sharing your experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Raamsdonksveer
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent use of fresh herbs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We had already read the good reviews of this restaurant on Tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed.
For mains I had the special of the day, which were lamb chops and the herbs on that were really making the difference.
Staff was very friendly and helpfull.
We would certainly recommend this place!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Owner at BlackRock Bistro, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at our Bistro. Our chef has trained at the Canadian Culinary Institute where he learned to work with a wide variety of herbs and spices. The fresh herbs came from local gardeners.

Thanks, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“probably best in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Amazing scallops from nearby scallop capital of the world, done just right, and a great chowder. Might want to avoid the blackened fish though. They use a paste rather than a rub for this, and it was actually thicker than the fish itself, and it was truly BLACK. As in burnt. Not how it's supposed to be, trust me...

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Owner at BlackRock Bistro, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Hello Travellingguy,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our Bistro. I note that you enjoyed most of the meal but there was a problem with your blackend fish. While I can't speak to the "burnt" condition of your meal, I can assure you that our fish is blackend using a house made blackening powder and not a past (not sure where you got that idea from). Hopefully you noted this to your waiter so we could redo your meal.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food, spotty service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We dined here as a party of 4. The food was excellent (great salad and seafood chowder), but the service was just odd. It took over 40 min to get water brought to our table. After multiple requests, we finally went to the bar and requested a glass with water (eventually they finally brought us a pitcher and glasses all around). However, they were very accommodating of food allergies of one member of our group, and were gracious in communicating with the chef.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Owner at BlackRock Bistro, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Stephanie,

Obviously we had some service issues when you were here, for that I apologize. I only wish you had brought this to my attention while you were here so that we could have corrected the situation. Our goal is to provide prompt polite service to all customers, seems we missed the mark that night. I am glad you did find the meal to your liking, even if the service was unacceptably slow.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Let down most by service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We were excited to try this place given the food options are limited in town, and we'd read good reviews. It was unfortunately a big disappointment, most upsetting by the service. Our waitress was extremely rushed, impatient and rude. She didn't explain the specials, although we heard her tell the next table that she seated. She didn't communicate with the other waitress working, who was very friendly and warm, and they both came and went from out table and mixed up details. We are vegetarians and when we asked she gave us some options, but the other waitress told us different items. They were also out of two of the suggested menu choices. We ended up with a very underwhelming dish of polenta with tomato sauce that tasted like it was out of a can. The kale salad was pretty good overall however. I had high hopes, but sadly have to say greatly disappointing.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Owner at BlackRock Bistro, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Sue B.

We are very disappointed that you did not have a good experience at our Bistro. I can assure you that all of our sauces are made on site and are not pre-prepared, but obviously we can't please everyone's tastes. I would have appreciated hearing from you while you were hear as neither myself or either of our waiters were aware of your dissatisfaction. In the interests of improving our services I would be pleased to receive more details from you at bistro@blackrockbistro.ca.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BlackRock Bistro also viewed

 
Advocate Harbour, Nova Scotia
 

Been to BlackRock Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BlackRock Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.