We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maple Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Maple Inn to your Saves list
The Maple Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   2358 Western Ave, Parrsboro, Nova Scotia B0M 1S0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Parrsboro B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“A step back in Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had been interested in a different B&B when we started calling but they were still closed for the season and recommended the Maple Inn. Some of the descriptions in Trip Advisor made me not sure that we would enjoy our stay here. However, it was delightful. Ulrike and Johannes have restored this beautiful old home back to original (but better I am sure) condition. The loving care they have devoted to the smallest details.... pictures, placement of furniture, colors used...makes for a wonderful experience with a surprise at every turn. The furnishings are beautiful - and Ulrike told me she is always on the look out for additions at auctions etc. like the Organ they got by accident. Coffee and Tea are always available as are afternoon treats. Daily Newspapers are provided in the dining room and available in the common area all day. The entire house appears ready for a tour. Both Ulrike and Johannes are happy to suggest thing to do, and places to dine. We stayed in the Free Mason room which was quite large and comfortable with an excellent bed. It was also good for us, since I have some problems climbing stairways and this was one step up from the parking area. We can highly recommend The Maple Inn for a stop along the Glooscap Trail. We truly enjoyed our two night stay there.

Room Tip: Free Mason room good for those who have problems climbing stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
47
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We happened upon the Maple Inn by chance. We were very warmly greeted and quickly settled into our room. The home is meticulously clean, impressingly clean ! We had lovely conversations with our host upon arriving and again after returning from dinner which she helped guide us too. The breakfast was outstanding with a made-to-order section to choose from. We started our 10 day trip at the Maple Inn and were very pleased with the warmth, hospitality and inviting feeling we had here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bc canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I'm not sure if Ulrike is Swiss, German or Austrian, but she and husband run this establishment just outside of Parrsboro with the precision of a Swiss watch.

Everything is spotless. The breakfast flawlessly presented. There is a sitting area with the requisite books and board games and travel guides/brochures carefully laid out. There are eight rooms, so this is a sizable B&B.

It is hard to fault, but I did find two shortcomings. I did not find the hosts to be charming, or even warm- they simply did their work (which they did very well). Second, we did not like the room decor. Perhaps it was the overly pink Pink Rose room, but the alternative was the Black Velvet room. This is a matter of taste, but I tend to like more neutral backdrops.

The house itself is incredibly well maintained, and retains its Victorian origins (I have no complaint with that).

As well, Parrsboro has some great attractions, not the least being just to look at the harbour at low tide, then rapidly filling. Also, the Fundy Ocean Research Centre (Force) a few kms down the road, and Prime minister Tupper's summer house (Ottawa House by the Sea Museum) was more than excellent. Just sitting on the verandah, looking out a Blomidon, was a treat, and the displays were extremely good, despite their being a volunteer group and badly underfunded.

So- do stay at the Maple Inn. Maybe Ulrike will warm to you, and you like raspberry, pink, or black velvet....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Maple Inn is a lovely place to stay and our hostess Ulrike was most welcoming and helpful. She provided us with a wonderful full breakfast each morning with plenty of choices. The Inn is very beautiful, well maintained with very comfortable accomodations. We would highly recommend a stay here and hope to return some day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed in the Empire Suite for two nights in September 2012. This was our first stay in a B&B and we had a wonderful experience. The suite was beautiful with so many extra little touches from the matching tissue holder to the dolphin faucet sets to the adorable bear on the bed. I love baths and the corner tub with the air jets, heated backrest, and chromatherapy was a such fun. The breakfast each morning was a treat and the afternoon sweets with tea were delicious. The more we looked the more we noticed all of the attention to detail that could be found in each room. Our lovely hostess made us feel special and she was so helpful. I don't think we will ever stay in another B&B because the bar has been set so high by the Maple Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bheide
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is the best Bed & Breakfast I've ever seen! An elegent and charming B&B with an absolute friendly and complete service. We were coming from a geological field trip with our dirty shoes, and we were freindly guided to our rooms without any compains. (but bf course - we recognized pretty quickly and dropped our shoes off!) The breakfast is exceptional, and all the rooms are so lovely - really a great place and great people! Thanks to you!

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent, in particular the Black Velvet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at the Maple Inn, the Black Velvet Room, for 2 nights in August 2012.

What a wonderful place!

I understand each room is individually decorated. We stayed at the Black Velvet room in the new part of the house. Room was spacious and clean. A really homey touch was the night light - beside the bedroom and a nother in the bathroom. Reminded me of home as you don't want to turn on the light if you need to use the bathroom in the middle of the night.

Breakfast was amazing. There was ceral and yogurt available on the side table.
But there was a breakfast menu of hot breakfast foods to choose from.....perfect way to start the morning!

Overall a wonderful stay. Parrsboro was in the middle of our road trip and our stay here was perfect to relax.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Maple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maple Inn

Address: 2358 Western Ave, Parrsboro, Nova Scotia B0M 1S0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Parrsboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Parrsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maple Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Maple Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maple Inn Parrsboro, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maple Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.