We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms all renovated & Staff is AMAZING” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn - New Glasgow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn - New Glasgow to your Saves list
Comfort Inn - New Glasgow
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   740 Westville Road, New Glasgow, Nova Scotia B2H 2J8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Twice = Gift Card
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Rooms all renovated & Staff is AMAZING”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed here for one night with the family on our East Coast trip.

The outside of the Comfort Inn is a bit dated (older looking). But - the hotel rooms have been completely redone. You could tell our bathroom had been all replaced (including a brand new one piece surround bath tub/shower, sink/vanity/toilet/etc). There was a microwave & fridge in the room.

The rooms were not as "sound proof" as other "newer" hotels. This wasn't a huge problem, but the newer hotels we have stayed at on this trip (Hampton Inns were definately quieter). You could hear people clearly in the halls as they walk by.

The breakfast area has also been redone - in fact, one of the employees serves you the hot breakfast (bacon/eggs) which is a nice touch. The breakfast area is a bit small/crowded, but clean and tidy. The standard cook yourself waffles, toast, english muffins, etc are also available.

Internet speed was very fast - best out of all the hotels we have stayed at on this trip.

There is no pool at this hotel (keep that in mind if you are travelling with kids).

The best part of this hotel is by far the Staff.

I can't recall the ladies names - but when we checked in, I asked about the pool (I didn't realize it didn't have one) - the lady was very apologetic about not having a pool, but let me know there is a beautiful beach very close by. She gave me excellent directions to the beach (Melmerby), and we spent a couple of hours there in the afternoon. We quickly forgot about the lack of pool - excellent suggestion.

The other staff member I need to mention is the lady who has the 2 year old son - not sure on her name either, but she went over and above drawing a map of where to find 2 different parks to take the kids to. Very helpful, and definately customer driven.

All cleaning staff spoke to us as we walked through the hallway (many hotels they do not do this) and it was appreciated!

I would recommend this hotel for sure, and next time we are in the area, I would stay at this hotel simply due to the amazing Staff onsite!

Keep up the good work

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Cdn_Traveller_300,

Let me say a big “Thank you” from our entire team for your kind words!

It is very much appreciated that you took the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor so that others can be assured of the level of service they will receive when they visit our hotel.

So glad that you got to spend an afternoon at “The Merb” while you were here. Nothing feels more like summer, right?!

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Diane Mahar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    30
    20
    8
    2
See reviews for
23
20
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plaster Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Typical Comfort Inn from the outside, but with the added bonus of being totally renovated inside, clean, quiet, comfortable. Front desk clerk gave us the name of a great family restaurant for home style fish and chips. One of the best and most reasonably priced meals that we have had on this trip. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Carol J,

It was a pleasure to read your review of our newly renovated Comfort Inn New Glasgow, and we are happy to learn that you had an enjoyable stay and found a great meal!

I hope we can be of service to you again!

Kind Regards,
Diane Mahar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
304 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed here one night on trip back to USA from Cape Breton. Easy off Interstate. Sits next to Travelodge. Next to hotel is Tim Hortons/Wendys. Across the street is Burger King. One block north is Swiss Chalet (chicken oriented meals). Across the street and up the hill is a Walmart. All these are walking distance. A few blocks down (north) is a Super Store Gas station. Hotel described itself as newly renovated. It does look like rooms (carpet, furniture and halls have been renovated. Very clean room. Lobby is small as is breakfast area. No pool. No fitness center. No carts to help you move luggage to rooms. Two floors. We had a two queen bed room and it was small but equiped with the normal things for a Comfort Inn (large work desk and chair, mini-fridge, microwave sitting on top of mini-fridge, side chair, small dresser with flat screen TV. Bathrooms were modern but vanity was very small. Tub/shower. I gave it a very good rating based on remodel, location, comfortable beds.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Don49680,

Thank you for choosing to stop in and stay with us at Comfort Inn on your return drive from Cape Breton. We are happy to learn that you were satisfied with your stay and we are appreciative of the recommendation you have given us. Thanks for letting future travelers know about our great location! Hope to see you on your next visit to Canada!

Kind Regards,
Diane Mahar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Wonderful hotel! Friendly staff, epic breakfast, newly renovated. Quiet, big, clean rooms. Definitely am going to stay hear again when in the area. Perfect location: right off highway beside a Tim Hortons and restaurant and shopping mall.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear justin_laing,

Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay with us here at the Comfort Inn New Glasgow. We were happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate hearing all of your wonderful comments about our product, staff, and location!

Many thanks and we hope that we will see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Diane Mahar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel sits very close to highway, stores and the town. It is right beside a Wendy's /Tim Hortons combo. While the setting is not pretty by all means, this is a great example of what a well managed hotel should be like. The secret lies in the details, and there are many signs that someone is putting a lot of thought into running this hotel. Spotless clean too, from the flower beds over the room to the breakfast area. Staff is very pleasant and everyone greets you with a smile. Julie the front desk manager is a role model for her profession : she made me very much appreciated and welcome, and checked me in in a very friendly way. Very courteous!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back, should be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Halifaxnixe,

We were delighted to read your review and very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your kind comments and praise of the team here at the Comfort Inn New Glasgow and for Julie in particular. (We think she is fantastic too!)

Your compliments are indeed a great motivation to continue to strive to offer exceptional service and quality.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Diane Mahar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stay at this Comfort Inn on a regular basis for the past two years. The inn has been recently renovated and is exceptionally clean and new. Wonderful staff!!! The best! Friendly and accommodating.
There is a coffee shop next door and other restaurants as well as a mall across the road.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear cbgirlns,

Many thanks for your kind review and for being a regular guest of Comfort Inn. We truly appreciate your loyalty and the time taken to share your experience.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to New Glasgow!

Kind Regards,
Diane Mahar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed there a couple of time for business. The hotel was entirely renovated (hallways, rooms, common areas) and is a big notch above competition (Holiday Inn Express) in regards to the finishes, cleanliness and comfort. The breakfast area is nice and the food quality is also above the competition. You always have eggs and meat (saussage or bacon) and you have a selfserve waffle station. Coffee was excellent.

There are still improvements to do such as:

- Wi-fi capacity is not sufficient. At night wi-fi is unavailable because too many users are trying to connect and those who connect have no bandwith. This is 2013, everybody have devices using wi-fi, hotels should update their connection to meet the demand.

- There are no sheer drapes on the 2nd floor windows. This is strange as most rooms face a parking lot and if you want day light, you have to open night curtains and then everyone see directly in the room. It lacks privacy.

- The room is heated/cooled using an in-wall unit that has no shut-off thermostat. This means the unit runs constantly. It's noisy and I had a difficult time to sleep because of this. There should be a wall thermostat installed to turn the unit off once the set temperature is reached.

- Microwave: Not all rooms have micro-wave and those who have one, it's pretty old and doesn't work well. A decent quality microwave cost 86$ at Walmart. It's worth the investment to put a good one in all rooms that have a fridge.


So bottom line, everything is brand new in this hotel, why skimp on drapes and micro-waves that cost nothing ? Fix that and the wi-fi and thermostat issues and you will be #1 for business travellers in the region by far.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the ground floor as parking is next to each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear IceMtl,

Thank you very much for being our guest and for taking the time to review the Comfort Inn New Glasgow. We truly appreciate hearing your comments and suggestions as it is through such feedback that we are able to work towards providing every guest with a great experience. We will continue to work on the items you mentioned and thank you again for the wonderful compliments.

Kind Regards,
Diane Mahar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Glasgow
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Suites New Glasgow
Travelodge Suites New Glasgow
#3 of 3 in New Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tara Inn
Tara Inn
#1 of 3 in New Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
7.6 mi away
The Lionstone Inn
The Lionstone Inn
#2 of 3 in Pictou
4.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
7.4 mi away
Evening Sail B&B
Evening Sail B&B
#1 of 12 in Pictou
5.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn - New Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn - New Glasgow

Address: 740 Westville Road, New Glasgow, Nova Scotia B2H 2J8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > New Glasgow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn - New Glasgow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn New Glasgow is now All New Just for You. Newly-Renovated Guest Rooms and Lobby, Free Hot Breakfast, and now 100% Non-Smoking-all with the same great award-winning hospitality. Comfort Inn New Glasgow is a recipient of Choice Hotel's 2014 Gold Award. Centrally located within Pictou County, it is an ideal location for both business and leisure travellers visiting New Glasgow, Stellarton, Westville, Trenton or Pictou. The Northumberland Ferry to P.E.I. Is just a short drive away. Newly renovated rooms feature flat screen TVs and mini-fridges. Hotel features include free hot breakfast, morning newspaper and free high speed wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn - New Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - New Glasgow Hotel New Glasgow
New Glasgow Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn - New Glasgow Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.