We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good night's stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn - New Glasgow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn - New Glasgow to your Saves list
Comfort Inn - New Glasgow
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   740 Westville Road, New Glasgow, Nova Scotia B2H 2J8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 Trips, 1 Night Free*
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Glasgow
Plaster Rock, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good night's stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Typical Comfort Inn from the outside, but with the added bonus of being totally renovated inside, clean, quiet, comfortable. Front desk clerk gave us the name of a great family restaurant for home style fish and chips. One of the best and most reasonably priced meals that we have had on this trip. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Carol J,

It was a pleasure to read your review of our newly renovated Comfort Inn New Glasgow, and we are happy to learn that you had an enjoyable stay and found a great meal!

I hope we can be of service to you again!

Kind Regards,
Diane Mahar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    22
    13
    8
    1
See reviews for
18
12
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed here one night on trip back to USA from Cape Breton. Easy off Interstate. Sits next to Travelodge. Next to hotel is Tim Hortons/Wendys. Across the street is Burger King. One block north is Swiss Chalet (chicken oriented meals). Across the street and up the hill is a Walmart. All these are walking distance. A few blocks down (north) is a Super Store Gas station. Hotel described itself as newly renovated. It does look like rooms (carpet, furniture and halls have been renovated. Very clean room. Lobby is small as is breakfast area. No pool. No fitness center. No carts to help you move luggage to rooms. Two floors. We had a two queen bed room and it was small but equiped with the normal things for a Comfort Inn (large work desk and chair, mini-fridge, microwave sitting on top of mini-fridge, side chair, small dresser with flat screen TV. Bathrooms were modern but vanity was very small. Tub/shower. I gave it a very good rating based on remodel, location, comfortable beds.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Don49680,

Thank you for choosing to stop in and stay with us at Comfort Inn on your return drive from Cape Breton. We are happy to learn that you were satisfied with your stay and we are appreciative of the recommendation you have given us. Thanks for letting future travelers know about our great location! Hope to see you on your next visit to Canada!

Kind Regards,
Diane Mahar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Wonderful hotel! Friendly staff, epic breakfast, newly renovated. Quiet, big, clean rooms. Definitely am going to stay hear again when in the area. Perfect location: right off highway beside a Tim Hortons and restaurant and shopping mall.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear justin_laing,

Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay with us here at the Comfort Inn New Glasgow. We were happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate hearing all of your wonderful comments about our product, staff, and location!

Many thanks and we hope that we will see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Diane Mahar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel sits very close to highway, stores and the town. It is right beside a Wendy's /Tim Hortons combo. While the setting is not pretty by all means, this is a great example of what a well managed hotel should be like. The secret lies in the details, and there are many signs that someone is putting a lot of thought into running this hotel. Spotless clean too, from the flower beds over the room to the breakfast area. Staff is very pleasant and everyone greets you with a smile. Julie the front desk manager is a role model for her profession : she made me very much appreciated and welcome, and checked me in in a very friendly way. Very courteous!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back, should be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Halifaxnixe,

We were delighted to read your review and very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your kind comments and praise of the team here at the Comfort Inn New Glasgow and for Julie in particular. (We think she is fantastic too!)

Your compliments are indeed a great motivation to continue to strive to offer exceptional service and quality.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Diane Mahar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stay at this Comfort Inn on a regular basis for the past two years. The inn has been recently renovated and is exceptionally clean and new. Wonderful staff!!! The best! Friendly and accommodating.
There is a coffee shop next door and other restaurants as well as a mall across the road.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear cbgirlns,

Many thanks for your kind review and for being a regular guest of Comfort Inn. We truly appreciate your loyalty and the time taken to share your experience.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to New Glasgow!

Kind Regards,
Diane Mahar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed there a couple of time for business. The hotel was entirely renovated (hallways, rooms, common areas) and is a big notch above competition (Holiday Inn Express) in regards to the finishes, cleanliness and comfort. The breakfast area is nice and the food quality is also above the competition. You always have eggs and meat (saussage or bacon) and you have a selfserve waffle station. Coffee was excellent.

There are still improvements to do such as:

- Wi-fi capacity is not sufficient. At night wi-fi is unavailable because too many users are trying to connect and those who connect have no bandwith. This is 2013, everybody have devices using wi-fi, hotels should update their connection to meet the demand.

- There are no sheer drapes on the 2nd floor windows. This is strange as most rooms face a parking lot and if you want day light, you have to open night curtains and then everyone see directly in the room. It lacks privacy.

- The room is heated/cooled using an in-wall unit that has no shut-off thermostat. This means the unit runs constantly. It's noisy and I had a difficult time to sleep because of this. There should be a wall thermostat installed to turn the unit off once the set temperature is reached.

- Microwave: Not all rooms have micro-wave and those who have one, it's pretty old and doesn't work well. A decent quality microwave cost 86$ at Walmart. It's worth the investment to put a good one in all rooms that have a fridge.


So bottom line, everything is brand new in this hotel, why skimp on drapes and micro-waves that cost nothing ? Fix that and the wi-fi and thermostat issues and you will be #1 for business travellers in the region by far.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the ground floor as parking is next to each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear IceMtl,

Thank you very much for being our guest and for taking the time to review the Comfort Inn New Glasgow. We truly appreciate hearing your comments and suggestions as it is through such feedback that we are able to work towards providing every guest with a great experience. We will continue to work on the items you mentioned and thank you again for the wonderful compliments.

Kind Regards,
Diane Mahar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Wow a pleasant stay. I was greeted as a points collector, given a bottle of water, and headed up through the newly renovated halls to my spotless room. There was a paper at my door in the morning, a hot breakfast downstairs, and checking out was the easiest process ever. The staff are extremely pleasant and made for an even more comfortable stay. Definitely a flagship of this chain, and hopefully more will receive this kind of renovation. Great job :)

Room Tip: I was on the second floor, facing the road but it was still very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear CrownVictoria,

Thank you for choosing the Comfort Inn New Glasgow and for taking the time to post a review. It is a pleasure for our team to read your review and know that you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Diane Mahar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn - New Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn - New Glasgow

Address: 740 Westville Road, New Glasgow, Nova Scotia B2H 2J8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > New Glasgow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn - New Glasgow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn New Glasgow is now All New Just for You. Newly-Renovated Guest Rooms and Lobby, Free Hot Breakfast, and now 100% Non-Smoking-all with the same great award-winning hospitality. Comfort Inn New Glasgow is a recipient of Choice Hotel's 2013 Gold Award. Centrally located within Pictou County, it is an ideal location for both business and leisure travellers visiting New Glasgow, Stellarton, Westville, Trenton or Pictou. The Northumberland Ferry to P.E.I. Is just a short drive away. Newly renovated rooms feature flat screen TVs and mini-fridges. Hotel features include free hot breakfast, morning newspaper and free high speed wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Canada, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn - New Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - New Glasgow Hotel New Glasgow
New Glasgow Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn - New Glasgow Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.