We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn - New Glasgow

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn - New Glasgow to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn - New Glasgow
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   740 Westville Road, New Glasgow, Nova Scotia B2H 2J8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More, Save More!
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in New Glasgow
Van Buren, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Recently renovated, this hotel is convenient to the highway. Very comfortable plush bed and pillows. Fridge in room flat screen cable tv. All amenities needed. Continental breakfast and friendly helpful staff. Nice stop on the way to or from Cape Brenton. We will be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear snog89,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to New Glasgow and for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. Our renovations went very well last month and we are happy to say that we are also be re-vamping our breakfast. Starting next week, guests can enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast including freshly made waffles and a selection of eggs, sausage, and bacon. We are extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you on your next trip!

Kind Regards,
Diane Mahar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    10
    8
    1
See reviews for
11
10
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Marion,IN
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was another of our Choice Rewards stays so I can't compare rates. Our room was quiet, clean and comfy but no fridge to cool down our next day's water. The desk staff were very friendly and accomodating . This is another 2 story hotel with no elevator so plan accordingly. The morning breakfast was basic continental style that is apparently standard in Canada? and the breakfast area is really small compared to locations in the US. It really needs to be updated.

Room Tip: No elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear 732MPD,

Thank you for being our guest and for sharing your review and comments. We very much appreciate having your feedback and are happy to report that we have been making some major improvements since your stay. During the month of September, we have completely renovated all guest rooms with new carpet, wall-coverings, artwork, lamps, (and I LOVE our) new bedding. The majority of the rooms also have a mini fridge, and every room will have one by the end of this year. The washrooms also received an update with new ceramic tile on the floors, a new granite vanity and deep set sink and new lighting. Our lobby and public areas also received an update and remodeling and we have a newly updated breakfast area that will allow us to serve a complimentary Hot Breakfast starting next week. I hope that you will have the chance to return to experience the ALL NEW Comfort Inn New Glasgow.

Kind Regards,
Diane Mahar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean and service was decent. Included breakfast was adequate. We used it as a stopover on the way to Cape Breton and it served the purpose. Microwave and fridge in room and two tvs in our split room.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear jelboy,

Thanks so much for choosing to stay at the Comfort Inn New Glasgow while on your way to Cape Breton. We are happy to know that you had a pleasant stay and hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back to see our new makeover!

Kind Regards,
Diane Mahar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed here over night on our way home and although the room was dated it was very clean. The beds were not pillow top mattresses but were comfortable. The location was not desirable but OK for an overnight stop. The staff was friendly and even gave us a courtesy call after check in to make sure we had found the room satisfactory.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Rambling4,

Thank you for your review of the Comfort Inn New Glasgow and for being our guest. We are very excited for our upcoming renovations in September which will give us a whole new fresh look and feel and hope that you will return to experience a new level of Comfort on your next trip to New Glasgow!

Kind Regards,
Diane Mahar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I agree with other reviewers - was more than sufficient for a break during our camping trip. We stayed here with our dog with no issues. The room was clean and had all the amenities (wifi, microwave, fridge) and convenient parking outside your patio door if you're on the first floor. Check-in and check-out were friendly, but in the evening front-desk staff became very busy and we were not able to get extra towels or find out what time breakfast started.

Breakfast was included and was sufficient with yogurt, whole fruit, pastries, toaster, hot and cold drinks. That being said, room was a little pricey for the quality.

The location was just down the road from fuel, coffee and grocery. New Glasow also has a laundromat, banks, several restaurants and a waterfront making this an ideal place to stop.

Room Tip: Request a ground-level floor to be able to park outside your patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear visitsoon21,

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and recommending the Comfort Inn New Glasgow. We appreciate getting your feedback and hope that we will see you again when you next visit our area.

Kind Regards,
Diane Mahar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The only upside is it's close to the highway.

Stopped for the night on a long drive from Quebec to Cape Breton. It was crowded, loud, and absolutely non-descript.

The room was comfortable-ish and clean. The staff was friendly enough. It is what it is.

There were kids running up and down the hall, sirens outside. A place to pass through as quickly as possible.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear William B,

Thank you for choosing the Comfort Inn New Glasgow and for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We were disappointed to learn that your stay was not completely satisfactory and want to offer our apology for the noise disturbance you endured. We hope that you will return for a quieter stay on a future visit to Nova Scotia.

Kind Regards,
Diane Mahar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Comfort inn is always a very reliable place to stay. I booked a day before and had no problems suecuring a room. My company stays frequently with comfort inns across the province and opinions are great across the board. Also excellent was a free room upgrade to a business class room - thank you to the gals at the front desk for that. After a long day of work, I enjoyed kicking back for an evening.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear mcginnisdavid9,

I would like to say thanks from all of us for choosing to stay at Comfort Inns. Your kind review is very much appreciated and we are happy to hear that you and your co-workers enjoy your stays. We look forward to welcoming you back to Comfort Inn New Glasgow!

Kind Regards,
Diane Mahar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn - New Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn - New Glasgow

Address: 740 Westville Road, New Glasgow, Nova Scotia B2H 2J8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > New Glasgow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in New Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn - New Glasgow 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn New Glasgow is now All New Just for You. Newly-Renovated Guest Rooms and Lobby, Free Hot Breakfast, and now 100% Non-Smoking-all with the same great award-winning hospitality. Comfort Inn New Glasgow is a recipient of Choice Hotel's 2013 Gold Award. Centrally located within Pictou County, it is an ideal location for both business and leisure travellers visiting New Glasgow, Stellarton, Westville, Trenton or Pictou. The Northumberland Ferry to P.E.I. Is just a short drive away. Newly renovated rooms feature flat screen TVs and mini-fridges. Hotel features include free hot breakfast, morning newspaper and free high speed wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn - New Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - New Glasgow Hotel New Glasgow
New Glasgow Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn - New Glasgow Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.