We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hosts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mahone Bay Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Mahone Bay Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mahone Bay Bed and Breakfast
558 Main Street, Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia B0J 2E0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Mahone Bay B&B and Inns
SC
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hosts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Excellent hospitality, superb breakfast. Good location, moderately priced.
The room... Relatively small to American standards... But sufficient, for two small to average size people.
Bed... Need new mattress, for sure. Bring your own pillow if you can.
Canada Select gave it Five stars... The inn will be rated as Three and a half stars in American standards. I would rate it at Four stars due to the excellent/friendly owners (innkeepers)
If I have to stay in Mahone Bay again, this B&B will be your best bet. If I have to stay in the area, Lunenburg (UNSCO Heritage site) is better option.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schnurre, Owner at Mahone Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our B&B, we really do appreciate it. So far, we’ve had only positive comments about the quality and comfort of our beds. It would be very helpful for us to know which room you are referring to so we can investigate and take action. You may not have noticed the information card in your room that encourages our guests to please ask for another, or softer pillow, we have plenty of them. As a heritage home, the bedrooms are definitely not your modern luxury hotel size. On the other hand, they are meant for sleeping since we have the huge living room, comfortable nook with gorgeous view and fire place upstairs, and porches and deck outside to encourage our guest’s lounging about. That’s what staying in a Bed and Breakfast is all about!
Just for the record, our Canada Select rating is actually 4 ½ stars. We are rated as a B&B, not to be compared to a hotel. A B&B’s little niche is individuality and uniqueness created by the location, building and the personalities of the owners. As a guest you’re as different as each Bed and Breakfast. As your hosts we provide to you the best of what we have to offer in the hope that it is what you are looking for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We couldn't have asked for more lovely hosts! They were warm and charming, very helpful in giving us information to help us in places to visit, and their breakfasts...oh their breakfasts were a delight ! Very lovely, clean and comfortable and beautiful location in an outstanding character home.
This was such a great experience for my wife and I. Thank you Scott and Elke...you are special people.

Jerry & Leta

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Mahone Bay is a hidden gem of a town and this B&B is one of the best we've ever visited. Elke and Scott are warm, welcoming, and knowledgeable hosts. The breakfasts are as beautifully presented as they are delicious. Our room was very well appointed and the bed was quite comfortable. We were given excellent recommendations on restaurants and things to see in the area. Our stay there was a great start to our ten days in Nova Scotia.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Only stayed the one night, November 30, for the Father Christmas festival. Scott was very hospitable in a casual way. Well informed about what's going on in town, but no pressure. Very clean and well appointed and VERY conveniently located.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

On Oct 14 - 17, 2013 we had the great honor to stay at the Mahone Bay B&B for our Honeymoon. Our hosts Scott and Elke Sager were very friendly and so kind they made my wife Cathy and I feel completely at home. The hosts always went the extra mile and made us both feel like very special guests during our stay. This old shipbuilders home is so beautiful with so much history with a view of the bay right in the heart of the town.

The three coarse home made breakfasts were out of this world awesome !! We very much loved our stay and plan to go back on Dec 6, 2013 to take in Father Christmas. The people of this town make it a very special place and take great pride in there beautiful town. Thank you so much for everything love you both. Blaine and Cathy

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is an excellent Bed and Breakfast! My hosts, Scott and Elke were warm,friendly and so kind, they made me feel completely at home and as I was travelling alone this made my trip most enjoyable. I stayed six nights at the B&B and the breakfasts were more exquisite each time, the wonderful smell of home baked bread each morning was heavenly! The 152 year old house is amazing, the rooms are tastefully decorated and exceptionally clean, crisp linens on the comfortable bed. I was on a Photographic trip and without Scott and Elke's help and kindness many of the images I have taken would not have been possible. This B&B in Mahone Bay is an excellent base for getting to many of the attractions such as Lunenburg, Peggy's Cove etc, each only a few kilometres away. I am already planning to stay there next year!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed at the Mahone Bay Bed and Breakfast twice in my two week visit to NS in September. The bed and breakfast is in a charming large home, the hosts Elke and Scott warm and friendly, the breakfast was wonderful both times. The hosts always went the extra mile and made us feel like very special guests. I would totally recommend this place to everyone who passes through Mahone Bay for a night. I will be back. Thank you so much Elke and Scott.
Dawn from Victoria, B.C.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mahone Bay Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahone Bay Bed and Breakfast

Address: 558 Main Street, Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia B0J 2E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Mahone Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mahone Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where history, modern conveniences and superb service meet. Popular photo stop in the heart of town. New owners Elke and Scott are delighted to preserve the history and add a little of their caring touches to welcome each guest as a friend. The gardens are beutiful and rooms elequent and spotless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mahone Bay Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahone Bay Bed And Breakfast Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahone Bay Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.