We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing in more ways than one.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kedy's Inlet

Kedy's Inlet
249 Edgewater Street, Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia B0J 2E0, Canada (Formerly Kedy's inlet)
19025313030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 16 Restaurants in Mahone Bay
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Mahone Bay, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Refreshing in more ways than one.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

After reading a review in our local paper how the 'inlet' had recently refurbished the décor, along with a new Chef and menu, my wife and I along with another couple decided to dine there last Saturday. None of us had been to the 'Inlet' for a few years with the menu choices always predictable, even though the food was usually good. We were all pleasantly surprised with the variety of choices on the menu, but when it came to order the waitress had to keep returning to the kitchen to find out if that item was available. In two instances items ordered were off the menu! After this slight disappointment, we did however manage to make our selections with the items arriving in good order (on hot plates) and to everyone's satisfaction. We all thought that the improvements to this establishment had greatly enhanced acceptance for customers, which in our case means return visits! Just a couple of remarks - we seem to remember the biscuits being served warm, not found on the table when seated, also the two paged typed menu stapled together should only be a very temporary measure.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    31
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
nova scotia Lunenburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Great place to go the food is great the Waitress are wonderful,and their decor is relaxing.They did a overhaul on the menu and their decor .Dinners were available at very reasonable prices.We felt very well-cared for and treated like royalty! It is our new place to go .Be sure if you are in Mahone Bay stop in you will not be dissapointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahone Bay, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Consistancy with Change”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I usually choose the Inlet for our 'date night' dinner out. We know we will get our favourite meals there, and they will taste as good as the last time, and the time before that. Though the ownership has changed at least twice since Jack Sorenson moved his Main St restaurant over to the inlet, his receipes for tried-and-true delicious entrees and desserts have remained constant.
I love their stir fries and my husband usually gets the lamb shank...we are never disappointed! Jack's penchant for detail and fresh product lives on. We thoroughly enjoyed both dinners last week, and my stir fry scallops and shrimp was hot and delicious. Just one comment - would love the biscuits to be warmed when served.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Surprising & interesting menu variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I recently was invited to a luncheon gathering of 12 women at The Inlet Café. It was my first visit to the café & it has a surprisingly extensive menu & not just the usual soups/salads/sandwiches. Dinners were available at very reasonable prices. The place was packed so unless all the businesses in the area go out on a Friday for lunch, it is a popular place to eat. I also enjoyed the gift shop next door.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Great food & great view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a gem of a place! We trooped in 8 strong on a Tuesday night and were told it might be a bit of a wait as a staff member didn't show up. We were pleasantly surprised that instead of feeling like we were causing them work ... we felt very well-cared for and treated like royalty! The place has a nice feel with art work by Sherman Hines who's a celebrated photographer from the area - very beautiful!
The food was superb! They claim to have the 'best chowder in Nova Scotia' and I don't know about that ... but it was amazing! The pan-fried haddock was moist and better than some 5-star restaurants I've been in. Prices are very reasonable and the view is impressive. On a warmer evening it would have been nice to sit outside. Definitely worth a stop!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kedy's Inlet also viewed

Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Kedy's Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kedy's Inlet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.