We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amos Pewter

Amos Pewter
589 Main Street, Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia B0J 2E0, Canada
1-800-565-3369
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Shopping in Mahone Bay
Type: Specialty Shops, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Amos Pewter designs, creates and sells pewter gifts and keepsakes in our workshop and gift store located across the bay from the historic Three Churches in Mahone Bay on the South Shore of Nova Scotia. Visitors from around the world are captivated by our artisans and interpretive displays. Enjoy a guided demonstration and tour our workshop, take part in our Hands On Experience, and finish your own pewter Sand Dollar.
Bridgewater, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I go here whenever I am in Mahone Bay, always interesting to see the designers working on a new piece. Everything is beautifully displayed, and staff are attentive but not pushy. Beautiful building inside and out, great shopping experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    17
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folly Beach, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Superb! I'll second that.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

One of the shops that attracted us to Mahone Bay. Not just your ordinary trinket shop. Real pewter objects are created there. We found a diversity of items: household goods, collectables, jewelery. There were plenty of choices of size, style and cost.
I must admit to a dumb attack because we bought a nice cake knife and you quessed it, lost the beauty to security at the airport. Point is have sharp edges mailed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“lovely gifts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

While in Mahone Bay I made it a point to stop in to Amos Pewter. I had seen their work online, and wanted to buy in person. They have a great display area, and the sales people are very helpful. They also have a very informative demonstration area where they make all the items for the shop. I purchased a bangle for my daughter. I wasn't sure of the size, but one of the salesgirls was about the same build as my daughter and was delighted to model the different styles, and help with the size. Christmas shopping done!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gifts for Everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Amos Pewter shop is one of the many pretty shops in Mahone Bay right at the waterfront. It's a beautiful and colourful building and offers a very large range of pewter gifts. Everything is beautfully and clearly displayed.
Whenever I visist friends in Nova Scotia I visit this shop and have always found lovely and unusual gifts to take home for friends in the UK or for myself.
The staff are very friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable and one can observe the designers at work.
I have also visited the Amos Pewter shop at Peggy's Cove and many shops in Lunenburg have Amos Pewter gifts for sale.
Definitely worth a visit if you are looking for a little more unusual gift or souvenir.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Something for everyone! My taste is more contempory. I made my bangles every day for two months and they look like new. People love the fact they are oval. I'm about to order more online. We visited Amos in Mahone Bay, Peggy's Cove and Halifax. All wonderful friendly service.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amos Pewter also viewed

Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Amos Pewter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amos Pewter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.