We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable quiet retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SeaWind Landing Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added SeaWind Landing Country Inn to your Saves list
SeaWind Landing Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   159 Wharf Road, Charlos Cove, Guysborough, Nova Scotia B0H 1T0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Guysborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable quiet retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The accommodation is good, clean and comfortable. We had a fantastic view of Tor Bay from our bed. The owners and staff are friendly and informative about attractions within the immediate vicinity. Bicycles and kayaks are available to hire - weather permitting.

Breakfast was good and with generous portions. Everything is cooked to order but with no buffet style baked goods or cereals. We can recommend the French toast with blueberries.

As there are no other restaurants in the vicinity it is assumed you will eat dinner at the accommodation. The food in the evening is good but not great. However, patience is required as the chef struggles to cook for all the guests demanding feeding at the same time.

Probably due to its remote location WiFi was not available in the room although allegedly available in the lounge.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    31
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
114
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Esher, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed two nights at the end of our holiday in Nova Scotia and we were so pleased that we made it to the Eastern shore to stay at Seawind Landings. Our first night we were in Morning Light which had a great view across the bay. Dave and Anne Marie were great hosts, welcoming, very willing to share ideas on places to visit - Black Duck Cove and Tor Bay a must if you love scenery, landscape and the sea as well as wildlife! Very few people there too which is lovely if you want to avoid the crowds. Dining was also very good with a good menu and great tasting food. All the guests were very sociable which also made for interesting discussions and sharing of stories. We moved to the adjacent building - upper floor with a view over the sea - we had a full moon and were lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves - so peaceful and relaxing! We really enjoyed our stay and didn't want to leave. So if you want a relaxing, great location, with tasty food presented by thoughtful and kind hosts then you can't go wrong with whiling away a few days here!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the adjacent building - upper deck facing the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Exactly what I was looking for! Charming, country heritage home vibe, amazing views and lovely hosts. Warm hospitality and tasty, locally sourced food complete with decadent desserts and home baked bread! Thoroughly satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had our final night of our trip at this hotel and I wish it had been for longer. We were welcomed so warmly by Ann- Marie which set the tone for the stay.
Our room had a fantastic view overlooking the cove. It was so peaceful and beautiful.
The room was a good size, extremely clean, well appointed and furnished in muted earthy colours. The bathroom had a large jacuzzi bath which was most welcome after a day's travel from Cape Breton.
The restaurant is a small intimate room overlooking the gardens and bay. Our evening meal was delicious and not overly priced. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and again delicious. The only thing I missed was a coffee making machine in the room. However, Ann-Marie was only to happy to make a coffee for us when asked.
We had been on our trip for three and half weeks and this hotel was a fantastic end to a great holiday.

Room Tip: Room number 10, Moonbeam, has two windows giving fantastic views over the bay and gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great property, sitting right on the ocean, wonderful views. Dave and Ann Marie are wonderful hosts and they make it feel like a BB or Country Inn stay. Nicely appointed rooms, nice views from the rooms. Wonderful to sleep, pitch black at night and very quiet, just the sound of the ocean. Easy to find (even though it is off the beaten track) Dave has put up handy signs along the way. You can kayak, wander around the property and they have their own little beach too. The food is to die for, incredible dinner and breakfast and many choices (it will be difficult to choose) Don't just stay 1 night. This is a great place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Beautiful setting and grounds with great hiking right on property. The main lodge and annex both have great views of the ocean and access to the beach. The rooms are nicely furnished, spotless, very comfortable and quiet. The food is EXCELLENT, and the hosts (Ann Marie, David and their 2 Bernese Mtn dogs) are absolutely wonderful - genuinely friendly and informative. On our extended Nova Scotia/Stanfest vacation, we stayed in 7 highly rated inns and B&Bs - all were very satisfying, but Seanwind Landing was our favorite!

Room Tip: The annex and lodge rooms are equally great. The annex rooms have decks and better wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

After reading the reviews on trip advisor we decided to book this Inn as the end to our holiday where we had travelled around Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island. It was intended as a relaxing end to a busy holiday, and this is exactly what it was.
We booked the 'romantic package' and were pleased we had. The meals were wonderful - thankfully as I don't think there was anywhere else to eat nearby!
The setting was wonderful - definately a place to relax. The hosts were very welcoming - nothing seemed as if it would be too much trouble. We really enjoyed our two nights stay.
The only downside would be if we had booked for longer - there was not a lot to see in the area - thus it was very quiet - a definate get away from it all, but some of the surrounding towns and villages were rather run down, and the roads not good. We were lucky in that the weather was very good.
However if you just want somewhere to get away from it all in a beautiful setting, with some excellent dining on your doorstep, then this is the place for you!

Room Tip: We stayed in the moonshine room - a deluxe room in the annexe, which had a marvellous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SeaWind Landing Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SeaWind Landing Country Inn

Address: 159 Wharf Road, Charlos Cove, Guysborough, Nova Scotia B0H 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Guysborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Guysborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SeaWind Landing Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the Atlantic, Seawind Landing Country Inn offers panoramic ocean views in every direction. At the inn, you can enjoy guided sea kayaking, hiking, or cycling, or just lounge on the beach or take a stroll along a trail on the 20 acre seaside property. Enjoy breakfast and dinner in the oceanview dining room or on the patio when weather permits. Our menu features fresh Atlantic seafood, sumptuous desserts, and a selection of fine Nova Scotia wines. We are happy to cater to any special dietary needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your SeaWind Landing Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlos Cove Country Inn
SeaWind Landing Country Inn Nova Scotia/Guysborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SeaWind Landing Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.