We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SeaWind Landing Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added SeaWind Landing Country Inn to your Saves list
SeaWind Landing Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   159 Wharf Road, Charlos Cove, Guysborough, Nova Scotia B0H 1T0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Guysborough B&B and Inns
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Unexpected Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Driving from Cape Breton to Halifax, this niave Ontarian decided to take the "scenic" route. The weather was crazy, we were exhausted, it was getting late and we were in the middle of "no where"! My husband figured we were still a 4 hour drive from Halifax. Thank God we came accross the signs for SeaWind Landing Country Inn.

Here is a little piece of Heaven. The main lodge is cozy and inviting. The hosts were wonderful and the rooms, which are in a seperate building, are perfect!

We had a great meal, on a stormy night in the rustic dining room. Breakfast was wonderful and they served coffee from a local coffee company! (522 Gourmet Coffee Inc - also in the middle of 'no where' and roasts, faritrade, organic coffee)

If we are ever in the that area again we will go out of our way to stay there and this time spend a few days!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    31
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
114
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed one night on return from Cape Breton. Was a bit wary as it seemed off the beaten track, but it is a charming small hotel in a very picturesque location, with lovely views and walks around.

Such a warm welcome and nothing too much trouble for the owners - room choice, computer help etc. Nice small room (standard), well fitted out and all spotless. Both dinner and breakfast were really first class and well and imaginatively cooked.

Good value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stopped here for only one night during our tour of Nova Scotia in June 2012. The location is wonderful and the views from our room were beautiful. The room was lovely and spotlessly clean. Loved our walk round the grounds to the beach. We had a lobster meal in the evening which was delicious and a fabulous breakfast the following day. We were made to feel extremely welcome and we loved the dogs! It is a bit remote but with delicious food cooked on site this was not a problem for us. Wish we had stayed longer.

Room Tip: Have an upstairs room for those views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

The perfect place to break the journey from Halifax to Cape Breton. Rooms are spacious and comfortable with great views over the sea. The welcome is warm and the food is delicious. The location may be off the main tourist routes but it is well worth the detour! A great place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We returned to the Seawind Landing after 15 years to find it the same charming spot as it was back in the 90s. The setting is stunning and the hosts, Ann Marie and David, along with their canine ambassadors Beaufort and Emmylou, were most welcoming. The inn is a bit remote from “civilization” but that’s what I like about it. If you’re looking for an active night life, this isn’t the place for you. I also appreciate its pet friendliness. As a dog owner, I am used to being relegated to chain motels when travelling with my girl and rarely have the opportunity to stay at a nice inn. So this is a special treat! If you are not a “pet person” or have allergies, not to worry. Not all the rooms welcome dogs. Thanks again, Ann Marie and David!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Found this place by accident - very lucky for us! Although the drive was a little long it was well worth it. The hosts are very friendly and helpful, the location is picturesque and the food is amazing.
We stayed one night and wished we could have stayed much longer - it was so relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestertown, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at SeaWind for 2 days in July during an 8-day tour of Nova Scotia. The entire experience was dreamy! Without a doubt, the property is as exceptional and you could ever imagine with beautiful views and grassy, well-groomed trails for exploring the peninsula. Our room was incredibly comfortable and a great place to relax and enjoy a glass of wine before dinner. This alone would have made our visit all that we could expect but it was very minimal in comparison to the experience of enjoying the company of Anne Marie and David. They are a talented, lively couple with a passion for doing things right and connecting with people. Talking to them each day and sharing experiences at dinner each evening is what made our experience at SeaWind so special. The world is truly a better place because of their gentle hearts, genuine interest in people, respect of the land, and appreciation for beauty and pleasure! We miss them already!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room on the property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SeaWind Landing Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SeaWind Landing Country Inn

Address: 159 Wharf Road, Charlos Cove, Guysborough, Nova Scotia B0H 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Guysborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Guysborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SeaWind Landing Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the Atlantic, Seawind Landing Country Inn offers panoramic ocean views in every direction. At the inn, you can enjoy guided sea kayaking, hiking, or cycling, or just lounge on the beach or take a stroll along a trail on the 20 acre seaside property. Enjoy breakfast and dinner in the oceanview dining room or on the patio when weather permits. Our menu features fresh Atlantic seafood, sumptuous desserts, and a selection of fine Nova Scotia wines. We are happy to cater to any special dietary needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your SeaWind Landing Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlos Cove Country Inn
SeaWind Landing Country Inn Nova Scotia/Guysborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SeaWind Landing Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.