We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Vacations Should Be!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   2884 Number 7 Highway | Liscomb Mills, Guysborough, Nova Scotia B0J 2A0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Guysborough
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Liverpool, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What Vacations Should Be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Ok, first off, to all you people complaining about there being no cell reception...this isn't the Resort's fault! You have to drive a few minutes either way up the road before you can use your phone, and besides, YOU'RE ON VACATION. I'm sure your calls can wait...and even then, you have a PHONE IN YOUR ROOM and there's still wi-fi! You're on vacation! embrace this beautiful spot! Go for a hike, take a canoe out for a spin, visit the gift shop, or just relax on your private deck and listen to the birds, watch the river...it truly is the best way to get away from technology...isn't that what vacation is all about?
Now that I've got that off my chest, I'll get to my review. The rooms are nice and clean, and the beds are comfy, as well as a beautiful view with a totally private view, what more could you want?
The restaurant is awesome, by the way, the Liscombe Burger is the best! Service in the dining room is wonderful and attentive, I also had the pleasure of seeing live entertainment as we enjoyed our meal. Breakfast buffet is good as well.
The place is one of those "down home feel good" type places with staff that make you feel welcome!
The only negative thing I have to say about this place is it's a little more pricey than I would like, but then again what isn't pricey nowadays !
Can't wait to come again this year, always feel refreshed after I leave!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. It sounds like you had a great getaway with us. We are glad to hear that our staff made you feel at home. The privacy of our accommodations and the picturesque scenery really create a peaceful experience. We are happy to hear you took advantage of all the free activities that we provide for our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Until next time,
Karen Wenaus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    65
    29
    10
    5
See reviews for
39
116
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

There is no rating for good , just average or very good. Yet i would rate the Liscombe lodge as good. The staff is first rate, accommodating welcoming just what you would expect and appreciate. The setting by the river is lovely, with trails, kayaks boat tours, bicycles. Plus they have laundry facilities. For someone who wants a getaway for a few days and experience nature and quiet, it is fantastic. The rooms are clean and comfortable although a bit dated, the reason it is not getting the 4 stars is the "fine dining". Unfortunately our meal was overpriced and overcooked. We had the planked salmon a signature dish, which was small considering the price , and overdone, and the scallops wrapped in bacon with maple, again small portion and overdone. (rubbery) you would think that so close to the sea it would be better. Service in the dining area was acceptable , but not really in keeping with the high quality of service in the rest of the lodge. Breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: After a long day on the road, it was great to sit on the balcony overlooking the river and have a gl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share this review with us! We’re happy to hear that you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay at our lodge. Our riverside setting and complimentary activities are always a big hit with our guests.

We’re sorry to read about your dining experience. I’ll be sure to share these comments with our kitchen staff so we can try to avoid this during our 2014 season.

We hope to welcome you back sometime soon!

Until next time,
Karen Wenaus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigonish, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had the benefit of holding a conference at the Lodge this Monday past and WOW - the room was awesome, buffet dinner was incredible and the conference amenities was outstanding. In the morning had the opportunity to go out on the room balcony to enjoy the fresh air, view of the river and quietness. Kudos to all staff - you are all truly wonderful

Room Tip: Room over looking the river was awesome - quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing to host your conference with us! We’re happy to read that you enjoyed our newly renovated accommodations, relaxing river views, delicious dinner buffet options and available on-site amenities.

We will be sure to share your kind comments with our team and we hope to welcome you back again.

Until next time,
Karen Wenaus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammonds Plains
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We spend a weekend at Liscombe Lodge at least once every year and look forward to it every time. It's a beautiful spot, the staff is wonderful, the restaurant is EXCELLENT. The food just seems to get better and better. We love it there and we will always go back.

Room Tip: We usually choose the 4-bedroom cottages because we fill up the whole thing with our crowd, but it d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty – we’re delighted to hear that Liscombe Lodge is your resort of choice when going on a vacation. We’re thrilled that you continuously enjoy our wonderful staff, beautiful views and delicious dining.

We look forward to welcoming back to our resort again next summer.

See you then,
Karen Wenaus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here before almost a year and a half ago, and just had to come back. It's so beautiful, the fall colours were amazing, the staff are lovely and genuine, the food is FABULOUS!! and so nice and peaceful. We didn't do the boat tour the first time we came so we signed up for it this time. They need a minimum of 4 people to take the boat out and nobody else signed up, but he still took us out for a beautiful personalized tour with lots of information on the local area and waterways. We really appreciated it. I cannot recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here! All lodge rooms face the beautiful river but the cabins are beautiful t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for returning to our nature lover’s resort and for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us. We’re thrilled that you enjoy our peaceful location, friendly staff, fabulous food and Chester’s boat tour.

We hope your travels bring you back next season.

Until then,
Karen Wenaus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Enjoyed another Thanksgiving at Liscombe Lodge. We are making this a tradition, love the rustic setting. It is wonderful to hike the trails or just curl up with a big fire and book. Great meals and service, particularly found Tony and Vanessa great in the dining room and enjoyed Chester's boat tours but all the staff is friendly and accommodating. We will definitely be back next year!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for continuing to return to Liscombe Lodge for Thanksgiving! We love welcoming you and your family back year after year. We’re delighted to read that you love our rustic location, beautiful trails, delicious meals, friendly staff and Chester’s boat tour.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lodge next season.

See you then,
Karen Wenaus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night, had cabin number 4 which was lovely, clean, spacious and right by the water. Great bed, good amenities inside and also got a chance to walk along the trails. Got up early one morning, sat outside in the sun listening to the lapping water from the river and wildlife. Absolutely lovely. After breakfast we took a trip with Chester, water boat tour which was very pleasant and he was a great knowledgeable welcoming host.
The lodge also has some great other facilities but sadly we didn't have time to use them.
Biggest let down was the restaurant, which they refer to this as "Fine Dining" when it couldn't be more from fine. It is poorly cooked over priced pub grub.
Had well done Steak when asked for "medium rare" and the most bizarre prawn cocktail I have ever had, badly presented and tasteless. The breakfast also had a very poor packet styled buffet selection. No cooking required, more warm up in microwave job.
You are seated badly, squashed together like sardines too close to others, the restaurant has plenty of spare tables so don't know why they did this, work is seriously needed on the ambience for a better dining experience as well as a new chef !!!! Waitress was very friendly and perky. Real Shame

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at our Nova Scotia resort. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your cabin accommodations, surrounding walking trails, river views, and of course, Chester.

We’re sorry to hear about your less than expected dining experience. I would love to have to opportunity to talk with you about your experience in more detail. Please reach out me directly at kwenaus@liscombelodge.ca.

Talk to you soon,
Karen Wenaus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center

Address: 2884 Number 7 Highway | Liscomb Mills, Guysborough, Nova Scotia B0J 2A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Guysborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Guysborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Centre is any nature lover's dream destination. Overlooking Liscomb River on Nova Scotia's Eastern Shore, just two hours from Halifax, the resort offers guests a secluded destination to enjoy nature in its truest form. Their well-appointed Riverside Lodge offers 30 guestrooms and a luxury junior suite, while their 17 open-concept chalets and five four-bedroom cottages feature cozy fireplaces and spacious private-use verandas. Keeping you busy, 16 km of hiking trails, a heated indoor pool, 2 whirlpools, a sauna, fitness room, tennis court, shuffleboard, giant chess board, canoeing, kayaking, and bicycles all contribute to the many complimentary recreational options for a fabulous East Coast vacation. Enjoy Maritime cuisine with spectacular river views at the Riverside Dining Room. The savoury menu features incredible flavours, such as Nova Scotia maple syrup, and our resort's famous planked Atlantic salmon, cooked over an open fire. And, for a more casual experience, the Lone Cloud Lounge offers a relaxed atmosphere with traditional Maritime pub classics. Whether you are planning a success-inspiring Nova Scotia conference for your organization, an exciting Nova Scotia vacation, or a romantic destination wedding, Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Centre offers a rustic and comfortable experience for every occasion that will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liscombe Lodge Hotel Guysborough
Liscombe Hotel Guysborough
Liscombe Resort Guysborough
Liscombe Lodge Resort And Conference Center Nova Scotia/Guysborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.