We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in Annapolis!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Secret Restaurant

Sweet Secret Restaurant
4784 Highway 1, Granville Ferry, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1K0, Canada
902-532-0909
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, Eastern European, Croatian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best food in Annapolis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We ate here with our two kids and its not really geared towards family dinning. They did not have a kids menu never the less the kids shared an appetizer and a side of fries and devoured everything for the first time during our Annapolis trip! And their plates even came out with happy faces made out of tomatoes and carrots!!! My husband and I had the schnitzel and it was awesome! This was a really lovely place. I'm glad we stopped there on our last night in Annapolis.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    8
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great European fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Loved the schnitzel, Digby scallops, chicken Cordon Blue, crepes, strudel, and Black Forest cake. This is not a "fancy" dining establishment, but for those who appreciate European fare, the food is worth the stop. I was hoping to have the type of boiled potatoes usually served with schnitzel in Europe....my only suggestion.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“European flavour just down the road.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have visited Sweet Secret Restaurant a few times and introduced to our friends who, like us, are very familiar with European cuisine. The has been very positive comments and they continually ask when we can do it again. Whether for a quiet dinner as a couple or as a group gathering we have never come away hungry or disappointed. The food is fantastic, the prices are very reasonable and the only negative point is that the restaurant closes during the winter months so we have to do without until the spring. Very highly recommended, particularly to those who have spent time in Europe and want to taste food at its finest.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis Royal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The Secret's out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

One of my top 'most memorable' dining experiences in the region. Quaint unpretentious, pleasant dining experience. The Mushroom Schnitzel is unbelievably good! Don't miss this one.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville Ferry, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Real Schnitzel, Real Black Forest Cake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The owners came to Canada from Croatia over 20 years ago. Among other things they run this delightful little restaurant. The furniture and the setting has a pine-and-lace-curtain, rural feel to it. Dubravko has a very pleasant, gentle manner at table, but the really sweet secret is Dragitsa in the kitchen. Her Wiener Schnitzel is the real thing: veal thinly sliced, lightly breaded and deep-fried to perfection. I haven't really sampled as much of the menu as I should have because I keep coming back to the schnitzel. And then there's the Black Forest Cake. The last time I had Black Forest Cake this good was in a little German restaurant in Red Deer, Alberta about 35 years ago. Most desserts calling themselves Black Forest Cake are gooey disappointments. Ah, but at the Sweet Secret the Black Forest Cake is echt. I would definitely recommend the Sweet Secret to a friend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Secret Restaurant also viewed

Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Sweet Secret Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Secret Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.