We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular View, Super owners !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Breeze Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Beach Breeze Motel to your Saves list
Beach Breeze Motel
127 Evangeline Beach Road, Grand Pre, Nova Scotia B0P 1M0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grand Pre
Ottawa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular View, Super owners !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

I was in the area on business and had stopped at The Tourist Info in Wolfville. The were nice enough to call ahead, and at that time, there were only 2 rooms vacant in the couple motels in the area. I looked at the other first, then The Beach Breeze. When we seen the view, and met the owners, I was happy that I had pasted up the first place. I look forward to returning and staying here. It is an older motel, and could use some new beds, and a little more renovations. All in all, we enjoyed it very much. Our first night, most of the people that had rooms rented gathered out side and we all sat together watching the tide go out, and enjoyed a few glasses of wine. A very friendly feeling. Don the owner joined us for awhile also. Anything you needed, Don or Pasty went out of their way to help. We had only planned on staying one night, but ended up staying for 2.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    26
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
34
40
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

I'm sure that because I was there prior to the peak tourist traffic, it helped in the fact that Don was able to work a great room (with the best view of the Bay) with a reasonable rate. I may have not been so fortunate a month later when peak demand kicks in. No matter why, however, Don did make us feel more than welcome. He also was more than generous with his time in telling us where to get a great dinner in Wolfville. We got to see the tide shift right outside our windows. Pretty neat. And all of this extremely close to our tourist destinations in the Grand Pre area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights. Upgraded to the end unit rooms with a spectacular view. Well worth the extra $20. The kids were able to walk along the beach and look for rocks during low tide. Owners, Don and Patsy were super friendly. Motel is a little old and could use some updating, but all in all was very comfortable, clean, and affordable. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

Stayed one night coming up from Halifax, about an hour drive - view of Minas Basin and tides simply amazing. We rented a deluxe room with kitchenette, adjoining room with fireplace and water view (only two rooms in this category) - amenities are basic (it is a motel, after all) but clean and spacious. Motel is adjacent to a public parking access point with some car traffic, but no real disturbance even on a Friday night. We prepared our own seafood feast, had a fire overlooking the water, and it was a night of pure relaxation and enjoyment. We will return next time we are in that part of Nova Scotia.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

We booked this motel because of the positive reviews we read at this site. But we were extremely disappointed by the quality of this motel. We did not stay in one of the larger rooms since we were just spending one night and didn't need a kitchen. Yes, the view is nice from the motel's location.. The owner was very nice and helpful, but the room was very basic with old beds with creaky uncomfortable mattresses. The sheets were thin and poor quality. The door to the unit only had poor quality lock with no deadbolt and we did not feel safe in this isolated location. The room was clean, but that is about the only positive aspect of the room. The overhead light flickered off and on and we were concerned about an electrical problem. The shower was horrendous! The showerhead was improperly installed and sprayed water all over the bathroom getting the towels and floors soaking wet. I've had better showers in campgrounds. We managed to get up early and get going just in the nick of time, as the power went out just as we were leaving the room. We paid $90 (Canadian) for this room and we don't feel that it was worth it. The owners need to do some serious upgrading. We do not recommend this motel in this condition.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

The best thing about the Beach Breeze motel is the location and the delightful owners. As other posters have written, the view of Minas Basin is terrific --the difference between high and low tide is amazing. The motel sits atop a small bluff about 30 feet above the shoreline. It was very relaxing to simply sit and take in the beauty that others have described. We booked one of the two larger end units that included the sitting area - definitey worth the extra $20. The owners are super -- so friendly and helpful, without being overbearing. I also thought the overall cleanliness was good. The downside to the motel, in my opinion, is that it is very "tired," meaning that the motel itself is somewhat outdated. Our beds in particular were very uncomfortable. The mattress was very squeaky and reminded me of the old box spring mattresses in a college dorm. No amenities except for a tiny bar of soap - so be sure to bring your own shampoo and hair dryer. I would describe the experience as "high end camping." Yet for all these negatives, I would probably stay there again. There is something charming about the place, so if you book there with these understandings, you'll not be disappointed. While there, be sure to visit the Grand Pre Historic Site -- well worth it. We had dinner in nearby Wolfville at Rosie's on Main Street. Great food and reasonable prices. The mussels and fish and chips were terrific.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — beds
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, NJ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

While on a driving vacation in NS, we were looking for a place to stay in the Grand Pre / Wolfville area. We had originally planned to camp in Blomidon Provincial park. We took a look at tone of the rooms in the Beach Breeze motel because we liked the description in the Doers and Dreamers' Guide, and Donnie, one of the co-owners suggested we take a look at the park anyway, and come back if we decided to take the motel. We came back to the motel, and spent the night there. Although not a five star hotel room, we thought it was great value for money. We loved the location. The motel is by the shore, with a view of the tides on the Minas Basin. The large pool was great too for a morning swim ! The motel is close to the Grand Pre national historic site and the Wolfville area. Donnie and Patsy, the owners, are retired teachers, and are very nice people indeed. We enjoyed our stay !

  • Liked — Location, the owners
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Breeze Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Breeze Motel

Address: 127 Evangeline Beach Road, Grand Pre, Nova Scotia B0P 1M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Grand Pre
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grand Pre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have beachfront/housekeeping rooms available. They offer two double beds (number 10 has a pull out hide- a-bed in the sun porch area ) and we can provide a cot. The beachfront/housekeeping room has a fully equipped kitchennette with a microwave, full fridge, coffee maker, full tub and shower and a fantastic view! The outer sun room area has a rustic slate stone floor, with lots of sitting area, large windows for the amazing view and a working wall to wall wood burning fireplace. We also have standard rooms available. They have two double beds,mini-fridge,coffee maker and a shower. All rooms have a view of the water ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Beach Breeze Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Breeze Hotel Grand Pre
Beach Breeze Motel Grand Pre, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Breeze Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.