We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Evangeline Inn & Motel Inc.

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Evangeline Inn & Motel Inc. to your Saves list
Evangeline Inn & Motel Inc.
11668 Hwy 1 | P.O. Box 4, Grand Pre, Nova Scotia, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Grand Pre B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

just what we wanted for a late lunch - simple, tasty food with very friendly service - the homemade pies are special - did stay in the good value motel with a wonderful view and a relaxed feel - well placed for many interesting sites as well as doing the ever-expanding wine tour

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    23
    11
    0
    4
See reviews for
10
26
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We were here for lunch today and the place was packed! By the time we left, they were lined up at the door, waiting for a table. Open seasonally May -October, and just down the road from the Grand Pre National HIstoric site, this little gem is clean, and with lots of homemade goodies to choose from. They do not serve french fries, which is a nice change. Daily specials, like homemade soups, tuna melts, etc are very reasonably priced. Cheerful staff makes a difference too. The lobster sandwich is sooo good. Homemade pies too! If you are looking for good, homemade food, with nice portions, this is the place. I noticed that they have 2 oz and 4 oz side hamburgers! They are also open for breakfast

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011 via mobile

This is a little gem, open seasonally (May-Oct.), this place is generally on the busy side. No deep fryer (no fries), however, you barely miss them. I recommend their burgers and shakes, their club sandwich is also tasty. The pies are their specialty, and boy what a selection, please don't leave without ordering a slice (my favorite is the butterscotch). The only downside is that you can't order a whole pie to take home, I guess I'll just have to keep going......

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, ME
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

I needed a place between Halifax and Kentville to serve as "home" for my 92 year-old mother for a week while I did research in the area. Her interest in Acadian culture and history made Grand Pre the perfect choice; and the Evangeline Motel was perfect as well. We chose the motel to be sure my mum would be able to get around okay, but having seen the Inn, the lower level rooms (2) would have been perfectly fine.

The rooms, as other travelers have noted, are very spacious; and, due to both the inn and the motel being up the hill and away from the road, road noise was minimal. Besides, it's a quiet little village so it never gets too raucous! Everything was super clean and my mum got so well acquainted with the staff that they all stopped by to give her a hug when we were leaving.

Just down the hill is the clean, charming cafe that offers good home-style breakfast and lunch foods. It's open into the early evening, so we suppered there as well on a few occasions. Good prices and service. It's very popular with the locals, so some patience is required occasionally. My mom walks with a cane due to minor balance problems, but she was able to make it up the hill with only one stop to admire the gardens!

Anyone interested in history must visit the Evangeline Park & Interpretive Center which is about a 15 minute walk from the cafe. Just beyond the park (good location for a picnic), are acres of diked farmland that you can walk, bike or drive through. Wander along the dikes and see the Minas Basin (an arm of the Bay of Fundy) as the "highest tides in the world" ebb & flow.

Grand Pre and the adjoining areas are also prime wine grape country offering plenty of wine-tasting opportunities.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

I arrived late without a reservation, and the staff could not have been more accomodating. The room was spacious with a large bathroom, and spotlessly clean. The bed was comfortable. I liked the baggie of clean old towels rags for cleaning the car, if needed. It was a very pretty quiet spot up on a hill, and a nice place to enjoy the rural quiet.
The coffee shop down the road towards the highway is open much earlier in the morning than the on-site restaurant, and I highly recommend their free-trade coffee.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RICHMOND
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

The Inn was in a great location, as our focus of this location was the Domaine de Grand Pre winery. The Inn was clean and the bed was one of the most comfortable of our trip, we had a king. My complaints are the shower curtain wasn't sufficient and we got water all over the floor, as it's a claw foot tub with shower head added and the floor was has an obvious slope to it, which made me nervous, but they are aware of it as evidenced by the block under the front feet of the beautiful wardrobe (the Inn is furnished nicely). My only other complaint was the room was so hot when we checked in because the windows had not been open, but the curtains were open and the sun heated the room. This could have been alleviated by merely keeping the blinds closed or open the windows prior to our arrival. There was no air conditioning, but there was a small fan to help us stay cool after our showers. By bed time, the room was comfortable. This was a good value and included breakfast at the diner. I wasn't clear how far the diner was, but rest assured if you are wondering, it is on the premises just across the parking lot. The Inn is also very close to the winery, you can see it and is certainly within walking distance, but we drove, because the cars fly on the road, since it is close to a major highway. We enjoyed the gas station across the street, as it was full service. I haven't seen a full service gas station in many many years! We would have preferred the other Inn in Grand Pre for our stay, but this was certainly enjoyable and again, a very comfortable night sleep on a great bed.

  • Liked — Location and comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Sloping floor and shower curtain
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

The Evangeline Inn is a charming Victorian building that used to be the boyhood home of a former Prime Minister of Canada. Being in an old Victorian, our room was not spacious but was most comfortable, clean and quiet. There is a nice porch for sitting outside in the evening, perhaps with a bottle of wine from the nearby Domaine du Grand Pre winery (recommended!).

Breakfast is served in the casual, friendly Evangeline Cafe. Try the very tasty homemade pear and ginger marmalade. If you are lucky and they have some in stock, you can purchase a jar to take with you. The grounds are nicely tended and the Cafe is bordered by a beautiful perennial garden.

The Inn is in a convenient location, near the winery and Grand Pre Historic Site.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Evangeline Inn & Motel Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evangeline Inn & Motel Inc.

Address: 11668 Hwy 1 | P.O. Box 4, Grand Pre, Nova Scotia, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Grand Pre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Pre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Evangeline Inn & Motel Inc. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evangeline Inn & Motel Inc. Grand Pre, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evangeline Inn & Motel Inc., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.