We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay after stressful travel day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ALT Hotel Halifax Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added ALT Hotel Halifax Airport to your Saves list
ALT Hotel Halifax Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Silver Dart Drive, Enfield, Nova Scotia B2T 1k2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free parking
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Enfield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing stay after stressful travel day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I ended up making a last minute reservation at the Alt after being bumped from my flight and having to stay in Halifax unexpectantly overnight. I honestly have to say that checking into the hotel that night was the first good thing that had happened to me after a terrible day of flying. The Alt is ideally located right across from the baggage claim and when I arrived they had everything ready for me. They even had my room key waiting for me, so check in only took a second. I loved the relaxed but stylish atmosphere; The colorful art wall was beautiful and the lounge with pool table and comfortable chairs gave off a fun and laid back vibe. My room (on the top floor) was ultra comfortable and the rainfall shower was exactly what I needed. The grab and go food was very convenient. I was really impressed with the selection of food they had there. I ended up having the gourmet grilled cheese panini and wonton chips, which was a wonderful change from all of the airport food. I was able to take it back up to my room without all of the wait and the extra charges usually associated with room service. Every single one of the staff was so wonderful and helpful- a marked change from the airport staff. It was my first time flying to Halifax, and I can't wait to book a longer stay and enjoy more of the amenities the hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    86
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
46
86
37
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Flew in to Halifax today. Had arranged and paid in advance for two rooms. Onr for my wife and myself, the second room for my daughter, her husband and two pre school children, who were to arrive later in the evening. Got tne first room no problem. However along the way my son in law missed a connection. So at 9:30 at night with two extremely tired childfen, my daughter was refused her room by management because the room was in her husbands name. I had paid for the room, my daughters ID was valid, but no luck, management was unable to allow her to check in with the kids.

So although the hotel was new, the staff friendly, the inflexability of the management less than enjoyable. Next time if i need a hotel near the Halifax airport CYHZ, I'll book at the Holiday Inn, which is not too far away.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Getting stuck at the Halifax airport due to a cancelled flight was made bearable by this hotel. I only wish it existed 5 years ago when I was last stranded in Halifax. The convenience of this hotel can't be beat -- just walk across a sky bridge from the airport. The room rate was very reasonable for an airport hotel. Unfortunately, they only offer one rate: no discount for automobile association.

The staff was very friendly. The bartender, Megan, could not have been friendlier if she tried. It was clear that she enjoyed her job. After a long day of travel, her cheerfulness was very welcomed.

Rather than a full-service restaurant, the Alt Hotel has adopted an augmented self-service model. Fresh salads, munchies, soups, and sandwiches are available from a wall-size refrigerator. A microwave, panini press, and toaster are available to heat anything that requires it. And you aren't limited to eating from the plastic or paper container the food is sold in -- real plates and silverware are available.

The room decor is utilitarian. The room had a very European vibe. Rather than a traditional stand-alone dresser, a drawer beneath the bed provided storage. The ceiling and one wall of my room were concrete, but the room did not feel cold or sterile. A lounge chair by the room's corner window could function as both an upright chair or chaise, depending how you sat upon it. The bathroom was nicely appointed. The upright shower (no tub) featured a wonderful rain shower head.

For those who enjoy a robust WiFi connection, this hotel will not let you down. Both in the restaurant area and my guest room, the WiFi signal was excellent. I was able to make VoIP phone calls without a problem.

My only complaint about the hotel was the noise from the construction being done to the airport terminal. During this summer construction the steel crew works overnight, while the roofing crew takes over during the day. If your hotel room faces the airport, you may hear the clanging of steel work. Ear plugs took care of it for me and I got a very restful night's sleep.

Aviation fans will enjoy the view. You can't get a better view of the airport tarmac than from this hotel. From my room on the 14th floor, I had a great view of morning flight operations (see picture).

Room Tip: Rooms facing the terminal may experience noise around the clock due to terminal construction. Constr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at Alt on July 25th because of a very early morning flight the next morning. The location could not have been better -- it took us 2 minutes to get to our flight. The staff is friendly and helpful and the room was lovely. While there was not much noise from the runway, there was quite a bit of noise from the construction going on across the street at the airport. The noise lasted late into the evening (past 11 p.m.) so if you need to get up before 5 a.m. like I did, I would ask for a room facing away from the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSchaay1, General Manager at ALT Hotel Halifax Airport, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hello Liz S,

Thank you for a very positive review overall. Our apologies for the noise you heard from construction at the airport. Unfortunately, this is temporary construction that will be completed in the near future. As you mentioned, the hotel is very quiet on the runway side, with the exception of this temporary construction. Once again, our sincere apologies and we look forward to seeing you again.

Thanks

Mark Schaay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NB, Canada
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Exhausted after a long flight from the UK, we could not face the 2-hour drive home on a foggy and rainy night. This hotel could not have been more convenient or more comfortable. It is joined to the airport terminal by an easy breezeway. The lobby decor is European chic and colourfully quirky. Guest rooms are very comfortable for the weary traveller, and have been thoughtfully designed with clever storage, seating, and bathroom amenities. There is no runway noise. Complimentary tea and coffee in the lounge and lots of "to-go" food for sale. Reasonably priced ($139), friendly service, and perfect for late arrivals or early-morning flights.

Room Tip: We were in 815 and it was a bright and spacious corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSchaay1, General Manager at ALT Hotel Halifax Airport, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hello Dalry,

Thank you for a nice review of our hotel. We have been open for 2 months now and appreciate the feedback. Once again, thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Mark Schaay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Beautiful hotel within walking distance of the terminal. This hotel was recently built and it's the only hotel at the Halifax Stanfield Airport that doens't require a shuttle bus. The staff is young and friendly. The rooms are modern and clean. The bed and linen are beyond comfortable (100% egyptian cotton).The lighting in the room works with your door key so that it's only on when you're in the room to make it more energy efficient. The toiletries are stored in bottles which they refill everyday instead of having those mini bottles of lotion, shampoo, etc. In the lobby they have a nice lounge area with a bar, pool table and seating area for socializing. My only dissapointment with this hotel was the lack of a restaurant. In the lobby area next to the bar, they have a grab-and-go system with pre-made, pre-package food to be heat up in a microwave or oven. You can either eat it there or bring it to your room. After a long day of traveling I wished to have enjoyed a nice cooked dinner. They have sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. This is all good if you want to have a quick snack. But if you want to have a nice dinner your only option is to go inside the terminal to the Maritime Restaurant. Overall I enjoyed my stay but wished they had a restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just recently opened I have already stayed twice. Connected to YHZ terminal by a moving pedway and to the car rental garage by elevator it is particularly great for those with early am flights as it is only a leisurely five minute walk to the International desks and less to the domestic.

The rooms are modern, well appointed and completely insulated from airport noise. WiFi is free and fast. There are USB charging plug-ins on the desks. The room appointments is modern or European with lots of area for luggage.

The lobby is efficient with a bar and food available 24 hours per day. It lacks sale of toiletries for those that forget. Boarding passes can be printed in the lobby. The staff are efficient and polite. They are all very helpful.

I have already booked again in two weeks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ALT Hotel Halifax Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALT Hotel Halifax Airport

Address: 40 Silver Dart Drive, Enfield, Nova Scotia B2T 1k2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Regional Municipality > Enfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Enfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ALT Hotel Halifax Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located next to Halifax Stanfield International Airport, the hotel is well connected by a covered pedestrian walkway. Business and leisure travellers will find excellent accommodation, impeccable design and cozy comfort at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your ALT Hotel Halifax Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ALT Hotel Halifax Airport Enfield, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ALT Hotel Halifax Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.