We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food in Great surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rope Loft Dining Room

Rope Loft Dining Room
Water St, Chester, Nova Scotia, Canada
(902) 275-3430
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 14 Restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
County Donegal, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food in Great surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We visited this wonderful old pub on our way to Peggy's Cove on a beautiful sunny morning in September. It was busy- always a good sign - but we found a table on the decking overlooking the harbour ; the staff, although run off their feet, remained calm and cheerful and produced some very welcome drinks with only slight delay; the lunch was excellent, especially the seafood chowder which one of our party of 4 had; the fish was also excellent as was the Caesar salad. The inside of the pub was wonderfully atmospheric- although we just walked through , we could imagine great evenings of food , drink and bonhomie. The' washrooms' were named Buoys and Mermaids in tribute presumably to the seaside location - might I suggest Buoys and Gulls instead??!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    23
    9
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“halifax yachters don't no nuffing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

although we didn't have chowder (my mate jim again didn't come with us) we did enjoy our seafood - calamari, prawns in coconut, and more solomon grundy (who he? ed.) than a sane person could possibly eat. my mate jim's wife sue (who is also my sister, and made up the fourth person in our party) had guiness pie with a crust to rival Mars. all the locals liked my pa. all we can say to those people who don't like the rope loft is hoopla hoopla.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Absolute best haddock Chowder ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our recent visit to the Rope Loft Dining Room started from us wanting to see Nova Scotia's oldest still operating commercial business as was described in a tourist brochure. However upon entering a server passed by with several bowels of seafood chowder that had our stomachs immediately growling. While normally a little early for a meal we decided to give the Haddock Seafood Chowder a try and Wow were we ever glad we did. Bowls brimming with Haddock, potatoes and onions in a light cream the menu said and what a wonderful meal that was. Coming from the West coast where seafood chowders are abundant I can say this was the best we have ever tasted. Our window seating over looked the harbour and we enjoyed our to food the sound an fury of a storm from the Atlantic while our friendly server helped us with questions about the locale and places to see. A memorable experience all around that left a warm glow in and out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, BC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Delicious food on a stormy day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were seeking any port in the tropical storm that hit the South Shore and came upon the Rope Loft pub. We scurried in and we were the only guests for lunch. At the server's recommendation, I ordered the seafood chowder and my husband had the fishcakes. The chowder was amazing--flavourful broth, lots of perfectly cooked shrimp, mussels, scallops and fish. My husband thoroughly enjoyed the fish cakes, accompanied by baked beans and chow. The pub felt cosy and warm, a retreat from the storm with great food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A perfect night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We ate outside with the sun starting to set...everything had a warm orange glow. Chester was celebrating Race Week and the place was full of boaters. There were yachts and sail boats everywhere you looked.The seafood chowder and a glass of wine was the perfect end to a perfect day! We highly recommend this charming seaside pub.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rope Loft Dining Room also viewed

Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Rope Loft Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rope Loft Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.