We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic little cafe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kiwi Cafe

The Kiwi Cafe
19 Pleasant St, Chester, Nova Scotia B0J 1J0, Canada
+1 902-275-1492
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, International, New Zealand
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
“What a fantastic little cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

What a surprise! We just happened upon this cafe while driving through Chester and ended up having the best coffee and lunch we had in Nova Scotia. A great location in the historic centre of Chester. Mthe atmosphere is really friendly, wifi is good, service great.

And it really is owned and managed by a Kiwi (New Zealander)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    24
    2
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lochcarron, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Cafe with good selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great cafe with good selection of food at a reasonable price. Well cooked and presented along with prompt and efficient service. Well worth the stop, I would return when next in the area. Perhaps the only disadvantage is parking can be difficult, so do take that into account for anyone with limited mobility

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“So, my brother in law is raving about the veggie burger.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I am prompted to write this review over a meal that me and my wife's family had when they were visiting recently.
My brother in law is a vegetarian and gets mixed results when dining out. Not so at the Kiwi though. He ordered the veggie burger and has been raving about it ever since. He said it was so fresh and tasty he was wondering about trying to worm the recipe out of the chef.
So vegetarian or not, your meal at the Kiwi is bound to please.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best food in Chester”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Although just open until mid-afternoon, The Kiwi Cafe all by itself is worth a visit to Chester. This was the third time for us to make a stop just to revel in the glorious seafood chowder.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwicafe1492, Owner at The Kiwi Cafe, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words, we are open until 5 pm daily, seven days a week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food, excellent service. If you are in the Chester area, this place is a must visit! Quite possibly the best breakfast burrito that I have ever had!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kiwi Cafe also viewed

Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to The Kiwi Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kiwi Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.