We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, affable hosts, relaxed atmosphere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gray Gables Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gray Gables Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Gray Gables Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
19 Graves Island Rd, Chester, Nova Scotia B0J 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Chester B&B and Inns
Longboat Key, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely setting, affable hosts, relaxed atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at Gray Gables for 4 nights and had a wonderful time! Jacqui & Dave, our hosts, give you as much (or as little) attention as you need - for us it was perfect! Lovely house with very comfortable room & bath - enjoyed the in-room jacuzzi and separate shower. Breakfasts were delicious & offered a choice of 3 entrees that changed daily - the guests just indicate their preferred time on the menu the night before...easy!

One dinner suggestion made by our hosts was to try the Golf Club - what a pleasant surprise! The restaurant is open to the public & the setting out overlooking Chester Bay is wonderful. We really enjoyed the fresh seafood & a homemade blueberry dessert.

All-in-all Gray Gables was a wonderful B&B to stay at in Chester & we will return!

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room if you are a light sleeper --- we were on the 2nd level & subjected to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
41
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My Mom and I stayed at Gray Gables for the week and we had a wonderful first experience staying in a bed and breakfast! As soon as we arrived at the house, we were warmly welcomed by Jacqui and shown around the house. The breakfasts tasted fabulous and the presentations were enviable. Jacqui gave us a few recommendations on where to go and what to see around Chester, and a few restaurants to eat at, and they were fantastic recommendations! It was also nice to relax in the hot tub after a full day of touring around.

Thank you, Jacqui, for the wonderful experience! You went above and beyond, and I really want you to know how special it was for my Mom and I! I highly recommend this beautiful treasure to everyone!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed at the Gray Gables Inn in early May 2012. Even though we were not so lucky with the weather the B&B was not to beat. :)
The place is really excellent and the nicest B&B we have ever stayed in.
The hosts Jacqui and Dave were super friendly and helpful.
The whole house and the guestrooms are exceptionally tasteful decorated and there is a cozy atmosphere that you really feel like at home ( we stayed in the Lighthouse room).
The Jacuzzi has a million dollar view as the area around Cherster is really beautiful.
The breakfast ist super tasty and plenty and decorated like in a five star hotel :)
You will not need anything until Diner time. The food recommendation for Diner was also very good.
The whole Chester area is anyhow one of the most beautiful spots in Nova Scotia.
We can just highly recommend this place and were really sad to leave.
When we are next in Nova Scotia we will 100% stay again in the Gray Gables Inn and preferrably even longer than this time.

Room Tip: Lighthouse room but all rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

By staying at Gray Gables in Chester, Nova Scotia, you are going to have just one problem. You won't want to leave!
Lovely big, comfy rooms with superb views. A beautiful house with plenty of places to relax and enjoy your leisure time.
Two brilliant hosts in Jacqui and Dave. So friendly and make you feel right at home
The breakfasts are just lovely. Plenty to eat and something different every day. Mega, warm home made muffins too.
So if you are thinking of staying in the Chester area, there really is no alternative. Go to Gray Gables, you really won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: There are three rooms. Choose according to your individual sleeping requirements. You'll love th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at Gray Gables on three different occaisions.Jaqui and Dave are incredible hosts. The rooms are spacious and very clean, each with it's own bathroom. You are not in want for anything. The whole atmosphere is very relaxing with a hot tub and fireplace. Very warm and cozy. The breakfasts were beyond delicious. Jaqui is an amazing cook and has a talent for meal presentation. The scenery is incredibly beautiful with a country feel and a beautiful view of the ocean . The town of Chester is very quaint. It was a very relaxing and pleasurable stay. We would highly recommend it to anyone.

Scott and Cathy Downey, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador

Room Tip: We stayed in the room on the main floor overlookng the ocean. Very peaceful and quiet. However, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

My mother and me had the luck to live during our stay in Chester at this fantastic place organised by great people! We stayed there for one week and had breakfast there every day, simply delicious and fresh and creative, and always changing a little bit. The rooms are big and on the first and second floor there are different sitting areas those can be used by every guest! Perfect! Thanks a lot, Ursula and Josef.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I recently came here with my husband and we had a wonderful stay. The hostess was beyond helpful! The house is spotless, the food was incredible and the view really is the greatest. I cant wait to come back again!

Room Tip: The mermaid room is quite delightful, I suggest this one for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gray Gables Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray Gables Bed and Breakfast

Address: 19 Graves Island Rd, Chester, Nova Scotia B0J 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Chester
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy our seaside getaway. A bed and breakfast experiences in Nova Scotia to remember!This spacious Cape Cod overlooks Majestic Mahone Bay and Graves Island Provincial Park. We offer the traveller a choice of three comfortable ocean view guest rooms. Centrally located 2 minutes from the Town of Chester on the Lighthouse Route of the South Shore. Many popular tourist destinations and attractions are within a leisurely 40 minutes or less. All Rooms include, Welcome Refreshments, Bath Robes and more...3 Beautiful oceanview rooms (Q,T), ensuite 4-pc bath. Full breakfast. Luxurious Cape Cod with large patio overlooking the ocean; picnic table. Close to beach, golf; 65 km to airport. Member: tians. Vs, mc.Open year-round ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gray Gables Bed And Breakfast Chester, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gray Gables Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.