We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely building but a little crumbly round the edges” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Normaway Inn & Cabins

Save Saved
You added The Normaway Inn & Cabins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Normaway Inn & Cabins
691 Egypt Rd., Box 10, Margaree Valley, Nova Scotia B0E 2C0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely building but a little crumbly round the edges”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spent one night at the Normaway Inn on a recent road trip round Nova Scotia. The Inn is in a beautiful and quiet location, with friendly staff and the historic building has some real charm. We stayed in one of the rooms in the main lodge, which was nicely furnished and had some really lovely period features. There is a communal lounge with books and magazines. Unfortunately, not all the period stuff was great and the room, especially bathroom could have done with a little renovation. The wallpaper had started peeling in places and there were some rusty screws (the sharp ends) coming out of the wall next to the doorframe where something had been fixed to the other side of the wall. There was no TV or wifi, which didn't bother us, but might not be right for everyone. We got a great half price deal by booking through the Tourist Information point, but if I had paid the full rate I think I would have felt that I would have been overcharged quite a bit, hence the avarage overall rating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    43
    15
    12
    12
See reviews for
33
89
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I recommend the Normaway Inn. We stayed in room 3 with 2 large windows overlooking a pasture of playful horses and the lush vegetable gardens. Nightly live entertainment was a local musician with a fiddle or guitar and fun songs and laughter. The owners and their extended family took wonderful care of us and fed us very well. We especially liked staying here and using the place as our "home base" while we drove and hiked all over Cape Breton then returned to a warm cozy bed. For a reduced rate on almost all B&B's and Inns be sure to book your lodgings through the Visitor Center near the Canso Causeway.

Room Tip: Don't know anything about their cabins but room 3 in their Inn was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, MD
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Were it not for the Normaway Inn’s indifferent concern for something we left behind after two quite lovely nights there, we’d give the place five stars. In a rush, we forgot an $80 laptop computer cord under the desk of our room. We called a day later, heard it had been retrieved and were assured it would be sent to us promptly at our expense. Hearing nothing further a few days later, we emailed the innkeeper, who said he had the cord and would send it right off. Now, a week later, our computer is still down. Mea culpa for forgetting the cord, but it seems reasonable to expect better service from such an otherwise responsive business.

That said, what a pleasant, relaxed and unpretentious retreat this is, with timeless structures of white clapboard with green trim situated on 200-some acres just off the Cabot Trail on Nova Scotia’s Cape Breton Island. Nearing the end of a breathtaking five-day counter-clockwise drive along the trail, we entered an alley of pines, not unlike the poplars lining approaches to Loire chateaux if less haughty. Horses graze on the grounds, near the inn’s fifteen pine cabins and one with three suites. The inn offers an exquisite setting for hiking and for fishing in the salmon-packed Margaree River and not far—surprisingly enough for an area so far in the north--from secluded, uncrowded beaches warm enough for swimming in July and August. The Normaway also rents well-maintained mountain bikes.

The cabins, though lacking kitchens and air conditioning and dated in decor, offer seclusion and spaciousness, usually plenty big enough for a family of four or more and some come with porches and Jacuzzis. But the three big corner rooms on the first floor—numbers 1, 2 and 3, which cost around $200 a night--are the better choice for a couple. With a highly polished wood floor, a well-fitted window air conditioner, an old claw-foot bathtub with a shower, and the best of reproduction antique dressers, seating, desks and beds, our room, No. 2, readily met the standard of the best bread & breakfasts. Five rooms on the second floor are similarly attractive, but tucked within the inn’s gables, they are small, cramped and dark.

The Normaway Inn also has a restaurant that it makes some effort to encourage guests to use. It is not a hard sell: Adequate restaurants off the premises are 15 and more minutes away. But the cooking, in spite of an uninspired, largely seafood-focused menu, is quite good. From the window of Room No. 2, we saw why. In the back of the inn, we spotted the chef making frequent visits to his garden there, nursing his vegetables and selecting those for his guests.

To make much of the inn’s relaxed response to our need for the computer cord might border on petty. For five stars, however, we would expect something more for an otherwise most welcoming visit.

Room Tip: 1, 2 or 3 in the inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Pond , Nova Scotia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Recently stayed at the Normaway's Green Cabins with my In-laws. Cabins are rustic but clean, in general good repair except our inner cabin door did not lock. The cabins have a door to the screened in porch then double inner doors, the outer one did lock however it's just screen windows on both sides and the screen was pulled away by the door, easy to reach in and unlock. Carrying our stuff with us each day was a bit of a pain, but overall we enjoyed the trip. The property was so quiet and peaceful, great for the mind. Plenty of wood was provided for a fire, which we took advantage of in the outdoor pit. Beds were soft and comfy, and we all slept well after all the fresh air and peace of the property! Breakfast in the Inn was hardy and tasty and a great start to the day. I plan on coming back in the fall!

Room Tip: The double Green Cabins are fine for two couples travelling although the beds are in the same room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I had a lovely two-night stay at the Normaway Inn. I chose to stay in a large corner room in the Inn itself. Upon arrival I received a welcoming greeting and was provided with information on the in-house musical line-up and local events and walking trails. Check-in was very easy and efficient.

My room was clean and had lots of space. The owners have maintain many of the original fixtures. I did pack for hot summer weather and was surprised at how cold my room was in the mornings and evenings!

Live performances by musicians during both evenings were a welcome treat in the main lodge living room. Although I retired early, I enjoyed listening from my room.

I enjoyed breakfast in the morning the 2nd day - Eggs "Hughie D" while watching their beautiful horses run around in the field. The food and service were excellent. I was not told, however, when I checked-in that breakfast was included with my room price - if you don't know you should ask.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay at the Inn and would stay there again if visiting the area.

Room Tip: My corner room was very spacious with a queen-sized bed and small pull-out sofa; however, may not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I came here with a group of 14 men golfers. The owner Dave MacDonald greeted us when we arrived. He had opened a week early to accommodate us. Some of the cabins weren't quite ready so a few of us stayed down the road which was fine. Dave is a great host and fun to speak with if you get the chance. The cabins are rustic but totally acceptable. There are times when it is nice not to have your 60 inch flat screen. There is wi-fi if you need it. The chef comes from New York and prepares an excellent choice of meals. One night we had a singer come and entertain us. We were all singing and having a grand old time. For me it was just a fun experience, interesting host and excellent food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a nice time staying at Normaway- we chose to stay in a cabin. It had a comfortable bed, a swinging chair in the covered porch and a nice jacuzzi tub, along with a wood stove and bathroom. The hosts were wonderful and very helpful when assisting us with plans for the remainder of our stay in the area. The breakfast was awesome- get the porridge bread if you enjoy homemade bread! Also, while here, we attended a fiddlers concert in the big red barn and it brought out quite a large crowd. It was well worth out time! We would recommend it to anyone looking for a rustic experience in the woods!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Normaway Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Normaway Inn & Cabins

Address: 691 Egypt Rd., Box 10, Margaree Valley, Nova Scotia B0E 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Margaree Valley
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty lodging in Margaree Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Normaway Inn & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Normaway Inn & Cabins Hotel Margaree Valley
The Normaway Inn And Cabins
The Normaway Inn & Cabins Margaree Valley, Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Normaway Inn & Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.