We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet country ambience yet very well located for the many attractions of Cape Breton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laurel's Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mabou
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laurel's Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Laurel's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
4596 Highway 252 | RR 2, Mabou, Nova Scotia B0E 1X0, Canada (Formerly Witsend Farm B&B)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Mabou B&B and Inns
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Quiet country ambience yet very well located for the many attractions of Cape Breton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Laurel's B&B is a five minute drive from Mabou and is ideally situated for exploring Inverness County and the rest of Cape Breton.
Laurel's casual and gracious hospitality is perfectly suited to her light filled home that oozes with country charm. Our large bedroom and ensuite bathroom were spotlessly clean, airy and well appointed. Her fabulous and nutritious breakfasts were accompanied by intelligent and insightful commentary on the culture of the island often giving us nuggets of information that we would otherwise have missed. Laurel's brother and wife were visiting during our stay - the story telling, familial bantering added a whole new level of fun and entertainment to our stay. Try and time your visit for their next return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel B, Owner at Laurel's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Ian and Catherine, you were wonderful guests! Your graciousness and humour stood you in good stead, making you both honorary members of the family. Thank you, again, and best wishes!
Fondly, Laurel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    0
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. Laurel was very pleasant and an excellent hostess. Hector, Tigger and Roo (canine and feline greeting committee) were good hosts and hostesses as well. The room was spacious and clean, the private bathroom was great as well.

We really enjoyed our breakfast in the morning as well, very well prepared and incredibly tasty. Great conversation in the morning as well, Laurel is really funny.

We had an excellent time and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel B, General Manager at Laurel's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
You were wonderful guests, and I enjoyed our conversation at breakfast. Thanks for taking time to submit your review. Cheers! Laurel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Host is Laurel.....a lovely lady, a great cook and baker extraordinaire, incredibly knowledgeable about local history and area, a fab conversationalist, superb singing voice, generously flexible in all arrangements, a breakfast spread every day that's different and all home cooked from fresh local ingredients..... A home away from home. We stayed 6 nights... and enjoyed each of the rooms at Laurel's - one with 4 poster bed and large en suite, the other with a big bed and bathroom just outside. Lovely bedding and very comfy mattresses. Lovely deck to sit on, fast fast wifi, Hector the dog, Tigger and Roo the cats....it may be a few minutes drive out of Mabou but I can't believe a better B&B exists...Faultless.

Room Tip: If you prefer a bath choose the ensuite room. If you prefer a shower choose the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel B, Owner at Laurel's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
C & D, you have been excellent guests. I enjoyed being your host, and look forward to seeing you again, soon! Beannach Leibh!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A charming home nestled on a hillside field surrounded by an abundance of cultivated and wild flowers. Laurel was a very special host, cooking delicious, locally-grown breakfasts. Because she is very much a part of the local scene, she was a great guide to the rich selection of music, hiking and other activities. A very clean B&B with a wonderful feel of home, including the well-behaved cats and dog. 5 nights wasn't enough! Thank you Laura.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel B, Owner at Laurel's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you, Sue and Chris! It was lovely to be your host!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

When the Glendyer was full., the innkeeper recommended Laurel's and are we ever glad they did. She is a couple miles out of town, directly across a little bridge from the Bellesmeade Farm. she has two lovely rooms that are exceptionally clean, maintained, furnished, and comfortable. Pretty much what you find at a high quality B & B. The best, though, is getting to know Laurel who really knows the area and takes time to help you find local music and a great match for all your interests. Right up there is her breakfast--she uses local and organic ingredients and makes an outstanding meal. Trust me-- you will be very glad you stayed here (and the price is sure right!) Thanks, Laurel--we will be back.

Room Tip: How to choose a good room? Don't stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel B, Owner at Laurel's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Once again, thank you for you kind words and your encouragement. I hope to see you again.
Safe travels, and best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misenheimer, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have been to Mabou many times over the last 7 years. It is our favorite small village in Cape Breton. We love dining at the Red Shoe Pub which always has live music and The Mull restaurant. But Laurel's is defninitely our favorite place so lodge. It is very clean and tidy. There were spectacular landscapes out of every window. It was very close to Mabou, all the dances,celidhs and several trails. It was comfortable on so many levels. It was so quiet and peaceful that we almost didn't want to get out of bed. Our breakfasts were varied but all homemade down to the strawberry jam. She always had my tea ready for me when I came down in the morning and was sensitive to our dietary requirements. She seemed to anticipate our needs. She also allowed us to play music on her piano in the front room. Laurel is a warm and gracious host. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel B, Owner at Laurel's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! I enjoyed sharing my home with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Laurel's on our first night in Cape Breton and it set a high standard for the rest of our trip. The home is beautiful and our room was large and tastefully furnished with a big bathroom ensuite. In addition, Laurel was a wonderful hostess with an irresistible dog named Hector. She is also a talented chef incorporating home-made breads and produce from local farms that was perfect for our vegetarian preferences. She provided spot-on advice for local entertainment and outings. Couldn't imagine going back to the area without staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel B, Owner at Laurel's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
It was my pleasure to be your B&B host. You made my "job" very easy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laurel's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4596 Highway 252 | RR 2, Mabou, Nova Scotia B0E 1X0, Canada (Formerly Witsend Farm B&B)
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Mabou
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mabou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Ceilidh Trail,Cape Breton's sunset coast, Laurel's Bed and Breakfast is a beautifully restored 1880s home, set far back from the road.(rte. 252) Laurel's is just minutes from the heart of Mabou village, the cultural soul of Inverness County. Guests enjoy a full organic breakfast with espresso, coffee, tea, and food gathered from the garden and from local farms. Take a short drive to the stunning West Mabou beach for swimming, hiking, and photography. Celtic Shores Coastal Trail is your choice for a bike ride or a long walk. Enjoy kayaking and canoeing nearby on the Mabou and Mull rivers. On Sunday mornings, visit the Mabou Farmer's Market where you will find local foods, fine crafts and prepared meals. The famous Red Shoe Pub and the Glenora Distillery offer fine food and live music day and night. Enjoy stories, conversations, and culture like nothing you will find anywhere else. Laurel's is an LGBT-welcoming Bed & Breakfast ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laurel's Bed And Breakfast Mabou, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laurel's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.