We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A walk in red shoes to remember!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clayton Farm Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mabou
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clayton Farm Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Clayton Farm Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
11247 Hwy. 19, Mabou, Nova Scotia, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Mabou B&B and Inns
Oldenburg, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A walk in red shoes to remember!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Travelling around on Cape Breton Island I had actually just stopped in Mabou for lunch at the Red Shoes Pub. Well, to cut a long story short: Only god knows why, but at night time I was walking through the Pubs door the third time … and I met somebody there whose name is Isaac! … A really open-minded, positive, bright and candy person… and an excellent dancer.

Together with Isaac and his great Canadian guests Marilyn, Melissa and Herman I spent an (what I would definitely call) unforgettable night with lots of laughter, dancing and wine. Luckily I got the chance to stay at Isaac’s farm that night.

Clayton farm B & B in every way reflects the lifestyle and the attitude of his owner. It’s not only a nice accommodation. It’s one of those rare magic, special places; it’s a place to remember! And it’s definitely a place to come back to.

By the way, don’t forget to walk in your red shoes. Before getting one of the charming rooms upstairs to stay, you have to do a step dance on the kitchen floor first - reviewed by Chipy. Just kidding….

So long!
Heike

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
15
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were looking for a quiet unique farm B&B experience, and we certainly got it! Loved the old house, the cows and the setting. Yes, Isaac was out at night, but he told us what to expect and I love how "open doors" and casual it was (I'm glad he has a life!).

loved our blue room, and the shared bathrooms were absolutely fine. Delicious breakfast in the morning, and had a great chat with a family also staying that night.

loved the cat, and the old-style charm, lots to read and learn from this historic house!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We booked this b and b after reading other glowing reviews. We arrived about 5pm to an empty house. After looking around we spotted a note taped to a window saying that the owner was away, but would return the next morning. Our key was left on the kitchen table and the note also instructed anyone else that might arrive to select an empty room. Our room which was nicely furnished, similar to other maritime b and bs. 4 rooms shared 2 full bathrooms. The bathrooms were clean but there was an odd assortment of leftover shampoos, conditioners, lotions and toothpastes left from previous guests and 1 shared bar of soap. At about 10 pm we turned off the lights, shut the doors and went to bed. We weren't sure whether or not to let the cats in or out. Kathy was there in the morning and served a nice continental breakfast. She was very nice and shared some information about the area. Isaac had still not arrived. When we returned that evening there was still no host but, a full house of guests. We left after breakfast the next day without meeting the host. When booking accommodations I look not only at the facilities but at what makes the place special. Having to caretake the house for the evening was not what I had in mind.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Clayton Farm's proprietor, Isaac Smith, is an unassuming, charming, self-effacing farmer who was born just a couple miles away from the farm that he and his wife turned into a BnB decades ago. The farm has been in his family five generations, and the BnB reflects that history in the random sepia photos of his relations, the great old books on every shelf and table, and all the truly authentic knick-knacks, old magazines, drawings, photos, and items that reflect this ceilidh area of Cape Breton.

The wooden steps are worn, but the bathrooms are brand new. The windows and doors are open and the fresh breeze blows through the huge old house from front to back. The farm cats, Red and Chippy, are friendly, fat, soft and purry! The huge red angus herd is loud and curious and gentle, which you'll find out if you take a walk through Isaac's back pastures to the sea. Ever seen a cow graze on seaweed? Believe it! Oh! Get to the farm before dark so you can go see sunset over Mabou Harbor. Just an amazing place.

Isaac has a way with words, is a good story-teller, and knows Mabou and its countryside like few others you could ever meet. If you're lucky, he'll head off to the Shoe the same time you do for a meal and an ale while the villagers jam on the fiddle, piano, guitar, and bagpipe. If you want a place on the Ceilidh Trail, talk to Isaac.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

My husband & I and our friend stayed at Clayton Farms which was our first experience staying at a farm B & B. We enjoyed it immensely. The farm house is like a living museum full of interesting antiques beautifully laid out. Isaac is a warm man who has many stories to tell of his family's history. His red Angus cattle are lovely & the setting is very peaceful. You do have to go up a long stair case to get to the 4 bedrooms & there are 2 bathrooms that are shared. Kathy who comes in to do the cooking does a great home cooked breakfast. We all sat around the kitchen table & shared experiences. The location is close to the town of Mabou & not out of the way but you get to have an authentic farm experience for those who might enjoy this

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

I've never stayed on a farm B & B before, and it was a fun experience. Everything stated in the other reviews is true--our friendly host Isaac was very interesting to talk to and we loved wandering around the farm, looking at all the cattle and playing with the cats. The accommodations were very nice--a very large and clean room, tastefully decorated in country B & B style. Four rooms share 2 bathrooms (there was not a sink in our room as you sometimes find in B & B's)--it was not a problem--it truly is living in a very old, well kept farmhouse. The breakfast was absolutely wonderful, especially the homemade granola and rhubarb jam! My husband and I really enjoyed a unique stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Our host, Isaac Smith, is a fine Innkeeper: warm, friendly, and attentive to the needs of his guests. Located on a working farm, the B&B is a large home that has been in Mr. Smith's family for generations. The accomodations are spacious, immaculate and tastefully decorated. Clayton Farm offers an extremely tranquil setting, if that is your reason for visiting the West Coast of CBI, while Mabou is the home of the region's reknown Scots/Irish musicians. Isaac is an accomplished cattle breeder and happily encourages guests to visit his barns, corrals and feedlots. He also is a wellspring of local knowledge, which we found quite fascinating. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clayton Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Farm Bed & Breakfast

Address: 11247 Hwy. 19, Mabou, Nova Scotia, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Mabou
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mabou
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Clayton Farm Bed & Breakfast Mabou, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clayton Farm Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.