We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique place and lovely setting!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenora Inn & Distillery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mabou
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenora Inn & Distillery
Save
You added Glenora Inn & Distillery to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   Route 19 / Ceilidh Trail, Mabou, Nova Scotia B0E 1X0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Mabou B&B and Inns
Smith Mountain Lake, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A unique place and lovely setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

This is one of the neatest places we've stayed in on Cape Breton, Nova Scotia. We had the nicest little 2-bdrm chalet (only 1 of 6) on the hill above the only single malt scotch distillery in North America. We had a wonderful large 2-person hot tub, cute little kitchen with micro, 2-burner cooktop, small fridge, basic dishes and utenstils. Super comfy loft upstairs with double bed. Nice little deck overlooking the gorgeous valley and farms in the area with western sunset view. Our meal at the restaurant was one of the very best on this trip, too! Lovely staff, too. A bit pricey for some, perhaps, but we were willing to spend a bit more to stay here. Tours of the distillery are on the half hour daily...good scotch, too! The grounds were also just beautiful, even in the autumn.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    55
    24
    7
    8
See reviews for
17
92
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Picked Glenora more on the idea of the Distillery/Inn concept than anything else. The room was pretty basic, big comfy bed, seating area..not much of a view of anything but woods and a surprising amount of cable TV stations. The "Inn" portion was pretty basic accomodations, but what really sold this place was the "Distillery" portion of the equation. We did the Distillery tour the next morning (nice to start the day with a shot of Whisky at 10:00 a.m.) and it was short, but very interesting (We've been to many a winery tour, but never a whisky). Also, the restaurant was very good and offered a bit more creative cuisine than most of our NS/NB dinners, and incorporated the Glen Breton Rare into several of them. Also, after dinner we retired to the bar and listened to Pius MacIssac and a father/daughther fiddle team (I'm embarrassed I can't remember their names, but they are from the Margaree Valley and were very enjoyable) and had a coupld more glasses of the Glen Breton Rare. The Ceilidh(?) music was very enjoyable and really fit the location. For pure hotel accomodations, Glenora might not be the best choice for the dollar, but add the distillery and the restaurant and the live music at the bar and it makes a super overall package. Further, if your not interested in touring the distillery, i don't know why you'd want to stay here, but if you are interested in the mechanism behind the whisky, plus a great meal and some good live music and drink, this would be the place to be.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverbank ,NS
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

My husband and I along with two other couples went to Glenora Inn and Distillery for a night just to get away and relax. We had the best time possible. The staff and the atmosphere off the Inn is by far the most wonderful I have ever been to. Taking a night or two just to relax this is the place you want to go. We are already planning our trip for next October. Thank you Bob & Sandra for a very plesant stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

we stayed here for one night and enjoyed it. we stayed in one of the cabins on the hill and it was very comfortable and roomy. it was clean and had a jacuzzi tub, kitchen, loft w/bedroom and a nice view in the morning. i found it to be a bit pricey but well worth the stop as the distillery experience was fun and the bar at night had a nice Irish session that went on fairly late as we had heard the bar can close at 9pm some nights. glenora inn is very unique place to stay for the night when you're setting out on the Cabot Trail.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

We recently travelled her with 3 other couples on a motorcycle trip of Nova Scotia. I had found this Inn while searching on-line. Sounded intriguing. My husband is also a Scotch lover. After a long day on the Cabot Trail we arrived a bit late and the resturant stayed open for us so we could have our dinner. The meal was excellent. Much appreciated after a long day on the bike. We stayed in the chalets up on the hill. A bit of a hike after dinner but good exercise after a good meal. One of the couples was given a ride up the hill by the bartender - so kind!! We did a scotch tasting, unfortunately could not do the tour as we had to leave early next morning. Our only regret is that we did not have more time to enjoy the Innand take the tour. The Inn is quite isolated, but truly beautiful. Highly recommended!!!

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

This is a unique place to stay and we would definately stay there again. We arrived late, just in time to enjoy Celtic music and a drink in the Pub. We stayed in the rooms attached to the pub, which were fine for our needs. Kids enjoyed playing on the property behind the rooms. Nice tour of the distillery in the morning, including a 9AM sampling of single malt whiskey!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

We visited the Inn & Distillery on a whim, on short notice in the off-season. In fact, they weren't really "open" but because we were so enthusiastic, they accommodated us on a week night and could not have been friendlier, more helpful or more hospitable.

We can't comment on the bar or the restaurant as neither were open but we were given a wonderful tour by a very knowledgeable guide (Terry) and were made to feel very welcome.

The distillery, the setting and the buildings are great. The rooms are a bit disappointing, only because I was expecting something with a bit more "character" (we stayed in the main building, as opposed to a chalet) - we could have been in a Holiday Inn.

And even though it was early in year, I certainly did not think anything looked "tired" or "run-down" as other reviewers have said. I didn't take photos of our room but have included photos here of the building and grounds.

This is a unique property and if you're in this part of the country you should definitely visit, even if you're not a whiskey drinker!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenora Inn & Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenora Inn & Distillery

Address: Route 19 / Ceilidh Trail, Mabou, Nova Scotia B0E 1X0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Mabou
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mabou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glenora Inn & Distillery 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Glenora Inn & Distillery Hotel Cape Breton Island
Glenora Inn And Distillery
Glenora Inn & Distillery Mabou, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenora Inn & Distillery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.