We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Shoe Pub

The Red Shoe Pub
11573 Route 19 | Box 94, Mabou, Nova Scotia, Canada
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Mabou
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We stumbled accross this place this past Saturday, which was the day after it had opened for the season. They are only open from June until October. It is very quaint, and it has the very best seafood chowder of anyplace we found in Nova Scotia or PEI. The waiter was super nice to our group, and honest in admitting he had only started the day before, and hadn't tried all the items on the menu yet. He went back to the chef on a couple of occasions to ask if he could change a menu item for us (which they did), and was very attentive to our lunchtime needs. This is a really good restaurant and should be added to Trip Advisor. Thanks, John Ward Smith
Ottawa, On
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

It's the place to be for an authentic East Coast experience and hospitality. The pub food is great and the entertainment was outstanding.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    82
    27
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middleton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a Kitchen Party!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

First time visiting Cape Breton Island. Spend the night in Mabou, Heard so many great comments about "the Red Shoe". So we had to check it out...... what an awesome little pub. People were friendly, staff was awesome, entertainment was amazing and the food was delicious. We stayed til midnight, just one big good old kitchen party!!!!!! Can't wait to return next year!!!
PS, It's truly a small world, no matter where you go, you always meet up with someone who knows someone you know........

Nova Scotians Burton and Sandra Zwicker

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful little place in Mabou Cape Breton!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This pub is owned by the famous Rankin family sisters and is located in Mabou. Have always wanted to go there and was glad we made the two hour trip. It was definately worth it. The waitress was friendly , the place was busy , but we were served promptly. The meal was served a short time after we placed our order. Not a long wait at all. I had the fish and chips and my spouse had the spicy chicken sandwich. He said it was the best he has ever tasted. We will definately return again but next time after 4 pm which is when they serve the dinner menue. Our dessert was warm gingerbread with butturscotch sauce and whipped cream. It was big enough to share.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Famous place!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We heard a lot about this place before getting there for lunch. The help staff was excellent, the room airy and clean. The soup was good and the sandwich so-so. Husband and I had the same thing so nothing to compare. We hope to go back and try again in a few days. Maybe then it will be better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Loved the Red Shoe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

What a great pub. We both ordered the scallops dish, and loved it ! Great food. Good music. The gentleman that played the spoons was a real treat ! Loved our evening at the Red Shoe

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Shoe Pub also viewed

Margaree Valley, Cape Breton Island
Mabou, Cape Breton Island
 
North Sydney, Cape Breton Island
Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 

Been to The Red Shoe Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Shoe Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.