We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to Cape Breton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mabou River Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mabou
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mabou River Inn
Save
You added Mabou River Inn to your Saves list
19 Southwest Ridge Rd, Mabou, Nova Scotia B0E 1X0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Mabou B&B and Inns
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great start to Cape Breton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We spent a very comfortable night at the Mabou River Inn before touring the island. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast included freshly baked biscuits. The Inn is in a good location away from the main road and is in Mabou not too far from the beginning of the Ceilidh Trail. The room was large, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom spacious, clean and functional. Overall we thought the Inn provided good value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    32
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
67
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Such a find! Great place to stay and they were very nice to us! They had very few rooms open as the "season" had not yet started- but accommodated us in a lovely room! Onsite pizza kitchen was a plus!
View from room of yard- etc was really pretty!!!
Owner was a sweetheart- obviously loves what he does and makes darn good cinnamon rolls!
You will enjoy it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel had closed the bedrooms for the winter on the day we were there so we weren't able to stay. Next time in the area we will certainly stay here. It is a tiny bit pricey but well worth it when compared to the alternatives. The owner was very helpful about finding us a place to stay further along the road. Based on what we say the hotel looked smart and clean. The dining room looked very inviting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finch, Ontario, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

What a beautiful, pleasant , enjoyable inn, with a touch of good old country charm.It was so comfortable and very clean. The beds were like sleeping on a cloud. The washroom in our room was so clean with lots of room. Their breakfest was so good, with homemade cinnamon rolls, that melt in your mouth. The hosts were so accommodating and helpful.. Thank you so much for such a lovey stay. Even though it has been over 40 years since our last visit to Mabou, you help us fall in love with this picturesque town all over again. we will Definitely be back.. but this time it will be for pleasure. Thanks for the wonderful Hospitality and making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: We had family and friends stay at this inn for a funeral. We booked it for only one night and then w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, On
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Inn is a perfect place to stay. We stayed in room #2, which had a king size bed, a complete bathroom, flat screen TV and is very clean. The surroundings are quiet and is conducive to a good night sleep but the best surprise is the breakfast. The owner David is up early and making fresh cinnamon buns, tea biscuits etc. David is a fabulous host and is very keen to make sure you stay in Mabou is memorable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was a perfect place for us to stay. We also visited the Glenora Distillery and the Red Shoe Pub and both those places were very close to the Mabou River Inn. Our basement suite was clean and comfortable. Our friend was unwell while we were there so the one bathroom was a bit difficult but we managed okay. Breakfast in the morning was fine for us, and we had a kitchen to use so were able to make coffee and tea early in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops British Columbia Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This inn in Mabou is a quirky place, apparently once a private school. Our bedroom was comfortable, the beds were wonderful, and it looks like it was re-done very recently. Everything was immaculate. The quirk was having our bathroom, although exclusive to us, across the hall. The hosts were lovely and helpful with local information. The public rooms were beautiful, with antique furniture and bright windows. The complimentary breakfast was so good that we talked about it for the rest of the day. I would stay again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs. The downstairs rooms had ceilings that were a bit low.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mabou River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabou River Inn

Address: 19 Southwest Ridge Rd, Mabou, Nova Scotia B0E 1X0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Mabou
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mabou
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Mabou River Hotel Mabou
Mabou River Inn Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mabou River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.