We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates to your Saves list
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
15 Commercial Street Extension, Louisbourg, Nova Scotia B1C 2J4 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Louisbourg
Guysborough, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My husband and I were thrilled to have spent our 31st wedding anniversary at the "Point of View Suites." The staff were professional, friendly and accomodating. Our spacious room on the ground floor provided us with a breathtaking view of Louisburg Harbour and the Atlantic Ocean beyond. Why would one be concerned with decor on the wall? The most beautiful "work of art" is the beautiful and rugged landscape to be found outside the window. Our night was spent in a comfortable bed, with only the sound of the ocean. We so enjoyed the authentic experience of the "Beggar's Banquet," the food, music and atmosphere made for a lovely evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. We're honoured that you spent your 31st wedding anniversary with us. It's always a pleasure to be pert of a good memory. I totally agree with you about the beauty of the ocean with its vastness and lulling sounds. We love sharing this with our guests. We never tire of the sea's many moods.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    31
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
45
61
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I find it interesting to read the contrast in people's reviews. You never know what you will really find until you get there. I have seen both two star and five star reviews of this hotel and strictly speaking both are factual. We stayed in suite number 2. It is an end unit that has side windows next to the street light. Light does enter the room at night but not enough to disrupt sleeping. The beds are harder than others we have experienced but again we both slept fine. The floors are hardwood so it comes as no surprise that people could be heard walking overhead. That's why
we reserved a second floor suite. It's also true that they are sparsely decorated. But the units are clean, spacious , have a queen bed, sofa, tv perched on top of a small wardrobe, kitchen area and a balcony with a beautiful view. We also found the location to be quiet. Are they overpriced? Perhaps a little. We did stay in a comparably priced B&B in Baddeck that was just as beautifully situated and included breakfast. But if I ever return to Louisbourg, I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for the second floor, oceanside for the best views and quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for your detailed review. We appreciate the honesty of your words. No place can please every body. Our satisfaction rate speaks for itself. We here, at the Point of View Suites always do our best to ensure our guests quality of stay and comfort. If we fall short, we apologize.

The fact that you would return and stay with us again speaks volumes. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Thomas, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

If you're just looking for a place to crash, this is fine. The waterfront view is nothing special--just a stark patch of gravel before the water. The room was clean, but there wasn't even one picture on the walls. There was no Maritime "flavour" at all. Worst of all was the noise coming from next door--there is a rock-breaking factory there, heavy machinery moving around all the time. Breakfast wasn't included, either. I wouldn't go back, not when there are so many quaint B & B's to choose from.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed. We wish you would have shared your concerns while with us. We ask our guests as they check out if they are satisfied with their stay and if everything was alright. We received no complaints at that time.
The noise is beyond our control. It is new and temporary as they are finally demolishing the eye sore which was falling into ruins, next door, at the closed SNE fish plant. The workers do not start before eight am and are done by six pm. We're sorry if this was bothersome to you.
As for our ocean view the pictures posted by previous guests show the view clearly and they speak for themselves. We are the only ocean front property in Louisbourg and mother nature shares her beauty freely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our family stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed it. Beautiful view's knowledgeable staff, and very entertaining. Do not forget to partake in the Beggars Banquet. Thank you everyone who made our stay pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Your satisfaction shows us that we succeeded at our job. Thanks for the encouragement. I will pass it along to all the staff and the owners. Thanks so much for your review, we greatly appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in an Ocean View room. The view of the bay and fort from our room was truly fantastic, and the shore was easy to walk down to from the room. We were able to open 3 windows facing the water, which really made for a peaceful night sleeping to the sound of the waves crashing on shore. We actually enjoyed our stay here much more than at another famous Nova Scotia hotel, although Louisbourg as a town does not have much to offer beyond the fort itself.

One of the previous reviews mentioned a gravel road which gave me some pause. It turns out the hotel is right on the main road, and simply has a gravel parking lot. I wouldn't consider it out of the way at all, and in fact it is positioned right between the main part of town and the fort.

The only negative is their reservation system -- you have to do some combination of calling & emailing in the right order with some back and forth to make sure you get the right room. Maybe it was because I made the reservation early in spring before the hotel was open for their summer business.

Room Tip: Ocean View is well worth the added cost. Some rooms only have 1 window facing the ocean and some ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you so very much for your encouraging review. We sometimes need our efforts recognized and when they are we thrive to do even better. We know how important a vacation is to our guests and understand that we contribute to your experience. We truly want you to relax and enjoy what it is we have to offer. Your generous words have succeeded in showing us that you indeed left us satisfied with your stay. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We chose this place based on the reviews on trip advisor. Biggest mistake I have ever made. For $150 a night (and that was the government rate) we had a room with one queen bed and a sofa bed. The room was clean but that's the only nice thing I can say. The bed was rock hard, the light from outside was shining inside lighting up the entire room and we had the blinds closed. There was absolutely no sound proofing as from just before 6 am we could hear the heard of elephants upstairs stomping around. Not to mention the terrible wifi signal and the complete and total lack of air conditioning. The staff was pleasant but to be frank, this place isn't worth $100, even with the beautiful view. Don't expect to lay on their "private beach" as it's nothing but rocks and garbage. This is definitely a case of false advertisement.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
I would like to address your review point by point.. First of all, reviews on tripadvisor are written by guests such as yourself and they are not advertising purchased by establishments. We have no control on opinions our guests post on this or other sites. Our guest satisfaction ratings have put us #1 in our area for which we are extremely appreciative.
Most of our rooms have darkening blinds but unfortunately your room did not and for that I apologize. All of our beds are high quality commercial mattresses. Sorry you found it to firm.

Being as we have hardwood floors instead of carpeting we took every precaution in insulating between floor to the best of engineering abilities. Sorry that you were disturbed by noise. I also assure you, seeing as we have a no animal policy, that you did not have elephants above you.

We have three wifi stations on the property to serve every corner of the premises. Sorry you experienced a week signal.

We do not have air conditioners in our rooms. Being right on the Atlantic ocean we don't often need them. This summer is proof that they are not needed due to a colder and later summer than usual.

As for our beach, it is pebbly but we do have a nice sandy and private corner which has been enjoyed by many guests. Louisbourg also has a few nice beaches near by if ours was not satisfactory. As for garbage on the beach, we are not in control of what the ocean deposits on our property. We can only blame litterbugs for that dishonour.

I assure you that if you would have brought your concerns to our attention we would have done our best to insure your stay would have been more to your satisfaction. We are on the property 24/7 just for that purpose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We had not really researched places to stay in Louisbourg, but a cursory look through the hotel list and led us to pick this one.

What a great surprise! When we were greeted, our room was not ready but we were going to spend the day at the fortress and we got a discount coupon for admission charges. We also opted for the Beggar's Banquet (reviewed separately) as our dinner for the evening.

When we did check in, the room was very clean and spacious. Despite having to go to the main building for ice, everything was just great. All the staff we met were very friendly and a pleasure to deal with.

Highly recommend this inn - when we go back to Louisbourg, we will return here as well.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your great review. We're happy you found us and stayed with us. We look forward to serving you again. Thanks for the rave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates

Address: 15 Commercial Street Extension, Louisbourg, Nova Scotia B1C 2J4 , Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Louisbourg
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Louisbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Point of View is perched on the edge of a four acre peninsula that sweeps out to the magnificent Atlantic Ocean. As your hosts to this extraordinary property, we are proud to welcome you with a premier level of service and first-class amenities. We are the only accommodation property in Louisbourg with water frontage and private beach for your relaxation and recreation pleasures. Enjoy retiring at night and waking in the morning to the soothing sounds of the waves on our shore. We look forward to making your visit a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Of View Suites At Louisbourg Gates Hotel Louisbourg
Point Of View Suites At Louisbourg Gates Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.