We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location next to Fortress Louisbourg National Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates to your Saves list
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
15 Commercial Street Extension, Louisbourg, Nova Scotia B1C 2J4 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Louisbourg
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Convenient location next to Fortress Louisbourg National Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed at the Point of View Suites after visiting the Louisbourg National Park. It is within walking distance to the Park. Check in is at the office which is separate from the Suites. This location also has an RV Park. We were able to park right in front of our suite number. The suites are relatively new, very clean, and good size. We had a standard queen bed suite. It came with a fridge, coffee maker and small table to eat at. Sheets smelled and felt fresh which was good for a night's sleep. Bed was a little firm for me, used to a softer bed with a pillow top. Towels were comfortable, smelled fresh from the wash, good supply. We left early in the morning and did not have to worry until the office was open to check-out we were able to leave the key in the room as the doors automatically lock upon exit. They offer a dinner here and a breakfast, we did not eat here so can comment on the food but it is available. http://www.louisbourgpointofview.com/

Room Tip: Ask for a suite on the main level so you do not have to carry your suit cases to the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Point of View Suites. We are always rewarded when we hear that our guests have had a pleasant stay while with us. We hope that if there is a next time in our area, that you will partake of our 18 century dining experience. Again thank you for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    31
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
45
61
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here two nights on our honeymoon trip. Linda was a super sweet lady. She seemed to genuinely want us to have a great experience with them. She got us a bottle of champagne specifically for the occasion and it was waiting for us on ice when we arrived. We made ourselves a nice quiet dinner and had the champagne in our insuite kitchen. The champagne was delicious.

The rooms have everything you could need and are very clean and well maintained. The view from the balcony is amazing. It was so nice going to sleep listening to the ocean. I don't remember the last time I slept that well.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. You are absolutely right when you said that Linda is genuine in wanting her guests to totally enjoy themselves and have a positive experience while with us. We consider it an honour when folks opt to spend their precious vacations and special occasions with us. We are pleased that you made the Point of View a part of your honeymoon and that we were able to make it memorable. Good luck in your new life and thanks again for staying with us and for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed here for one night but could have spent a week. We had the ocean front cottage #8. It's an upstairs suite, beautiful, sunny and clean. Owners are obviously proud of the cottages. Everything is nice and neat. Had dinner in the dining room. A lovely meal served by very welcoming hosts. Morning coffee on the balcony was peaceful and quiet, with only the sounds of crashing waves on the beach. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Will definitely stay here again if we're back in NS. Thank you for being here!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We're glad you found us also. We take pride in all we have to offer our guests, including the ocean. We derive great pleasure when we have succeeded in making your stay a memorable one. We see the importance of one's vacation and feel that they deserve nothing less than our best. We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks for the nice review. It is encouraging indeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We found this hotel on tripadvisor while planning our road trip to the coast. This hotel certainly deserves the excellent rating it gets. We reserved a room and also tacked on the dinner option that they offered. The options are choices from their "Beggar's Banquet" which I understand is held daily through the summer months. It includes the salad, soup, dessert and your choice of lobster, snow crab, haddock or roasted chicken. We choose the lobster because we are rookies at dismembering and eating a whole lobster. Tom, the owner/operator introduced to our live lobsters and 20 minutes they were on our plates ready for eating. Julie, who took our reservation, checked us in to the hotel and served the dinner, was an excellent teacher for the eating techniques. We were even brave enough to try whole lobster again when we got back home.

I should mention the room we had. It was on the upper floor overlooking the water. It had a small balcony and the room was like a fully equipped studio apartment. And the bed was comfortable. At the time of our visit there was one other visitor because it was just before the high season started. It made it very pleasant for us.

We highly recommend this property. And thanks again to Julie.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We are happy that we could turn you into lobster experts. Thank you so much for the great review. It was a pleasure serving you at the Point of View. I will pass on the compliments to the rest of the staff and the owners. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Tis is the pace to stay if you really want the East Coast experience. This is a quaint little east coast spot with alot of heritage and a variety of cultural activities. Obviously the historic Louisbourg fort sits here and you will need almost a half day for that - they have plays and themed dinners at the fort and at other restaurants during the tourist season which doesn't begin until the End of June but the fort is open earlier then that in the year. The Suite is huge and comes complete with cooking facilities balcony to enjoy your morning coffee on as you sit and watch the waves roll in. It is delightful here and I recommend it, while heartedly.

Room Tip: I stayed in an upper suite - no elevator but its ok I did the stairs with a heavy suitcase no proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your ocean front accommodations. We are the only establishment in Louisbourg who could provide this for our guests. It pleases us to share the tranquility and the music of the Atlantic. Seeing the historical fortress of Louisbourg from your room does give you a sense of being there if only in your imagination.
We excel on reviews such as this. We thrive to work harder to ensure all our guests have a positive and memorable experience. We encourage those who come through our doors to explore Louisbourg and our surrounding areas. Thanks again for the beautiful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed one night, Friday, June 7, 2013. Nice room on the upper level. Small deck could use some re-staining, but otherwise in good shape. Rails too high to sit and enjoy the view. Understand the safety factor, but then clear railing should be used to enhance the view. Restaurant done in period theme, and food was tasty. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment. We enjoyed having you here with us and appreciate your recommendations on how to rectify the poor visibility from our balconies. I'm sure you will see improvement in the future. We, here at the Point of View take pride in our service and find delight in your satisfaction. Thanks again for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Louisbourg, NS is a magical place and Point of View Suites is the ideal place to stay when visiting this town and the nearby fort. Linda, her husband, and the Point of View staff accommodated us in spectacular fashion, overcoming unforeseen obstacles to make sure we had a fantastic lobster supper - one of the highlights of our Nova Scotia holiday. We were served a multi-course homemade meal in an atmosphere that made us feel like we had been invited into someone's home. Linda is happy to share her wealth of information about the history of Louisbourg and is a wonderful ambassador for the town, the fort, Cape Breton and the province of Nova Scotia. Next time we'll visit during peak tourist season and take part in the Beggars' Banquet that Point of View hosts during July and August.
- Hugh and Lianne MacGregor, Chapel Hill, North Carolina

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you so very much for the encouraging and flatering review. Our efforts are well rewarded when we hear that our guests have been satisfied. You are indeed worthy of our best. It is why we work hard and will continue to do so to ensure that all who come to share their precious vacations with us will come away with a positive experience which will stay with them for many years. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates

Address: 15 Commercial Street Extension, Louisbourg, Nova Scotia B1C 2J4 , Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Louisbourg
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Louisbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Point of View is perched on the edge of a four acre peninsula that sweeps out to the magnificent Atlantic Ocean. As your hosts to this extraordinary property, we are proud to welcome you with a premier level of service and first-class amenities. We are the only accommodation property in Louisbourg with water frontage and private beach for your relaxation and recreation pleasures. Enjoy retiring at night and waking in the morning to the soothing sounds of the waves on our shore. We look forward to making your visit a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Of View Suites At Louisbourg Gates Hotel Louisbourg
Point Of View Suites At Louisbourg Gates Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.