We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice warm water” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kennington Cove Beach

Kennington Cove Beach
Kennington Cove Road, Louisbourg, Nova Scotia, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 7 Attractions in Louisbourg
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice warm water”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The swimming here is wonderful. The fresh, warm water from the river mixes with the cold salt water of the atlantic to create a fantastic swimming experience. Nice enough beach...a little rocky and there is a climb up to the parking. You can see the fort in the distance.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“One of the best beaches in the Maritimes.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The trick is to drive right past the first beach and go to the 2nd beach. Amazing waves, clean, clear water and loads of fun. This beach is not well known- even to Cape Bretoners so enjoy the solitutde!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nova scotia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“nice little beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

After visiting the fortress we took a drive past the fortress to Kennington Cove Beach and it was very nice . It is a cute little beach and a great place on a hot day to take a stroll and walk your dog . I believe if you know the area you can drive to an even nicer beach below this one . Watch out for the jelly fish though .

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You Gotta Swim Here!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I loved the waves, holy jeez!! they were amazing. Our family had so much fun, bbq, sun tanning, children digging and burying each other in the sand. Awesome. Little tricky to get down to the first beach, but the second one was great, stone stairs no wheel chair access though that would pose a problem for someone who need assistance and no life guard on duty at either beach. We still had a blast anyway!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Another interesting Captain Cook site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My partner and I visited this beach in July 2013. The weather was overcast and a little cold so we didn't see it at its best. My interest in Captain James Cook was the primary reason for our visit. It was on this beach that James Cook learnt to use the plane table, a surveying instrument that enabled accurate marine charting, a discovery that was to transform his life. Cook used this skill in his future navel career to chart many coastlines around the world including Newfoundland, New Zealand and the east coast of Australia.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kennington Cove Beach also viewed

Louisbourg, Cape Breton Island
 
Dingwall, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Kennington Cove Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kennington Cove Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.