We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty cool experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site

Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site
58 Wolfe Street, Louisbourg, Nova Scotia B1C 2L2, Canada
902 733 3552
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Attractions in Louisbourg
Type: Historic Sites, Military Bases/ Facilities, Specialty Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to the Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site, a magical place on the edge of a continent where past and present come together to celebrate Canada’s diverse heritage. Visit during peak season and take in a full range of services: make friends with a costumed ‘resident’ and enjoy a delicious period meal in a themed restaurant. Feel the ground tremble with the boom of the cannon. Explore the beautiful beach and scenic hiking trails nearby. Then after the sun goes down, figure out ‘whodunnit’ at our murder mystery or take in our dinner theatre, where great comedy and wonderful cuisine is always on the menu. Visit in the shoulder season for some services and to discover the exterior architecture of the Fortress’ reconstructed buildings. Marvel at the stunning views of both the sea and the Fortress from one of our hiking trails, open throughout the year. Take in the quiet and tranquility of the streets in the off-season. Close your eyes to listen to the crash of the waves in the distance.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Pretty cool experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My wife and I took a visit to fortress Louisbourg while I was on business in Cape Breton and it was a very interesting trip. My wife was a history major in University so it was extra special for her, but even for me (a layperson at best where history is concerned) it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

The weather wasn't great so we didn't spend as much time there as we otherwise would have, but still we got to witness the people in their period attire performing the same tasks you would have witnessed them performing in times of old.

One hint is if you're going, try not to wear red (or do if you like that kind of thing) because the guards are not just in period clothing, but perform as if the British are still the enemy and stop those wearing red in fear they are either British sympathizers or worse, British spies.

This is pretty out of the way but in my opinion, well worth the time to get there. Check it out if you find yourself on "The Cape".

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    123
    30
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quite good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Travelling in the so-called 'off-season' I was not sure what to expect, but was quite surprised on arrival to find that most of the buildings and exhibits were open, and that the site was bustling with staff in full uniform and character despite the fact it was an incredibly hot day.

We were told that the reconstruction is only about 1/5th of the size of the original fortress, which is more than acceptable. Any larger, and it would have been a little too big for me. Again the peak season starts in the summer so to have it any bigger would have been foolish.

Staff were knowledgeable and helpful, and there was plenty to see across the site. We found ourselves arriving about a half hour earlier than expected, which worked out almost perfectly as we left when we had originally intended to. Prepare for a bus ride to the actual site, and given that it is closer to water it would be advisable to bring warmer clothes in a backpack just in case there is any kind of wind.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting reconstruction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This fort is apparently one of the largest reconstructions in North America even though it is only a fraction of it's original size. It was interesting, nice grounds and knowledgeable staff in period dress.
Beautiful view looks toward town and the lighthouse trail with waves crashing on the cliffs .

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Be prepared for a lot of walking and potential adverse weather”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

A very good presentation of the fortress and the town, with acres and acres of restored buildings, artifacts and re-enactors from the period. Unfortunately, we went on a rainy and windy day, which is not that unusual due to the location of the fortress, from what many there told us. Bring appropriate clothing and good walking shoes. There is a lot of real estate to cover, if you care to see it all. The "cast" is really invested in the experience, which makes for a great experience. Plan to be there for the better part of the day. Try to get there at the 9:30 am opening. We enjoyed it, despite the harsh conditions.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Very interesting place to visit, especially with kids. Old fortress, most buildings are open to visit, people dressed in clothes from the old times, lots of things to do and learn

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site also viewed

Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.