We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay stay...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Glenghorm Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Glenghorm Beach Resort to your Saves list
Glenghorm Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   36743 Cabot Trail | P.O. Box 39, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C1K0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Okay stay...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here following a stay at one of the sister "resorts", Dundee, which really, anything could be better than. We stayed in one of the two bedroom cottages with our two small children. The kitchen was pretty good...full-sized fridge and we were pleasantly surprised to find a full range (oven/stove), big sink, nice microwave. They also had very nice cookware (a full set), dishes, cutley, etc. Much better than Dundee in that regard.
The bedrooms each had 2 double beds (so 4 doubles in total) that were comfy, as well as a tv on each side. There was no "living room" in these cottages, but the bedrooms provide enough space. The bathroom was at the back of the cottage and can be accessed by either bedroom by the door at either end. It was awful!!! It was very old, there were leaks from the toilet, bathtub, and sink. The floor was rotted under the linoleum in spots and very soft. The wall was bubbling by the tub from all the water damage. When my husband told the frontdesk they gave us a $25 discount for our remaining two nights (not sure why we didn't also recieve it for the first night).
The location itself is BEAUTIFUL! In front of the cottages there is a very large grassy area perfect for kids to play on. There were several swing sets with slides that our kids enjoyed as well. Nothing fancy, but kids don't notice. I felt the info on the website was a bit misleading regarding the beach. It is VERY rocky. We almost killed ourselves trying to get to the sandy parts. There is also a firepit which would be great once it gets warm enough. I can't comment on the pool as it wasn't open during our stay so we didn't even take a look.
I didn't try the restaurant at the resort as it seemed very pricy, but we did drive about 2 minutes up the road (heading right out of Glenghorm) called Coastal Restaurant and it was delicious and very affordable. They even had some play equipment outside for the kids to play on while we waited.
It was quite expensive when we stayed and that was off-season. They really need to make some necessary repairs to their cottages for them to be worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    28
    31
    30
    19
See reviews for
38
45
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
angelfeathers
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Resort No! Very run down 1970s room. Fairly clean. Spiders in the bed, anti freeze coming out of taps. Ran out of hot water during shower. Nice enough front desk, restaurant over priced for unprofessional service. Waitress slamming plates and cutlery. Overall a very disappointing stay. Oh yes make sure you are out by eleven and no later was the front desks final greeting to us during check in. Will not recommend to anyone.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I was hesitant to book a suite because of all of the reviews on this site but I ended up booking one anyways because of the location and I definitely don't regret it. Our stay was fantastic. The lady at the front desk was quite friendly and she ended up giving us a larger suite just because it was empty. The suite was very clean and neat..The furniture was a bit older but I don't mind that at all. The bed was quite comfy..not too soft, not too hard. It was great to have the beach nearby but I wish the pool was open..maybe they open it later in the year? And the only other thing I would complain about were piles of wood/garbage around the grounds. They were hidden but if you walked around you'd find them and they were definitely an eye sore. But overall it was a great experience and we would definitely we returning!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
336 reviews 336 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Clean spacious rooms. We stayed in a suite (421) with a kitchenette that was quite handy: microwave, toaster, coffee maker, sink, dishes, and mini-fridge. There was a separate bedroom and living toom with a gas fireplace that I couldn't figure out how to work. Room came with: basic cable TV, hair dryer, iron, ironing board, shampoo & soap (no conditioner).

There was NO internet in the rooms at all, only in the lobby. In this modern age, people want/need to stay connected.

The bed was as firm as a concrete slab.

The icemaker was broken both days we were there.

There is a guest laundramat. $1 each for wash, dry & bag of soap.

Heaters in the rooms are noisy when they come on during the night.

There is a beach, play area for the kids, outdoor pool, and badminton area.

They do have a coffee sho; and the Thirsty Hiker Restaurant on site, but neither was open until June 1.

Suite was about $200/night.

Room Tip: Go after June 1 if you want all of the amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

This resort is a nice, family-friendly retreat with a variety of accomodation options. Three friends and I had booked into a room for a night while on the Cabot Trail and opted for the cheapest option which was a room with two double beds. It was very basic but clean. Unfortunately, almost immediately (during a shower) the plumbing in the bathroom broke and flooded the back half of the room. We reported it to the front staff and were immediately provided with an upgraded unit in another section of the resort without having to pay for the difference. We were extremely happy with that service and thought it to be the most professional and correct way to address this unfortunate incident. Our new accomodation was a great upgrade with a living room/kitchenette and separate bedroom (queen beds) with adjoining modern bathroom and shower. It was very nice and you can see that the resort caters to a variety of price points and accomodation types. The property itself is right on the ocean and has nice grounds to walk around and explore. They have a pub and a restaurant which meals can be taken at and all in all it was a cute place. I'd stay there again but hopefully for more than a night and actually get a chance to explore the Cape a bit more.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We only stayed one night and wanted a cabin down by the beach. We were in the 2nd cabin from the beach front. The cabin had 2 bedrooms each with 2 double beds, a full kitchen and bath, small deck and picnic table and barbecue in front. It was clean but rundown...slats missing off mini blind in bathroom doors that didn't close all the way, beds were too soft, older furniture and tv's. There was a pool but it was kind of off the property and not very nice.
The good points: there were adirondack chairs overlooking the beach and ocean, there was a sandy beach that was very nice but the waves were too big the day we were there, there was a fire pit with chairs around it, and the grounds were beautiful. Though the mosquitos were too bad to enjoy the outdoors at night. The best part was falling asleep to the sound of waves and crackling firewood. We did have lunch in the cafe and breakfast in the restaurant and both were very good.
Ingonish itself is just not convenient, nothing is close together ie: restaurants, stores. The last time I went around the Cabot Trail I stayed in Cheticamp and drove around from that direction and I definitely preferred overnighting in Cheticamp and enjoyed the views more.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElaineMarketing, General Manager at Glenghorm Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Dear Wpbdle:

Thank you for your feedback. We do listen to our guests comments and we are in the process of upgrading and painting the rooms. We are replacing the beds and tv's gradually and we continue to keep the pool in good condition.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed the beach, firepit and yes falling asleep to the sounds of the ocean waves is fabulous.

We hope to see you again in 2012.

Sincerely,

Colleen Dunphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011 via mobile

Seven friends and myself stay a night, in 2 rooms, in July 2011. That night the power went out 5 minutes after we checked in and stayed out until the next morning. It was rainy and cold. During the evening, not one person came to our rooms to offer extra blankets, candles or even to check if we need anything or if we were all ok. When we did go to the front desk to get candles, we were given 2 little tea candles. The workers were rude and acted like they didn't care about our situation. The next day, no mention of what happened, not even a complimentary breakfast. After multiple emails to the resort head, Colleen Dunphy, my night was explained. When she finally emailed back, she stated blankets and candles were brought to every room. Basically saying I must have been missed. How could 8 guys be missed?? Please don't waste your time staying here, and please check out the owner of other resorts on the Island and this owner has multiple spots, and if it was that bad where we were, you can expect the same from the rest of his operations.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElaineMarketing, General Manager at Glenghorm Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Dear NoCBHospitality:

I am extremely sorry you had such a bad experience with us. We did have three storms that resulted in power outages this year and we were very diligent about getting blankets and candles to our guests. My staff assured me every room was visited however I do apologize that your rooms were missed. I would like to invite you back to the property, please contact me directly to make arrangements.

Sincerely,

Colleen Dunphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenghorm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenghorm Beach Resort

Address: 36743 Cabot Trail | P.O. Box 39, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenghorm Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Glenghorm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenghorm Beach Hotel Ingonish
Glenghorm Beach Resort Ingonish, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenghorm Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.