We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny coffee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bean Barn Cafe

Bean Barn Cafe
36743 Cabot Trail, Ingonish, Nova Scotia, Canada
+1 902-285-2767
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Ingonish
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast
Manchester, England
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Sunny coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Lovely coffee with an oatmeal cookie sitting out in the sun. Friendly staff. Stop here for your caffeine fix.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    24
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful coffee/tea stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We've not found many places near a main road to get a comfortable coffee break in Cape Breton but the bean barn was perfect. Great drinks and tasty baked goods macaroon madness and incredible coconut pie. Other people were having what looked like great breakfasts. I'd also give it my washroom of the Cabot trail award - clean spacious attractive decor. What more could a traveller want.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“My Main Stop in Ingonish for Coffee and Carrot Cake!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I spend a lot of time in The Cape Breton Highlands around Ingonish and its about time someone opened a nice coffee shop in the area! I spend a lot of time at The Bean Barn either having breakfast, drinking coffee while working on some writing or reading or I grab a coffee to go so I can enjoy it while watching the sunset at Ingonish Beach. I really like the comfortable atmosphere and spacious interior of this cafe and it is never too crowded which means I never feel the need to give up my seat if I am there for a long time. They have a wide selection of caffeinated beverages, baked goods, breakfast items, sandwiches and lunch items and most recently, pizza. My personal favorite is the carrot cake! I do find some of the items a little pricey and the Wifi never works when I am there which can be a problem for me if I am trying to get some work done or trying to contact my family at home. I am told that they get their Wifi from the resort next door so maybe it would be a better idea to get their own?? I tend to associate cafes with being able to enjoy a coffee while working or browsing the net, especially if it is too cold or rainy to go to the beach. Sometimes, if you sit at a certain table in a certain area of the room, you can get a very slow connection but usually there is none at all. Other than that, I will continue to make this place one of my favorite stops when I am in the area. This cafe also opens very early in the morning which is a plus for me because I like to have my coffee as soon as I wake up and I am a very early riser!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pricey and not much selection”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This might be the place if you want pastry or a small bite. My husband and I stopped here hoping for hearty meal before our hike up Broad Cove Mt and Middle Head trail but were disappointed by the selection and the proportion of our meal. The staff were not as friendly compared to other restaurants we have been along the Cabot Trail. Wifi service was not great either.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great coffee and breakfast stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Found this from TripAdvisor and it was a. Great place to visit for breakfast when staying at Keltic Lodge. Good menu with a range of breakfast and brunch items, well presented. Nice coffee and good efficient service. Lots of locals in there too which is a good indication.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bean Barn Cafe also viewed

Ingonish, Cape Breton Island
 
Ingonish, Cape Breton Island
Ingonish, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Bean Barn Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bean Barn Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.