We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is "our" cottage when we spend a few days on Cabot trail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ingonish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Driftwood Lodge
Save
You added Driftwood Lodge to your Saves list
36139 Cabot Trail, Ingonish, Nova Scotia, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Ingonish B&B and Inns
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This is "our" cottage when we spend a few days on Cabot trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

As I said, the yellow cabin already become "our" cottage when we book a few days get-away on the famous Cabot trail. We come back every year! The yellow cabin is separated from the main lodge, it may look dated, but it's always clean! My family appreciate the privacy and the peace, just sitting at the dinning room, looking outside the big glass window facing to the ocean, it's all about why we love to stay here. The private beach is so clean and beautiful, my family enjoy the evening walk and kid has tons of fun on the beach. The landlord Kersti is very very friendly and helpful. She loves to share the story about the history of the driftwood lodge to her guests. The yellow cabin we stay has two bedrooms, one washroom, one kitchen with all appliances, it's perfect for the family. The landlord always brings extra blankets and space heaters when we visit either early in the season or in falls. The beauty of Cape Breton island, and the dirving experience on Cabot trail is second to none. The Driftwood Lodge just sits on the trail and "inside" the Cape Breton highland national park. Location is another great feature we choose to stay here. And of course, last but not least, the staying is very affordable!
All in all, everytime my family stay in Driftwood lodge, we're always pleased. We will come back again and again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Orlando FL
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The accommodation is modest but so clean. And the wi-fi was an unexpected bonus, I hadn't seen it mentioned on their website. A perfect location on the beach near Cape Breton Park The kitchen was sufficiently stocked for easy meals.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We booked 4 nights in the separate lodge over the internet as the website was attractive and it had a good writeup in "The Lonely Planet" book on Canada. It was a shock to see the condition of the yellow "shack". We had to wipe the dust off the bedhead and there were many dead insects inside the lampshades. It was cramped, creaky rough and poorly maintained even though we were told it was 140 years old. Age and tradition are no excuses for poor housekeeping. We hardly slept the first night -we were so upset we had been fooled by the available information and could not face another 3 nights . We only stayed the one night and the owner charged us a second night's accommodation fee. We found much better, cheaper, cleaner accommodation just down the road. We are informing "Lonely Planet" of our opinion on Driftwood Lodge.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHITECOURT ALB
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

It's hard not to be biased, as we stayed at a few very nice b&b's on this trip. Unfortunately, this wasn't one of them. We stayed in number 5, which was dark, rustic and musty. It was clean though and just a staircase away from the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

As the other review mentions, these apartments are somewhat rustic; but they are charming, they were clean the several times I stayed here, and they get the job done - well worth the price: most affordable accommodations we could find in Ingonish. There are decks with a gorgeous ocean view, a big backyard and from the backyard you can walk down a set of steps onto a sandy ocean beach; perfect for bonfires or swimming. And the hosts couldn't have been friendlier. I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed at the Driftwood Lodge for a week in the course of a longer trip through Nova Scotia. On the upside, the Lodge sits in a great location on Cape Breton Island, with Ingonish Beach, the Cape Breton Highlands National Park and many hiking opportunities conveniently close. It is also not too far away from Sydney and Louisburg and its National Historic Site. The Lodge itself sits on a beautiful piece of land right at the coast, there is only a small lawn, a cliff and the Atlantic. Makes for great views from the veranda...
Unfortunately, the appartments do not live up to the surroundings. While certainly spacy, they are also very old, rundown and in desperate need of refurbishment. Some of the kitchen equipment (such as the stove, the water cooker and the toaster) look like being put in there in the 70s. The place is also not too clean, we had to wash up all dishes and clean out the fridge before we felt like using them. All this would not have been so bad for us, if the appartement would not also have been extremely noisy. You can here almost every word of what each of your up to three neighbours is saying, let alone their walking around, closing doors etc. We did not sleep through one single night...
Given that for the same amount of money we stayed in considerably more comfortable accomodations on Nova Scotia, even the landlady's friendliness did not help enough to make us feel at home. Come our next time on Cape Breton we will certainly look for another place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Driftwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Lodge

Address: 36139 Cabot Trail, Ingonish, Nova Scotia, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ingonish
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Driftwood Lodge Ingonish, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.