We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trails with awesome views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Breton Highlands National Park

Cape Breton Highlands National Park
Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1L0, Canada
902 224 2306
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Attractions in Ingonish
Type: National Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Driving, Camping, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Treasures abound throughout the headlands and rugged cliffs of Cape Breton Highlands with its abundant wildlife, spectacular scenery and human history dating back to the last Ice Age.
Kincardine, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great trails with awesome views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We loved the Skyline and Middle Head trails and the virws of the Beulach Ban and Mary Ann Falls. We did not appreciate the litter that lines the roadside.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    51
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“absolutely breathtaking scenery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

this is truly one of the most diverse, rugged and beautiful locations in Nova Scotia!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stop at all the look out, but watch out for the kamikaze moose

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Nice road to cycle with quite challenging hills to climb but when you see the ocean and the nice outdoor, you forget the pain! :-)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Whistle Stop road trip to Cape Breton Highlands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I had just a few precious days after working in Halifax, Nova Scotia before I had to fly home to Vancouver, BC. I chose to rent a car and drive as far as I could get around in the time I had. I made my way up to the very top of Cape Breton - all the way up the scenic route on the West side and through the Highlands National Park & back down towards Halifax. Now I had done my homework and much that I read told me this was some of the most fabulous scenery I could expect to see anywhere. Now I have travelled a LOT, all over the world including the Canadian Rockies, all over the US; Mexico, South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe; Europe, the UK, Australia, New Zealand , etc etc so ...you get the idea...I have seen a lot and it has to be truly outstandingly spectacular to get me raving. I'm going to say up front that I have seen NOTHING as spectacular as the Canadian Rockies (esp. the Icefield Parkway) for sheer take your breath away grandeur. There are many other places I have gone to visit many times and love a lot. So maybe I was expecting a little more from the Cabot Trail? However, there is NO doubt that it is pretty spectacular. Beautiful coastal & mountain scenery. Lovely and most 100% definitely worth seeing. . But THE most beautiful route on the globe? Not so sure about that. We have much higher trees and mountains in BC.... but then I'm biased....I chose well to live here. Would I visit again, take hubby to see it? Yes, definitely would provided I did not choke when I figured out the cost of an airfare to the other side of our beautiful country?!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Breton Highlands National Park also viewed

Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 
Ingonish, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Cape Breton Highlands National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Breton Highlands National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.