We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabot Trail Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   383 Middle Head Peninsula, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1L0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Cabot Trail Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here one night as part of our week long visit to the Cabot Trail. The lodge is a tradition and an essential spot to see and, if possible, stay in. The night we reserved only had a room in one of the cabins, and our experience might have been better if we had had a room in the main lodge. The room was one of four in a cabin, and had been recently renovated. However, there was a noise factor from the other rooms, and the room was quite small with a double and a single bed taking up most of the space. Otherwise, the experience was great. The gounds are lovely, the views spectacular, the pool very nice and the main dining room had great service and great food. Not an inexpensive stay, but worth the experience for a least a night or two.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful Cabot Trail. On your next stay, be sure to speak with our Reservations Team to ensure you reserve the best suited room type for your needs.

We’re happy you loved the stunning views, your dining experience and our guest activities. We look forward to welcoming back to the Keltic Lodge soon.

Until next time,
Matthew Mackenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    182
    105
    55
    20
See reviews for
127
311
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new city ny
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

During our recent trip through Nova Scotia, we primarily stayed in inexpensive B&Bs. Very nice, but not luxurious. I decided I wanted one splurge, and chose the Keltic Lodge. Did I ever choose right! First of all you can't beat the setting, high up on the bluff, you can see it, and from it, for miles, and it is gorgeous. Everything about the hotel is beautiful: the grounds are immaculate, our room (with a view) lovely, the staff top notch. We ate dinner in the Purple Thistle room and it was delicious. I want to make special mention of our waitress at breakfast the next morning: Susan, very efficient and great fun.
You can't go wrong staying at this place. It's got the best view on the entire Cabot Trail.

Room Tip: we booked this through hotels.com and still got a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share this review with us. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed our spectacular location, comfortable rooms, and dining experience. Susan is a great asset to the Keltic Lodge team and we’re happy to hear that you enjoyed her service. Thanks again for sharing this positive experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Until next time,
Matthew Mackenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahopac, ny
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

knew we made the right choice when we inquired at the front desk about availability. Katie was highly professional and charming-setting the perfect tone for our stay. Room was fine if a tad bare bones. location was magnificent. Breakfast buffet (included) was excellent

Room Tip: bring slippers-bare wood floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for writing this review for us. We’re happy to hear that you had an enjoyable vacation at our Cape Breton resort. Katie is a great asset to our Keltic Lodge team and we’re happy she shined during your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Until next time,
Matthew Mackenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niagara falls
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Great location and historic buildings. Quite pricey. CAA basic rate of $279 seemed to be the best deal. The hotel "packages" do not offer that much more value. Buffet breakfast in the Purple Thistle was included. We stayed in the newly renovated "Inn at the Keltic" which was quite nice. It is a 5 minute walk down the hill from the main building. The pack patio and lawn at the Inn is absolutely beautiful and offers views of the ocean and Ingonish Beach. The golf course is a 3 minute walk away. Ingonish beach is a 5 minute drive away. The trailhead for a hiking trail at the tip of Middle Head is a 3 minute drive away. This trail is part of Cape Breton National park and is a beautiful forested/cliffside trail which takes about 1.5 hours round trip. After a day on the Cabot Trail, we returned around 5 pm wanting to play a round of golf but did not have time for a full round. Instead, for $21, we played the first 6 oceanside holes (the most scenic) which was great. (Unfortunately, the uphill walk back to the clubhouse and hotel property was not). It's a pity that the hotel restaurants were not that good. I expected much much better. The breakfast at the Purple Thistle was decent but our dinner was not. (see my separate restaurant review on the Purple Thistle). You are better off skipping the fine dining and going to the Coastal Pub to have a burger. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our 2 days/nights at the Keltic Lodge. The beautiful natural surroundings makes up for any shortcomings.

Room Tip: Rooms at the Inn at the Keltic were renovated in 2012. The back lawn/patio offers breathtaking view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We always love to hear how our guests enjoyed their stay. We are blessed with breathtaking views surrounding our Cape Breton resort and we’re glad to hear that you enjoyed the scenery.

The Highlands Links Golf Course is any golfers dream. We are happy to hear that you got to experience part of our course! We're sorry to hear we didn't meet you dining expectations ans we want to apologize for that. Please feel free to contact me directly to help rectify this situation.

Until next time,
Matthew Mackenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in the inn of keltic lodge. The property is like out of a movie. Grounds spotless. The food in the Atlantic restaurant was inferior and I do not eat that poor of quality. I ordered a hearts of romaine ,ceaser salad and a halibut stew. The salad had no hearts and only the ends were delivered in the plate which are the dark, bitter part of the rommaine. The halibut stew had canned stewed tomatoes in it and was very salty and there were a few speckled pieces of halibut about a quarter of an inch in size. The salad was 12$ and my stew was 19$ . I have been thru nova scotia and even the little restaurants all over the island have better than above average food. But, not at the most expensive property we chose during our stay! The keltic lodge. But on a nice note the room was large and the bed I am sure was a four seasons deluxe king mattress. So, I forgive you keltic lodge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we always appreciate guest feedback. On behalf of the Keltic Lodge team, we apologize you didn’t have the expected dining experience at the Atlantic restaurant. Please feel free to contact me directly to help rectify this issue.

We’re excited to hear that you enjoyed our stunning surroundings and comfortable newly renovated accommodations. Come back and visit soon!

Until next time
Matthew Mackenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We enjoyed our 2 night stay at Keltic Lodge but in certain respects we were rather disappointed. Our room was in the main building and was of a good standard with a particularly comfortable bed and a good sized walk-in wardrobe. However the bathroom, whilst clean enough really could do with being updated. The main lounge/bar is pleasant to sit in with a real rustic feel to it but we were very surprised that when we asked for some nuts or nibbles with our drinks we were told that they don't serve them and that if we wanted them we would have to go to the little shop by reception! The food was of a good standard but overpriced. The gardens are lovely but we were very disappointed with the swimming pool area where the loungers have seen better days and the changing facilities are very poor. We found the staff to be most helpful. We have stayed in many types of hotel throughout the world but would only class this as a 3 star establishment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay with us. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed our historic rooms in the iconic main building. I recommend for your next visit to try the Inn at Keltic or the cottages as they provide more bathroom space.

It’s always nice to hear such positive feedback about our hard working and dedicated staff. I’ll be sure to share your comments with the team. We can assure you that our swimming pool area is on our list of things to renovate. We hope you can return next year so you can experience the authentic Cape Breton experience that we’re known for.

Until next time,
Matthew Mackenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed in 510 at the Inn at Keltic. The bathroom is pretty small and basic, but very clean. The room was very comfortable - wonderful bed -with a limited ocean view from the ground floor.
We used both restaurants and the food in both is very good. We reserved a table in the thistle dining room for 7:30pm. We did not get our main course until 9:00 pm. We politely complained and the manager apologized. We may just have been unlucky as there appeared to be a back up in the kitchen. Observing the staff, the waiters work very hard. They should consider hiring a bus boy and/or a "food runner." Otherwise, it's a wonderful place to stay and we would certainly return.

Room Tip: We did not stay in the main lodge. Our room was in the "Inn at Keltic." Likely a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in the Inn at Keltic. I apologize again for your dining experience at the Purple Thistle Dining Room. I can assure you that this was not a typical dining experience. Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Keltic Lodge sometime soon!

Until next time,
Matthew Mackenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa

Address: 383 Middle Head Peninsula, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Cape Breton resort, Keltic Lodge Resort and Spa, is located in the heart of Cape Breton Highlands National Park overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Just 2 hours from Sydney, NS and a scenic 5 hour drive from Nova Scotia's capital city Halifax, the 105 room resort has been welcoming guests to Cape Breton, Nova Scotia since July 1940. Keltic offers versatility for Cape Breton accommodations with rooms in the Main Lodge, spacious rooms in the Inn at Keltic and cozy two and four bedroom cottages with fireplaces and verandas. The Cape Breton resort is the perfect spot for a Nova Scotia family vacation with recreation facilities on-site or nearby that include a heated outdoor pool, Atlantic Ocean Ingonish Beach, hiking, wilderness trails, lawn games, whale watching, Aveda Spa and boat cruises. Adjacent to the resort is the Cape Breton golf icon, the 18 hole championship Highlands Links Golf Course. The Cape Breton golf course, rich in the Scottish tradition, has been restored to Stanley Thompson's magnificent original design. The Purple Thistle Dining Room and Atlantic Restaurant and Bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean offer a comfortable dining experience and traditional Maritime menu. The Highland Sitting Room features a pub menu for lunch and dinner and nightly live Celtic entertainment. Nova Scotia conferences are welcome at Keltic Lodge with 13,000 sq ft of meeting space spread throughout the resort utilizing the restaurants and bars for private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keltic Lodge Resort And Spa
Keltic Hotel Ingonish
Keltic Resort Ingonish
Keltic Lodge Nova Scotia
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa Ingonish, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.