We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location, so-so food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   383 Middle Head Peninsula, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1L0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stunning location, so-so food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Keltic Lodge. We stayed in one of the cabins with shared living area and thought that it was clean and comfortable. The best part was the location! There are stunning ocean views from just about everywhere on the property and a great beach just down the road. The hike out to end of the peninsula was beautiful and took us about 1 hr 15 min, including a stop to talk to some students doing research on coyotes and again to take a look at the nesting cormorants. The only disappointing part of our stay was our dinner at the Atlantic Restaurant. We found it very overpriced with the food bland and boring.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re delighted you enjoyed our clean and comfortable accommodations, stunning panoramic ocean views and hiking trails. On behalf of the Keltic team, we apologize we didn’t meet your dining expectations. We appreciate your feedback and we can assure you that these issues are being looked into. Through our use of fresh local ingredients and continued efforts to improve our dining experience, we will be offering a revised menu next week.

Feel free to contact me directly to talk about your experience at the Atlantic Restaurant. I encourage you to try our other dining options on-site and let us know your feedback. We hope you return to our Cape Breton resort sometime soon.

Until next time,
Matthew Mackenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    181
    105
    54
    20
See reviews for
127
307
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

"If you like the taste of a lobster stew, served by a window with an ocean view" apparently originated in Cape Cod. But it applies just as much to Cape Breton and the place to be in Cape Breton is the Keltic Lodge. Its setting at the south end of a National Park as well as its amenities are superb. Make it your base for hiking, kayaking, whale watching, swimming in the Ocean, you name it. And, I am told, the lobsters are plentiful this year

LakeSuperior 72

Room Tip: Not all rooms have ocean view. Insist on one that does
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking to time to share these comments with us. We love giving guests the full Cape Breton experience - from the freshly caught seafood to the traditional folk music. We're happy to hear that you had such a memorable stay.

We hope to welcome you back during our 2013 season.

Until next time,
Sally MacInnis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I grew up just outside of Sydney, Cape Breton and always wanted to stay at the Keltic Lodge. My wife and I stayed there on July 15th and were disappointed in our stay. The location is beautiful but you can access the area and take lots of pictures without staying there. The room was nice but overpriced and we were over the Pub so it was very noisy till 11:30 PM. The staff at the front desk when leaving were not friendly either. The building is showing its age and there are several other locations in the area which provide nice scenery and much more reasonable rates.

Room Tip: Maybe try one of the Cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, Front Office Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we take our guests comments seriously. We apologize for not meeting and exceeding your Keltic Lodge expectations. Please feel free to contact me directly so we can help rectify this situation. We hope you come back to Keltic Lodge in the future.

I hope to hear from you soon.

Until then,
Sally MacInnis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed at Keltic Lodge for two days this July. I had recovered from an illness there many years ago, and I had feared that my memory of the place was overly positive: If anything, Keltic is better than I remembered. The location is incredible, offering views of the Cabot Trail, the Ocean and shoreline. We were in a very nicely renovated room with a very comfortable king size bed, a dressing room, and a well appointed bathroom. The floors throughout the Lodge have all been redone and are gleaming. The staff at the Lodge are generally all Nova Scotians, many are local, and if you have not experienced the native friendliness of Nova Scotia and Cape Breton, you are in for a nice surprise. When I happened to mention to the young porter that I had served in a Scottish Regiment in the Army, he proceeded to fetch his bagpipes and piped us away as we drove off; only 17 yrs old, but a very good piper, indeed.
The entertainment when were there was provided by a very talented singer who played and sang every night from 8-11 PM in the bar/lounge. We ate there one evening as well, and the local mussels were fresh and beautifully prepared and presented. The second evening we dined in the Thistle Room: wonderful main course and the best oysters that I have ever had-I am not an oyster expert, but I have had my share over the years.
Can't wait to return, but I can't wait another 45 yrs, I may be a tad slow by then.

Room Tip: Recommend the main lodge, but any room facing outward will provide amazinf viws of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re delighted we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed our renovations, friendly staff, entertainment and cuisine.

We love providing our guests with an authentic Cape Breton experience. From the local entertainment to the delicious maritime cuisine, we do our best to ensure guests have a true Nova Scotia vacation.

We appreciate your kind words and we hope to see you again soon.

Until next time,
Matthew Mackenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigonish, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The lobby&rooms has been newly renovated. Very nicely done.
New furniture, hardwood floors and a small fridge has enhanced the rooms.
Evening entertainment in the lounge/library area is great.
I had hoped that the menu in the lodge dining room would be more varied, but you can always try the Atlantic Resteraunt on site or The Main Street Cafe in town.
The vistas are magnificant.

Room Tip: There are no bad views as the Keltic is surrounded by the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us. We’re glad you enjoyed our new renovations, entertainment and location.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Keltic Lodge again soon.

Until next time,
Matthew Mackenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I was travelling for business and was attending a conference at the lodge. The location and setting was idealyic and the natural beauty was really quite breathtaking. There was plenty of activities, relatively helpful staff and an amazing golf course. As part of our conference we had bar and food inclusions that were quite generous however the meals themselves were not the greatest. Trying to find a dining solution outside of the set meals was impossible and I was told I would have to leave the property to find alternative food options during the dinner service - not exactly what I was expecting from a "resort". We were unable to get rooms in the lodge itself and we were staying down the hill in the annexed rooms which were comfortable, when the keys worked. I had been looking for a romantic stay to take my wife to for her birthday and was happy that I stayed at the hotel for business rather than making our first stay a special occassion. I will say that my views may have been impacted by the hotel trying to accomodate a function but my experience was not the greatest. The location however is truly spectacular and under different circumstances the hotel may have been enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing this review with us – we’re delighted you enjoyed our beautiful setting. On behalf of our staff, we want to apologize for not meeting your dining expectations. For future conferences, please notify us in advance of any dietary restrictions and our chefs will be more than happy to customize a meal for you.

If you have further questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me directly. We would like to welcome you back to experience an authentic Keltic Lodge vacation.

Until next time,
Matthew Mackenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

A couple of weeks ago I went on vacation to the Keltic Lodge on the peninsula of Ingonish in N.S.
The lodge is located within the Cape Breton Highland park and what an amazing place (sceneries, the sea, the lodge architecture outside and inside). I was staying at the building called the Keltic Inn which is separated from the main lodge but is also well located, you must have a room with ocean view (more expensive but worthwhile).

Food was great (breakfast buffet (eggs, all kind of cereals, croissant), lunch and dinner (shrimps, scallops and lobster).

Outdoor heated pool, well appreciated after a bike ride on the Cabot trail.

Staff was friendly and saying hi to everybody on the resort. Some of the staff were giving the feeling that you are important and were giving you best service, good tourist info and caring about your stay, kind of getting to know you (asking you how was your day, making suggestion about any activity to do in the area)! Wow, :-)

I was really impressed and I have no problem recommending this place.
P.S. CAA and AAA members, you can save 10% which is always welcome.

Room Tip: Ocean view room, if you can it is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us. We’re glad you enjoyed the spectacular views, delicious local cuisine and most importantly, the dedicated and friendly staff at Keltic Lodge.

We hope you can come back soon and experience another wonderful vacation at our resort.

Until next time,
Matthew Mackenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa

Address: 383 Middle Head Peninsula, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Cape Breton resort, Keltic Lodge Resort and Spa, is located in the heart of Cape Breton Highlands National Park overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Just 2 hours from Sydney, NS and a scenic 5 hour drive from Nova Scotia’s capital city Halifax, the 105 room resort has been welcoming guests to Cape Breton, Nova Scotia since July 1940. Keltic offers versatility for Cape Breton accommodations with rooms in the main lodge, spacious rooms in the Inn at Keltic and cozy two and four bedroom cottages with fireplaces and verandas. The Cape Breton resort is the perfect spot for a Nova Scotia family vacation with recreation facilities on-site or nearby that include a heated outdoor pool, Atlantic Ocean Ingonish Beach, hiking, wilderness trails, lawn games, whale watching, Aveda Spa and boat cruises. Adjacent to the resort is the Cape Breton golf icon, the 18 hole championship Highlands Links Golf Course, ranked by Score Golf Magazine as Atlantic Canada's Top Public Course in 2009. The Cape Breton golf course, rich in the Scottish tradition, has been restored to Stanley Thompson's magnificent original design. The Purple Thistle Breakfast Room and Atlantic Restaurant and Bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean offer a comfortable dining experience and traditional Maritime menu. The Highland Sitting Room features a pub menu for lunch and dinner and nightly live Celtic entertainment. Nova Scotia conferences are welcome at Keltic Lodge with 13,000 sq ft of meeting space spread throughout the resort utilizing the restaurants and bars for private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keltic Lodge Resort And Spa
Keltic Hotel Ingonish
Keltic Resort Ingonish
Keltic Lodge Nova Scotia
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa Ingonish, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.