We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Point Cottages by the Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ingonish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Point Cottages by the Sea
Save
You added The Point Cottages by the Sea to your Saves list
2 Point Cottages Lane | PO Box 67, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1K0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

We stayed at the Point Cottages by the Sea in Ingonish in Cottage #43 which was situated only a few yards from the rocky coast. From our cottage we had spectacular views of the coastline, including Cape Smokey. The cottage was small but masterfully organized for efficiency with a well-equipped kitchen. The cottage was brightly lit with lots of windows, simply decorated, and we could lie in bed, watching and listening to the waves. At $90 (plus tax; off season rates), we thought these accommodations were a steal.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

The Point Cottages were the highlight of our week-long trip to Cape Breton. We stayed in #54 Lochinver -- a tiny cottage with a queen bed facing the ocean and the rocks. It was very well-maintained and the location was spectacular. On our first night, the sun set and a rainbow appeared over Ingonish Island. It was unforgettable. Going to sleep at night to the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks outside our cottage was so relaxing. Waking up in the morning and having coffee on our porch, watching the waves, looking out onto the Middle Peninsula and Ingonish Island, was also amazing. You truly feel like you're getting away from everything and have your own private oasis by the sea. The value for money in September was fantastic. We, too, looked into staying at the Keltic Lodge (in fact we spent two of our nights in Ingonish at the bar at the Keltic Lodge enjoying their live entertainment), but we were immeasurably happy that we chose the Point Cottages over other establishments. Highly recommended and very fond memories.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

My husband and I spent 2 weeks wandering Nova Scotia with no reservations. The day we found ourselves in this area, we first stopped at Keltic Lodge, which is about 2 miles south. We quickly ruled it out for $225 for a non view room. Just north, on the other side of the bay, in the town of Ingonish, we discovered the Point Cottages. What a find!

They have a large piece of land-part of it meadow, the other portion has 12 cottages. 6 are privately owned, 6 rented out. All the property is on a beautiful rock strewn beach, adjacent to the local wharf. We stayed in "Harris" #36, with a queen bed and a pullout sofa. The rate was $130 Canadian. GREAT cottage-I thought it was newly built, that's how nice it was--kitchenette fully supplied, living room, nice bedroom , modern bathroom, new carpeting, all immaculate. Each cottage has a propane BBQ, which we used for dinner one night. Our cottage did not face the beach, but towards the meadow and harbor, and the view was divine. It is secluded with spectacular views and of nearby Ingonish Island. I couldn't believe it when the manager told us the cottages were built in the 1950's. But she went on to say the owners plowed every cent back into maintenance--they are like new. The bed was wonderful, new carpet, and the bathroom fixtures new. It is also just one minute to the local restaurants/stores.

We enjoyed it so much, we stayed a second night. I hate smelly, old places with ancient furnishings. You WON'T have that problem here. I highly recommend-for families as well.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010 via mobile

We spent 3 nights with another couple exploring Nova Scotia and had a great time. We stayed at Glencoe which was very comfortable and good value. The location is very close to the pebble beach and little harbour (from where we took a zodiac and saw minke whales). Lovely to sit on the deck in the evening with a glass of wine.

There is a local supermarket which is well stocked but we were a bit disappointed not to find readily
available seafood to cook back at our accomodation.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal, Quebec
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

My girlfriend and I rented one of the cottages for 3 nights in the beginning of October. We couldn't believe how amazing the cottage was! It had everything we needed and more. The Cottages have thier own stove for home cooking and all the pots and pans are included, including a pot for lobster! The view from inside and outside the cottages was breathtaking, the rocky beach, that were a stone throw away from our front door, will entertain kids and adults alike. Photographer MUST enjoy the sunrise over Ingonish Island!

I personally guarrantee that The Point Cottages are one place you must stay, when experiencing Cape Breton or the Cabot Trail!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

We actually stumbled upon this place when we saw a sign from the road leading down a little lane. We're so glad we did! We stayed 2 nights in a little cottage right on the water. Ours was #54 and the location was perfect. We could hear crashing surf from our bed. The cottage had everything we needed - a fridge, stove, coffee maker, cleaning supplies, silverware and dishes, tv (which we didn't use) a porch with chairs overlooking the water...we hated to leave! Bald eagles outside on the rock, red fox roaming around the property, and a nice trail along the water to explore. I highly recommend staying here! This was the most memorable place we stayed our whole trip.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2008

I rented a 3 bedroom cottage and we were all so pleased and couldn't have found a better place for all girls week-end. It was clean and didn't have to worry about bring anything , everything was supplied. In all my travels I have never slept in such a comfortable bed. The view was fantastic and will definately return when home again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Point Cottages by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Cottages by the Sea

Address: 2 Point Cottages Lane | PO Box 67, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Ingonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few feet from the Atlantic Ocean, The Point Cottages are situated at a private and secluded place, surrounded on three sides by the sea. There are unsurpassed views of the surrounding Highlands, adjacent sand beaches, walking areas, fishing and boat tours, hiking, etc. The Cottages are equipped for housekeeping with dishes and linens supplied. Each cottage has full kitchen or kitchenette, living room, one or more bedrooms, electric heat, TV, microwave oven, barbecue and a spacious outside deck. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Point Cottages By The Sea Hotel Ingonish
The Point Cottages By The Sea Ingonish, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Point Cottages by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.