We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy cottages in a perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Point Cottages by the Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ingonish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Point Cottages by the Sea
Save
You added The Point Cottages by the Sea to your Saves list
2 Point Cottages Lane | PO Box 67, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1K0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Burnaby, BC
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cosy cottages in a perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I have to echo the comments of others about this place. It is a perfect location and the cottages are clean, well equipped, and charming, feet from the ocean, with comfortable chairs set out on the porch to view the crashing waves. We stayed in the cabin named Raasay where the view across to Ingonish Island and down the coast to Cape Smokey is fantastic. The moon shimmered on the water at night and the sunrises were a beautiful start to our day. We cooked our breakfasts and dinners here, not wanting to leave the gorgeous views, and the kitchen and BBQ were perfect for our needs. Bring your food, a good book and get ready to relax in awesome surroundings. There are also interesting places to walk near the cabins, and the Cabot Trail affords many wonderful walks/hikes a short drive away. We drove to Louisburg one rainy day--it is a long drive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I can't even begin to tell you how beautiful the Point Cottages by the Sea are - so beautiful in fact, that I signed up to TripAdvisor to write my first review. The cottage itself, which sleeps two, was quaint and extremely well-maintained and clean. There were two Adirondack chairs on our deck that we sat back and relaxed on (we stayed in Cottage #54 - Lochinver - which is steps away from the ocean overlooking Ingonish Island) It was absolutely stunning. The cottages have a real sense of tranquility too - it's very quiet. If you're looking for a beautiful, quiet and relaxing play to stay in Ingonish, I would HIGHLY recommend staying here.

To read more about where to eat, what to do and where to visit in Ingonish, you can visit my blog at http://www.mysocalledorganizedlife.com/2013/07/day-4-ingonish.html

You can also view my trip to Nova Scotia for more ideas on where to go and where to avoid by scrolling to the bottom of this page http://www.mysocalledorganizedlife.com/search/label/travel

Room Tip: Lochinver #54
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet cottage directly on the ocean where you can sit on the deck and listen to the waves crash onto shore or see millions of stars at night this is the spot! Here are the details:

Location: This is the big highlight of these cottages. Your cottage's deck will be feet from the shore. Fantastic. We found Ingonish a good spot to locate during our stay in Cape Breton. Groceries, beer, fresh fish (visit Rod's Fish Market where we bought fresh lobster, mussels and scallops!) are minutes away. Close to the park entrance and some great hiking.

Cottage: Clean and tastefully decorated. Everything we needed. Coffee was much appreciated! Soap is provided but that's it - bring your own toiletries and hair dryer. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit and it was very affordable at $140/night. We enjoyed coffee on the deck sitting in the beautiful wooden chairs each morning!

Grounds: Beautifully maintained. Half of the cottages are owned by others (ie. they are seasonal residents) and we enjoyed chatting with them. 6 cottages are available for tourist rentals. Parking available at your cottage. Walking along the shore exploring the tidal pools right in front of the cottages was a nice after dinner activity.

Staff: Cleaning staff did a stand up job. Reservations were easy via phone. My only complaint was that when we checked in and out we felt that the lady working the office was less than friendly. Example: I asked a few questions about the area and was instructed to read the book in the room. I thought it was just me but my husband felt the same way - it was as if she didn't want to deal with guests. Normally I could not justify giving an "excellent" rating when staff are not friendly, but the location is just too good to pass up! It is an area for improvement though - the attitude I received on check-in made me feel uncomfortable.

Note: Only VISA and cash are excepted as payment. (ie. no other credit cards and no debit).

Overall: We would most definitely stay at this location again and have already recommended it to a number of people.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

When I’m living on the road, the most important thing for me—other than the obvious things like safety and cleanliness—is quiet. The fanciest hotel in the world is useless if Metallica thumps through the walls at midnight on a Wednesday. That’s why I give thumbs up to the Point Cottages. First of all, you get your own cabin. Second, the immediate area is pretty quiet. Unless you’re unlucky, you’re not going to get neighbors looking to party. Most likely, you’ll get fellow travelers tired from a day of hiking or whale watching.

I stayed in the Lochiel cabin, which is one of the smaller units, and still had a lot of space, including a big bedroom area and a smaller kitchen and dining table. The television and Internet worked fine—videos were a bit slow online, but didn’t take forever like they do in some places. Besides, I wasn’t in Nova Scotia to watch videos. If you need to answer a few emails, check Facebook, things like that, you should be fine.

The Point Cottages are north of the “strip” of Ingonish (I use the quotes because it’s not exactly Vegas) and the main attractions of the east side of Cape Breton Highlands National Park--but only about a ten-minute drive, nothing major. The Point is also a nice place to watch the sunrise over the water, if you’re up that early. Moreover, it’s a pleasant spot at dusk, with the lobster boats coming in. Pretty good overall. Just make sure you have what you need (i.e., food and drink) by about 8 p.m., as there are not any options nearby after that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

What a great change from hotels and B & Bs, with everything you need to make your stay memorable. Clean, convenient, and cozy. We had coffee in the morning, sitting on the adirondack chairs on our own little deck, looking at the sea and nature. Walking trails just out the door, and a small harbor right there with lobster boats. My idea of 'getting away' does not include cooking, but we did take advantage of the refrigerator in the room! The bed was comfortable and it was nice to have the roominess of a cabin. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at the Point Cottages in one of the small cabins . It was neat and clean with a sink , refrigerator and stove , and completely adequate for us. We were awakened by sunlight filtering through the window and the sound of sea gulls following the lobster boats - hiked the beautiful trails in Breton Highlands National Park and saw the breath taking views - came back , took off our shoes , and splashed around in the water below our cabin - had lobster and fish & chips on our front deck overlooking the sea - went to sleep with the setting sun and the sound of waves on the shore - got up at night and went outside to see a canopy of stars . If this is your cup of tea - and it certainly was ours - Point Cottages is the perfect place for you . Helpfulness and pride of ownership shows in this family run business .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We just happened to drive by with no place to stay and thought we would see if they had a cottage available. Could not have found a nicer place. Our one room cottage was just renovated in the winter of 2012 and it was spotless. Friendly owners and beautifuul views. We stayed an extra night. Thank you and we will be back.

Ostroms
London, Ontario

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Point Cottages by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Cottages by the Sea

Address: 2 Point Cottages Lane | PO Box 67, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Ingonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few feet from the Atlantic Ocean, The Point Cottages are situated at a private and secluded place, surrounded on three sides by the sea. There are unsurpassed views of the surrounding Highlands, adjacent sand beaches, walking areas, fishing and boat tours, hiking, etc. The Cottages are equipped for housekeeping with dishes and linens supplied. Each cottage has full kitchen or kitchenette, living room, one or more bedrooms, electric heat, TV, microwave oven, barbecue and a spacious outside deck. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Point Cottages By The Sea Hotel Ingonish
The Point Cottages By The Sea Ingonish, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Point Cottages by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.