We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly secluded inn away from the busy city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castlerock Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Castlerock Country Inn to your Saves list
Castlerock Country Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   39339 Cabot Trail | Ingonish Ferry, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C1L0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Ingonish B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Perfectly secluded inn away from the busy city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

Castle Rock Inn is located in Ingonish Ferry near the Cabot Trail. It is on the pricey side for a one night stay. However, it has an unbeatable view of the forests and ocean. Food at the Avalon was excellent.

The inn serves a light complimentary breakfast in the morning. Nothing too special.

Room was a bit small with maximum occupancy of 4. There is even complimentary internet which is good thing in the secluded area of Cape Breton National Park. TV is satellite.There is no cell phone service in this area so internet will be one of the few forms of communication.

  • Liked — Secluded inn in the middle of nowhere, good dinner food, view of forest and ocean
  • Disliked — Pricey even for one night
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    34
    23
    11
    6
See reviews for
21
65
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

We understand that new owners-managers took over Castle Rock Inn earlier this year (2007) and reopened in June. Management appears to be inexperienced. Although the young staff members were pleasant, disorganization abounded. Management did not appear to be as hands-on as one would expect at this type of lodging -- we saw no "leading by example." In another year or so I'd expect some improvement. We'd certainly visit the inn again.

The inn sits on a high bluff (Castle Rock?) overlooking the bay at Ingonish Ferry on Cape Breton Island. A "beautiful view" location. Although the inn is fairly close to the road (the Cabot Trail), traffic is very light and noise was not an issue (our room faced the road, too). Our top floor room was pleasant, comfortable and clean. We could have used air conditioning during our visit, but expect that most of the time a.c. would not be necessary and would not second guess ownership for not air conditioning the rooms. We were provided with a large electric floor fan, which was useful. No in-room fridge, but the kitchen furnishes a nice ice bucket upon request.

A new dining room/restaurant has been added to the hotel and just opened, we were told, and apparently there's also been some general sprucing up. The dining room operates as "Avalon, The Restaurant." A very nice light continental buffet breakfast was included with our room. We also ate dinner in the restaurant one evening, which was satisfactory but not up to our expectations. Again, one would hope that the restaurant would improve with time.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2007

First of all, Ingonish has the best sandy beach that we found in our trip (driving Halifax- Cabot Train- Halifax). The inn is 10 minutes drive from the town and up to 15 from the beach. The view from the inn is indeed amazing but those rooms are the most expensive. You can also see the view from the deck or the breakfast room.
The room is decent - clean enough and very big, with a bad and a sofa. There is no AC and funny the windows couldn't be closed because there is a fan fit in the frame. No issue with this because the place is quiet and the temperature OK during the night. One of our neighbors keep the TV very loud - I didn't know how can I find someone from the inn to ask him to shut it down.
There is a tank with lobsters - it took me a while to realize that it was the source of smell in the lobby. The breakfast is OK, nothing special though. The personnel are nice but not extremely. I haven't tried the restaurant - I ate at the place on main in the town and that was good.
Overall it feels a little too expensive but I wouldn't mind staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2006

Some websites give better impressions than others! The pixtures and blurb here gave the impression of more grace than the reality provides. Admittedly we were at the tail end of "the season" and the place was largely closed. They had our reservation the wrong night, which hardly mattered since the place was empty. But the kitchen and dining area didn't seem to match the claims of up-market dining. No dinner at all was offered when we were there and only one place was still open to dine...which itself was due to close for the winter. Beware of late season on Cape Breton!!! The live in staff of one was helpful and cooked breakfast. Also didn't object to us going to the dining room to make our own morning coffee!!! What is it with Nova Scotia hotels and in-room coffee pots??? In a 10 day trip two thirds of the hotels offered no in-room coffee, forcing one into achieving an unusually early morning state of decency.

  • Liked — Fair views and good large rooms
  • Disliked — No evening dining
  • Tips/Secrets — Take the good dining claims on website as unsubstantiated
  • Stayed October 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2006

Way out in the wilderness along a winding highway we rested ourselves in this very imposing hotel. But we did have the opportunity to see a couple moose that roam the meadows around this building. Along with some decking, this hotel had expansive windows at the back of the first floor with excellent views of the bay and the shoreline in the distance. Seemingly set up for grander purposes than what most people want for an overnight stay, our rooms were not very special for the cost ($125 CAN), and we wondered if we were being overcharged to make up for the lack of patrons to this property. The breakfast was the same for both mornings and the (same?) rolls were cold and dried out. Cats are on the premises and apparently roamed the kitchen area.

  • Disliked — The expense for the quality
  • Stayed August 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2006

We paid $149 before tax for an upstairs double room with ocean view. The room was very clean and airy with two windows and, if we had been paying $60 or $70, we would have had no complaint. However, for the price we paid we would have expected a lot more. When paying high end prices one expects to have, for example, a wardrobe (there was just a rail attached to the wall, with hangers), a nightstand on each side of the bed (there was only one), decent bath linen (the bath towels were thin and small), bath toiletries (two small bars of soap and two small shampoos) and an in-room telephone (especially as there is no mobile coverage in the area). As the hotel was so far out of town, we dined there - another overpriced experience. For two of us, with two main courses, one starter and the house wine, the bill came to $103 before tipping. The "dining room" was in fact a small area behind the reception desk. Service was efficient but not particularly friendly. Our total bill for dinner, bed and breakfast was $313. This was extremely poor value for money.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2005

Beautiful location perched over a mountain overlooking the sea on the cabot trail. Has a great deck that you can sit at for hours and enjoy the view. The service was amazing and the food was delicious. I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castlerock Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlerock Country Inn

Address: 39339 Cabot Trail | Ingonish Ferry, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C1L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ingonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castlerock Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Cabot Trail on Cape Breton Island, the Castlerock Country Inn overlooks the beautiful Atlantic coastline. The Inn also features the restaurant Avalon. Come and enjoy the spectacular views in our comfortable rooms, and taste our Atlantic cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Castlerock Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlerock Country Inn Ingonish, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castlerock Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.