We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home sweet home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laurie's Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Laurie's Motor Inn to your Saves list
Laurie's Motor Inn
P.O. Box 10, 15456 Cabot Trail, Cheticamp, Nova Scotia B0E 1H0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Cheticamp
Massillon, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Home sweet home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My hiking club spent a week at Laurie's Inn. Four of my friends and I reserved the large house they have on the property and it worked out well. The decor is quite dated, but the space made up for the decor. We had a living room, large equipped kitchen, two bathrooms and individual bedrooms. There was only one shower in the downstairs bathroom, but we easily managed. And the price was right. They do need to iron out the problems with WiFi.
Breakfast is included and is yummy! I have never seen eggs benedict included on a breakfast buffet before this trip. That was a shock. And the wait staff in the restaurant are wonderful. Make sure you meet Matt! We LOVE him!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    38
    35
    13
    6
See reviews for
19
47
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sarasota, FL
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed at this property for 2 nights in July. I had a room on the second floor in the main building which had the lobby on the first floor. You walked up a carpeted, winding staircase to get upstairs.
The rooms haven't been remodeled in many years. The TV was an old model that was small. The remote control was missing the battery cover. The only good thing I have to say is that itthe room was clean.
The restaurant was a "D" experience. The salad bar consisted of a bowl of iceberg lettuce with some miniscule pieces of chopped up vegetables. In 2 other bowls were mayonnaise laced potato and macaroni salad..that was it. My baked haddock was cold and the broccoli was barely cooked. My dining companion had a bland chicken breast with cold vegetable side.
The waitresses were nice..nuf said.
I cannot recommend Laurie's...

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

our stay started off poorly..check in was supposed to be 4 pm however our accommodations were not ready until 5:30 pm...we were given a 20% discount and a free supper by the owner which was great but the attitude of the front desk staff left much to be desired...they were not friendly or welcoming at all ...Matt at the dining room was excellent..pleasant and most helpful..Thanks Matt..you made our stay worthwhile!

Room Tip: no air conditioning in rooms upstairs at House #1
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This property has recently changed ownership and I can see that the new boss is very energetic and is in the process of making this Motor Inn the Best Inn in town. Very delicious lobster dinner served at a reasonable price and our room comes with a great view of the ocean. Very lovely stay. Will definitely go back, not only once, but many times. Keep it up Gordon and Lala (new owner of the Inn)!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Oh dear, was looking forward to this, what a disappointment. Room up on first floor accessed by a very steep outside staircase ( crampons would be helpful). Room very dated, 1970's, it just appeared unloved. The Dining Room ( the restaurant) wow what an experience. Menu says "Unlimited salad, bread, desserts and non-alcoholic drinks", great we thought, we ordered our meals, veal parmigiana and chicken cordon bleu ( sounds good eh). The " unlimited" salad was a bowl of lettuce and a bowl of potato salad, the " unlimited" dessert was ginger cake, there was no bread, but there were cans of drink. We had to wait 1hour and 18 minutes for our meal - came but was inedible truly disgusting food. Drive past do not stop.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Cheticamp is pretty small, so I think this is the nicest hotel there. We were on a Caravan Tour of the Canadian Maritimes. The hotel is clean with friendly staff and almost nightly free entertainment. Restaurant was very good. As far as things to do around there, you are pretty limited, but the view of the bay is nice. If you are thinking "luxury" - think again. I have no complaints, but this was pretty standard as hotels go. I love to travel so much, that my accomodations are not that important, as long as they are clean and comfy. Breakfast buffet was outstanding and our dinner was excellent!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We spent two nights at Laurie's as we explored the area. It may be an older motel but is was clean, quiet and comfortable. A good buffet breakfast comes with the room. We had no complaints. From our room there wasn't much view, but it was close to everything in Cheticamp.

Room Tip: Be sure to walk across the street to the wharf to watch the boats come and go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laurie's Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurie's Motor Inn

Address: P.O. Box 10, 15456 Cabot Trail, Cheticamp, Nova Scotia B0E 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Cheticamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Cheticamp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a seasonal property located in the heart of the Acadian Village of Chéticamp, Nova Scotia, Choose between a motel unit, suites or one of our vacation homes, so that you can make Laurie's your home away from home. During our peak season, enjoy our complimentary hot/cold buffet breakfast in our Restaurant. All rooms are air-conditioned, cable TV, radio, WiFi, telephone, hair dryers and ample parking. We also have a playground, pay-phone, coin-operated laundromat, small canteen, ice and pop machines. We are centrally located and minutes away from the renown Highlands National Park and the famous Cabot Trail. Enjoy rug hooking museum, beaches, golf course, gift/craft shops, horseback riding, hiking trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Laurie's Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurie`s Motor Hotel Cheticamp
Lauries Hotel Cheticamp
Lauries Motel Cheticamp
Laurie's Motor Inn Cheticamp, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laurie's Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.