We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly Room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cheticamp Outfitters Inn B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cheticamp
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cheticamp Outfitters Inn B & B
Save
You added Cheticamp Outfitters Inn B & B to your Saves list
13938 Cabot Trail, Cheticamp, Nova Scotia B0E 1H0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Cheticamp B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Smelly Room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed on the Cabot trail for 4 nights during this vacation. We found ourselves to be 'victims' of paying to much attention to internet reviews.
This bed and breakfast was by far the worst we ever stayed at. Room #5 had a serious sewer gas issue. The smell was so intense, it could be smelled as soon as you open the front door. This was the biggest fault of the 1 night stay; however, the tiny double beds could be compared to sleeping on an air mattress. We understand this is a tiny village and expectations should be kept in check BUT paying 115 dollars a night is highly over-priced. The 'pancakes' which everybody raves about are average at best.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    31
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
52
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wageningen, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

What a great place, beautiful view, wonderful breakfast pancakes, amazing hospitality from Veronica, a must stay for everyone who is going to do the Cabottrail!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

What a view!! On top of a hill with views of the mountains, valley and water. Perfect location for beginning your drive of the Cabot Trail. Veronica is a "ball of fire". She is so fun and very knowledgeable about the area. Our room was clean and very comfortable, with a small kitchen. Beware if you ask for her homemade pancakes - she does not know how to make just one. And they are wonderful!! The breakfast room is bright and sunny overlooking the water. Right before we arrived for breakfast, some of the guests saw a moose......we missed it. I would highly recommend Veronica and The Cheticamp Outfitters Inn.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We used Cheticamp Outfitters Inn for one night before driving Cabot Trail. The room we had was very nice and had a small kitchen. It was very clean and we had a view to the ocean. Veronique was very friendly and we enyoyed the breakfast in a room with view to the ocean as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modesto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Room 6 had a little kitchen (with coffee pot, dishes, flatware, microwave, fridge, sink, glasses, cups, wine glasses), dining table, love seat, large bathroom and was quite spacious. The cabinetry and wainscoting was all knotty pine and very pretty. The towels were big and fluffy. If you need a hairdryer, be sure to ask Veronica for it. It had a nice view as well. The patio around the common area in the "Big House" had just spectacular valley and water views.
It is far enough off the road so that noise is a non issue. The bed and pillows were hard and a soft mattress pad would be a big improvement.

Room Tip: Room 6 is large with roomy private bath en suite. Kitchen is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

They are very nice people. I enjoy the time staying there!

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011 via mobile

Veronique knows no strangers and her enthusiasm for the area is tireless. The location and breakfast can't be beat. Would have preferred one of the rooms with a private bath since three rooms share one, but it worked out fine. If you're looking for a place to sleep and meet nice folks at breakfast, this is it.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cheticamp Outfitters Inn B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheticamp Outfitters Inn B & B

Address: 13938 Cabot Trail, Cheticamp, Nova Scotia B0E 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Cheticamp
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Cheticamp
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Cheticamp Outfitters Hotel Cheticamp
Cheticamp Outfitters Inn Bed And Breakfast
Cheticamp Outfitters Inn B & B Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheticamp Outfitters Inn B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.