We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming place to stay, just outside Cheticamp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheticamp Outfitters Inn B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cheticamp
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cheticamp Outfitters Inn B & B
Save
You added Cheticamp Outfitters Inn B & B to your Saves list
13938 Cabot Trail, Cheticamp, Nova Scotia B0E 1H0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Cheticamp B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A charming place to stay, just outside Cheticamp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

This was a brilliant to stay on our way into the amazing cape Breton national park, which is just north of Cheticamp.

Veronique was a very welcoming and thoughtful host, immediately suggesting where we should explore and getting in contact with ferry tours to check they were going on the morning we left.

The room we had was small but very clean and below the dining room, so very quiet. There were excellent views out to sea, but the grounds are also set off in farming land, on a hill and so offered great views of wildlife - we saw hawks hunting and apparently deer could be seen as well.

Price was very reasonable and special mention must go to the breakfast, which was freshly prepared by our engaging host - best pancakes and muffins I have had in Canada (high praise indeed - believe me). We wish we had stayed for more than just one night, which is the best compliment I think I can give!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    31
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
52
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed here in Sep 2010...and was delighted. It is clean and hosts are extremely pleasant; lovely paintings on the wall from your very own host. What I liked the most is that it was off the main road a little bit so that there was no traffic running by. They are friendly and the 'talent contest' Thursday nights in Cheticamp (with amazing seafood pizza...yes, I know - how can this be??) really must be experienced. Merci Veronique! I'm calling you tomorrow to book for Sep again :-). Merci!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London ON
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Very small room but great breakfast. You will need to pack your blow dryer and shampoo though since these are not provided. If you have a Rogers cellular service, it is not available there. Telus was available though. Very clean but tiny shower stall in rom (#4).

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

The hosts are inviting and helpful. Fine breakfast with a view! Good room, good bed, lovely and peaceful B&B.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

We were greeted very warmly by Veronica , who is the owner. and she clearly expalined all tabout he rooms and invited us to inspect the ones we were interested in.
She answered all my questions about Cheticamp and what she could not , she had a very comprehensive booklet on the history of the area,very interesting.
A very pleasant and clean room with all the necessary amenities plus a delicious breakfast the following morning.
She advised us on where to go,what to do and how to do it all of which proved invaluable assistance.
HIGLY RECOMMEND this place, I cannot wait to come back and see it in the summer .

Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

In general I liked this B&B. We have rented room #5 for Sep-1, 2010. The room is spacious and very clean (no smelly carpets), it has two queen-sized beds with exceptionally good mattresses. Bathroom/washroom is also spacious and clean. The only big minus (for overweighed me) of this B&B (and I believe all others in the area) is the lack of air-conditioner. Usually evenings on Cape Breton island are cool enough to be OK without AC, but two days we spent there were 30°C and cottage was cool enough to sleep for me only after 2am. The host Veronique is very friendly and sociable and her breakfasts are very plentiful and tasty.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

We have nothing but high praise for Cheticamp Outfitters. Great value and service. The rooms and property are immaculate and well-maintained. Madame Veronique is an excellent hostess. She has an ebullient personality and offers wonderful tips about places to go in the area. Her cooking is also recommended, with delicious pancakes and blueberry muffins high on our list. Her Francais was a wonderful surprise, giving us a great opportunity to practice our French. As parents of a 9 year old, we also appreciated her interest in our son and her graciously soliciting his opinions and choices for breakfast. We recommend this property without reservation and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cheticamp Outfitters Inn B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheticamp Outfitters Inn B & B

Address: 13938 Cabot Trail, Cheticamp, Nova Scotia B0E 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Cheticamp
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Cheticamp
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Cheticamp Outfitters Inn Bed And Breakfast
Cheticamp Outfitters Hotel Cheticamp
Cheticamp Outfitters Inn B & B Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheticamp Outfitters Inn B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.