We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Mom and Pop motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cheticamp Motel

Cheticamp Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cheticamp
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cheticamp Motel
Save
You added Cheticamp Motel to your Saves list
14764 Cabot Trail, Cheticamp, Nova Scotia B0E 1H0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Cheticamp
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Average Mom and Pop motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a night in the off season. Located at the base of the Highland Park- so very convenient.

Had a queen sized bed. Room small but more than adequate for a couple. Clean. Had a microwave, large mini fridge and a coffee maker (yay!). Took awhile to get the hot water flowing through the taps, but once going, was all good. The lady at the front desk was very friendly and nice and chatted with us for a bit and gave us advice of where to eat in town.

A pleasant stay and we will return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
1
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was very clean. It was a decent sized room with a flat screen tv, two beds a couch, fridge and microwave. It had a bit of a musty smell but nothing that did not go away after the windows were opened for a bit. There was nothing fancy about the place but it was a clean place to lay down while going around the trail.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I booked one month ahead for a one night stay for my family at the beginning of Natal Day weekend (knowing this weekend would be booked solid later). When I asked for an email confirmation, the owner gave me her name (Ethel) and a 4 digit confirmation #. She told me, "I'm too old for email." I should have RUN at this point.

When we arrived, Ethel had the motel fully booked and, conveniently, no recollection of making a booking with me over the phone, nor was she even slightly interested in the confirmation # SHE had given me. She showed me her booking account for that evening to show there was no vacancy. There was one spot suspiciously whited-out... 'a cancellation,' she called it, 'I don't remember who...' She then informed me that 'people come here every week saying they have reservations like this. They make us look bad, you know' Then she added, "not that I'm calling you a liar..."

Right.

Fortunately, her husband was kind enough to call another place to get us a room in probably the only place in Cheticamp that wasn't fully booked already. While making inquiries around Cheticamp that night, we found out that this kind of thing happens a lot at the Cheticamp Motel. None of the residents we spoke to were surprised by how we were treated there or by the convenient loss of our booking on the Friday night of a long weekend.

Room Tip: Stayed at Laurie's Motel. They were friendly and accommodating with a really great breakfast (in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Inexpensive: you do get what you pay for, but this was a fair deal. Room was clean, service very friendly. Room did need to be aired out a bit which was easy to do by opening all the windows. Beds were comfortable, Satellite TV big thin flat screen was Great!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

I travel to Cape Breton every year and have stayed in this motel at least 5 times. It is basic, the tvs are old, and the rooms may occasionally have a musty smell, but it is a decent place to stay if you are driving the trail and simply need a clean bed and a roof over your head. The rooms and the bathrooms are clean and there is a small porch outside each room where one could sit and enjoy the evening air. Cheticamp is a busy town in the summer and this hotel is at the edge of town, a bit away from the bustle and congestion of the "downtown area." I would recommend it to the buget conscious traveller with simple tastes.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Michigan
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

This is a typical mom and pop motel just outside Cheticamp. The owner is extremely nice and accommodating, and the room is about what you'd expect in an older motel. It was very clean, but it smelled like stale smoke even thought it was a non-smoking room. I think maybe the owner smokes. The on-site laundry is a big plus: very convenient and inexpensive.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Room was very musty, kept windows open in the hopes of airing it out, did not work... couldnt turn the overhead fan on, thought it was going to take off on it's own, it shook so bad. No satellite tv, 12 stations with poor reception, old tv, actually took vhs tapes ! Would not stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cheticamp Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheticamp Motel

Address: 14764 Cabot Trail, Cheticamp, Nova Scotia B0E 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Cheticamp
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Cheticamp
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Cheticamp Motel Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheticamp Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.