We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood salad on fresh baked porridge bread, need I say more?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Wheeler Cafe

High Wheeler Cafe
Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 27 Restaurants in Baddeck
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Seafood salad on fresh baked porridge bread, need I say more?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Absolutely best sandwich so far! Beautiful baked goods all made on site. The shortbread cookies, blueberry/raspberry scone and molasses buns all delicious. We stopped in for lunch and returned next day for a repeat! Lovely little patio to enjoy your lunch and watch the folks go by!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    40
    14
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and yummy baked goodies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Had breakfast here 2 days at 7:00am. Family run business. Friendly hardworking folks, good coffee, excellent pastries and other baked goods plus good breakfast sandwiches. You won't be disappointed.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glasgow, Canada
1 review
“Date Squares”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Best date square I've ever had and I've tried lots of them. Our lunch was also very good. We had veggie burgers on an english muffin. They are also a bakery. Make sure you pick up some of their baked goods.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalhousie, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great latte and pastries!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We had breakfast at the High Wheeler Cafe and the food was good. Bought some very good pastries and had a nice latte. Good food and friendly fast service. Great location!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This is just the place to eat before setting off on the Cabot Trail. Good food and helpful staff. It is just across the road from the motel we stayed at.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Wheeler Cafe also viewed

Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to High Wheeler Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Wheeler Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.