We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ate both breakfast and dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McCurdy's Dining Room

McCurdy's Dining Room
257 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
9022952340
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 28 Restaurants in Baddeck
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Ate both breakfast and dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The dining room is nicely decorated and has a wonderful view of the water. Food was consistently good and price in line with much of what we spent on our trip to Canada

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    24
    19
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
delta,BC
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“good but not that $ good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

food was quite good, service was fine but it is overpriced and not a place I would hurry back to. The staff were very helpful.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Ok, but the best part was the view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I almost never eat dinner in hotel restaurants but it was pouring rain so my wife and I decided to just eat at the lodge we were staying at - McCurdy's, the name given to the dining room in the Silver Dart Lodge. My wife and I were greeted and seated promptly by a smiling and friendly waitress (Mari). The view of Baddeck Harbour was outstanding. We found the menu selections to be varied but not necessarily creative and settled on fresh Atlantic salmon (what else?) and seafood primavera. Both were ample portions, priced what I would expect for basically a resort town ($20 and $24), served quickly and hot, tasted good, but nothing special. The wine and beer selections were appropriate but not extensive (no Pinot Noir to go with the salmon). We finished the meal on a bad note with a piece of dry, slightly burnt, home made carrot cake. This was ok food in a non-descript dining room but with a great view. This place could really be something with more focus on the the food and internal ambiance.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A great view, but. . .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

While staying at the Silver Dart, we decided to eat at the restaurant. It does have a great view, but . . . Our first evening, we were encouraged by staff to make dinner reservations later than we hoped in order to ensure a table right by the windows to maximize our view. However, when we arrived, the table was not ready, so after some discussion among the staff, we were offered a non window table. Alas, when a window table became available, we weren't given the option to move, and frankly, I was too tired and cranky by that point to push the issue. One of the mornings during our multiple-night stay, we chose the restaurant for breakfast. This was a weekday, and the dining room was moderately busy - yet for a long time we only saw the supervisor working, where were the rest of the servers? There were some folks who had obviously been seated for a long time, who were still waiting for their server. Eventually, a couple of servers showed up. Other than the supervisor who appeared to be doing 4 different jobs, I can't characterize the other servers as having any sense of urgency. Sure, they're seasonal workers, but they are desperately in need of training, because the level of service we experienced during our two visits to McCurdy's was inexcusable for the middle of the high season - especially in light of the above-average prices attached to McCurdy's average menu options. Dinner is perfectly utilitarian if you don't want to leave the hotel property to park downtown/wait in line at another Baddeck restaurant, but I'd recommend skipping the McCurdy's breakfast entirely and stop at Tim's on your way to your day's activity. You'll have more time and and a lot more money left in your pocketbook for a lunch treat later on.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Standard Fare with a Smile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The restaurant on a Sunday for brunch was overwhelmed by the number of visitors. The wait for breakfast was a tad long but the food was decent and was served with a smile. The room could use some open windows, as the heat from the morning sun was intense. For evening, after a long day of driving the Cabot Trail, the restaurant sent room service Oysters and excellent seafood meals. Again though, the wait for the food would have made less patient people a touch angry. As a Travel Consultant, I can recommend the restaurant for its food, but I would prompt the Management to get on top of their kitchen delays as soon as possible in order to maintain a consistently high approval rating and return clientele.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCurdy's Dining Room also viewed

Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to McCurdy's Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McCurdy's Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.