We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room, good food, superb service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auld Farm Inn B & B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Auld Farm Inn B & B to your Saves list
Auld Farm Inn B & B
1817 Bay Rd, Hwy 205 | Baddeck Bay, Box 498, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Comfortable room, good food, superb service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This renovated farmhouse is neat, clean & tidy with a comfortable living room to relax in. The breakfasts are hearty. But the best feature is the service that Jan, the co-owner, offers. She knows a great deal about Cape Breton and Celtic music and takes the time to inform travelers of places to stay, where to eat, places to see and music venues not to be missed. This is what hospitality is all about.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGVbadcbns, Owner at Auld Farm Inn B & B, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for your gracious comments. We appreciate people taking the time to leave reviews and comments for other travelers. Our housekeepers work hard to maintain a high standard within the rooms and common rooms of the property. We are delighted to be able to help our guests to enjoy their visit to our island. The previous owner gave us a great start with information about the local area, to which we have added by exploring whenever possible. The music is a passion of ours and any opportunity to promote it is grabbed with both hands. We look forward to welcoming you back to Auld Farm in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    24
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
89
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I visited Cape Breton 30 years ago & with my wife & have been itching to come back ever since. I stayed four nights at Auld Farm Inn & could not have made a better choice. Jan & Glen are so friendly & helpful with their knowledge of Cape Breton.They seem to be genuinely interested in your daily plans, & have very helpful suggestions. The premises are immaculate & the breakfasts are outstanding, a different hot dish & plenty of extras, eg- a variety of teas, coffee, juices,rolls,etc.If I do get back to Cape Breton it will only be if I can stay at Auld Farm Inn

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGVbadcbns, Owner at Auld Farm Inn B & B, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
We’re delighted that your recent stay was special for you after such a long time away. Any help that we can give people to enhance their experience is always a pleasure to offer. We are currently trying out new recipes to offer our guests for breakfast for the coming season, which you will be able to try if and when you return to us. Many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I were travelling through Nova Scotia and Cape Breton this fall and happened upon the Auld Farm Inn as we were lining up accommodations in Baddeck, Cape Breton. It is roughly 5 mins outside the village on the Bay Rd (205). First impressions were very positive, the grounds were well kept and tidy, the main house was clean and the gardens were well tended. As we entered the main house we were promptly and warmly greeted by the owner and given a brief tour of the common area and then shown to our room, the Aonach Mor room. It was a lovely room, very clean with a private entrance, an en suite bathroom and three large windows providing an excellent view of the property. The common area had a wide variety of teas, herbal and otherwise, coffee and cookies for throughout-the-day consumption, there were several board games, a television, several tables of different sizes all promoting a feeling of camaraderie and encouraged socialization while leaving the option for privacy as well. Breakfast was a homemade affair with savoury options, fruit, toast, fresh coffee or tea and yogurt. Both owners would check in to ensure there was enough food for everyone and engage in conversation with their guests whenever the chance arose. They were extremely knowledgeable about different sights, activities and restaurants available in Baddeck and the surrounding areas as well as "must-sees" on the world famous Cabot Trail. We stayed at Auld Farm Inn for three nights and on our last morning, we were treated to a breakfast-to-go, prepared especially for us by the owners. We were both so very impressed with this B&B that we would gladly recommend it to ANYONE staying in the Baddeck area and we both very much look forward to our next opportunity to stay there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGVbadcbns, Owner at Auld Farm Inn B & B, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments; we’re delighted that you chose us as part of your accommodation on your trip to Cape Breton. Room six (Aonach Mor) is a lovely room, nice and bright and one of our favourites. The gardens are quite a big job in the summer but we enjoy reaping the benefits from the vegetable garden throughout the year, when the growing season is good. We’re happy to make a ‘To go’ breakfast for our guests who have to leave early whenever we can. A return visit by you would be lovely, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orono, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our 5-night stay was very enjoyable! The home is cozy and clean, the breakfasts are delicious, and the owners, Jan and Glen, are caring hosts. The hosts' welcoming attitude was an enjoyable part of the breakfast experience, where all the guests seem to converse and become friends. Jan and Glen were also well-versed on local interests and obtained tickets for us for a local performance. The location was perfect-- minutes to shops and restaurants, and a great starting point for the Cabot Trail. We have wonderful memories of our stay, and we definitely will return to the Auld Farm Inn when we next visit Cape Breton.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGVbadcbns, Owner at Auld Farm Inn B & B, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
We have a sign saying “Enter as strangers, leave as friends” just opposite the front door and we find that a lot of people leave having made friends with other guests and ourselves by the time they leave. We’re delighted that you found that with your stay. The highlight of our day is when we hear the buzz of chatter and laughter between the guests across the breakfast room. We look forward to welcoming you back to Auld Farm Inn and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a wonderful time staying here. The owners, Jan & Glen are such lovely people that they make your stay even more special. The rooms are well decorated, and exceptionally clean. The shower is wonderful if, as I do, you enjoy a powerful shower.
The location of the B&B is excellent, it's very close to the town and has easy access onto the Trans-Canada highway. It's very quiet and peaceful, and Jan or Glen can point you in the right direction when it comes to places of interest.
The breakfasts are great too. I'm a coeliac and was well looked after in that department. Nothing is too much trouble, and even the locals are lovely too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGVbadcbns, Owner at Auld Farm Inn B & B, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. Our housekeepers are meticulous and they all keep a close eye on the rooms to ensure that we maintain a high standard of cleanliness. It’s always a pleasure to share information on the local sights and attractions with our visitors, as we are blessed to be able to live in such a beautiful area. We are delighted that we could cater for your diet, as this is an important part of your holiday. Town is only an eight minute drive away along the lake and has a good number of excellent restaurants and shops.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed 1 night in room #8-great location (still have to drive to restaurants in town, but only takes a few minutes to get there). Great hosts - Jan accommodated my request for gluten-free breakfast & Glen was wonderful as far as places to stop/eat along the Cabot Trail. (we were going counter clockwise along the trail, and that's what he recommended as well!)

Highly recommend this B & B....

Room Tip: only downside is there was no fridge or t.v. in the room but for 1 night, we didn't care
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGVbadcbns, Owner at Auld Farm Inn B & B, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
We’re so glad that we could accommodate you both with diet and directions for the trail. Thank you for helping to promote Auld Farm Inn by leaving a review. We value the comments that our guests feed back to us, as it helps us to focus on improving the experience that we offer the visitors to Auld Farm Inn. We have provided a fridge in the main dining room for guests use and may consider one in the rooms at a later date. TV’s in every room may be more tricky but we will certainly continue to review the situation every year as new technology becomes available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed two nights here as a starting/ending point for a ride around the Cabot Trail on our motorcycle. The house was very nice and everything was spotless. We stayed in Room #1 which was tiny, but we knew that from the photo on their webpage. The size of the room was reflected in the price - cheapest room in the house. Although the room was small, the ensuite was large and comfortable, and the room had a nice view of the field behind the house.

The house has a large veranda in front and a deck in the back with nice places to sit. There are many birds visiting the feeders out back and they have a few chickens that wander out too, which is nice for city folk like us! Very quite and relaxing.

Breakfast was very good. I have celiac disease and there was another guest staying there at the same time who was gluten intolerant. The hosts offered us gluten-free baked goods, and on the second morning had gone into town and bought several very nice items from a local bakery that does some GF baking for our breakfast.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the hosts were very helpful with good advice on things to see and routes to take.

Room Tip: Room #1 is the least expensive but it is very small only has a double bed - which was quite soft. L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGVbadcbns, Owner at Auld Farm Inn B & B, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
We’re so pleased that we helped to make your visit to Cape Breton a memorable one. We have a number of visitors on motorcycles, who enjoy riding around the area, particularly the Cabot Trail. You are quite correct, room one is a very small room, something that we advise our guests about when they make the booking. Many people find that it fulfills their needs though, as there is always the veranda, the lounge or dining room to use during the evenings if more space is needed. The wild birds and the chickens provide lots of entertainment and photo opportunities for our guests. We are happy to cater for alternative diets as best we can and even when we have no notice, we can usually rustle up something for our guests. Local bakeries now do a great selection of gluten-free goods when I don’t have home-made baking available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auld Farm Inn B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auld Farm Inn B & B

Address: 1817 Bay Rd, Hwy 205 | Baddeck Bay, Box 498, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 No-smoking rooms (D,Q & T; 4 A/C with private entrance), 1 private & 7 ensuite 4-pc baths. Full or light hot buffet breakfast. Renovated farmhouse in quiet country setting; SaTV in living room; wraparound veranda. Close to local amenities, central for day trips. For your information, please note this property now has a resident pet. She is a low to non-shedding 'Golden-Doodle' and her name is KC. Check out her blog on our home page. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Auld Farm Inn B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auld Farm Inn B & B Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auld Farm Inn B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.